Applecare+ - claiming accidental damage

despair

Applecare+ - issues claiming accidental damage??

Hi people,

Need to get some input on this, hope the people of HWZ will be able to lend some insight into this matter.

My friend's brother's fiancee took a fall yesterday - and fell onto her iPhone 6 which was in her back pocket. The phone is protected with a tempered glass SP and thus the damage was more in the rear of the phone where it was quite badly bent out of shape. As she had purchased AppleCare+ for her phone, I told her it should be easy to get a replacement - raise a ticket with Apple online, then head down to either QCD or A*Lab for a one for one exchange with the $108 handling fee.

She chatted with Apple Support online and was told to head down to QCD today to get the phone exchanged. HOWEVER, it seemed that once she was there, it was near impossible to get it exchanged. I was not there but apparently, QCD took a photo of the damaged phone and sent it over to Apple Singapore warehouse, and her claim was REJECTED. I have no idea why. Things that were allegedly mentioned include Applecare+ only covering equipment that is within economic repair, that it's void once the internals are exposed, that the replacement fee is FROM $108 and not a flat $108, and I think there's some insinuation that she had intentionally bent the phone since there was minimal damage to the screen. I believe there was also mention that the insurer (AIG) will not cover the phone once internals are visible.

My question is, if that's what AppleCare+ covers, then there's really no reason to buy AppleCare+ at all is there? My understanding (and I've reread the relevant AppleCare+ clauses a few times this afternoon) is that they will try to repair the phone, but if it's not repairable they will exchange it for a new (or as-new) phone as long as the consumer pays the $108 flat servicing fee. There's zero mention of BER or replacement fees going beyond $108.

Is this a wrong assumption to make? They spent the whole afternoon at QCD trying to sort this out to no avail, and I would like to find out if there is any additional recourse for them - or should they just send an irate email directly to Tim Cook about it?

Thanks in advance for anyone sharing their claim history or any insights on this! :)

despair

10440256_10152830468450081_7304430055674771283_n.jpg

1506777_10152830468495081_172643367990106440_n.jpg

10405666_10152830468530081_7609312001621671556_n.jpg

Photos to show the damage the iPhone sustained...

despair

But Apple Singapore already rejected still can unbend meh... And I agree that it's unreasonable and quite ridiculous they rejected it...

PsychoPath

But Apple Singapore already rejected still can unbend meh... And I agree that it's unreasonable and quite ridiculous they rejected it...
Usually is must call Apple hotline huan.. My fren also always kena rejected by service centres.. After getting rejected he call and **** them then he would ask to deal directly with them..

iNotion

Call Apple hotline directly.
I never bothered to go down before making a phone call.

fade_white

Sounds like nonsense. If like that cannot claim buy AppleCare + for what? Can sue apple for selling us useless product liao

arcturuz

i think the problem lies with the 2 outsourced service providers hired by Apple

despair

Ok I've gotten more details from the horse's mouth.... Apparently she had already called Apple and they told her to mail in the defective set and she would get her replacement set in 3-5 working days. She asked if can get any sooner and was told to head down to QCD to do a one for one exchange. Only when she went down did she get blocked by QCD, stating that they sent the photo of the phone down to TCS (the repair agent I presume) and they had refused to take in the set. Apparently this will mean that if QCD takes in the set, they will have to pay for it and not the insurer. Honestly it just smells of BS to me. It probably means that TCS decided that it was intentional damage and not a case of ADH.. Customer service said they would follow up again tomorrow but I think it's really a huge crock of rubbish they are spouting. I'm shocked that Apple is offering such shoddy service recovery especially for a product they are shilling that specifically should cover incidences like this one...

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
You need APPLE to open a physical store here with all the support. Under 3rd party like A.lab and QCD is 75% gone case.

QCD went two time saw that indian manager always come out argue with people.

despair

That's what Apple offered for her and she only went down to QCD because she wanted to get the phone faster...

NeonX

i thought applecare+ is can exchange no questions asked?

despair

Well that's what I thought too... But seems like may not be the case? Locally at least. It's terrible service - they spent 5 hours at QCD yesterday trying to sort this out. She even delayed her visit to the hospital to get a checkup because of the incident and only went down to NUH at 6+...

auzzuro

My friend got a replacement for his 5c in alab... They just check it and within an hour he got a replacement

arcturuz

Well that's what I thought too... But seems like may not be the case? Locally at least. It's terrible service - they spent 5 hours at QCD yesterday trying to sort this out. She even delayed her visit to the hospital to get a checkup because of the incident and only went down to NUH at 6+...

so jiatlat

like becoming the Nokia service centres of the past

NeonX

damn crappy. it took me 30 mins at singtel to get a replacement

despair

Oh and I asked her to request for a loaner phone at the very least - guess what the reply from QCD was? Only telco-purchased sets are eligible to obtain loaner sets from them, and sets bought directly from Apple were not eligible (hers was bought off Apple Store SG in the first wave). Totally WTF moment for me...

Sebbyng

damn crappy. it took me 30 mins at singtel to get a replacement
Same here. Got mine replaced in about 30mins at Singtel.
But Singtel has stopped offering service for iPhone. Now need to go to either QCD or ALab.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.