Applecare+ for iPhone

daisuki

Sometimes, it is just excuses. Over the years, from the 1st phone till now, no accidental damage. But because now got AppleCare+ which is like an insurance, suddenly, worry about 'What Ifs'. :rolleyes:

This is evil marketing 101 (not the good sort). Selling you something that wasn't a problem before but because they want to sell it, they push it aggressively and make it seem like it is a big big problem that die die 100% of u will confirm damage phone within a year or 2.

lai lai... snake oil seller here. if u dun buy this now, later misfortune will come and damage ur phone jialat jialat. What? u no damage ur phone before? what? u use phone case? i dunno la. just buy and have a peace of mind lo.

why spend $20 on a phone case and a $15 tempered glass screen protector to protect ur phone when u can buy a $369 plan? value for money one. oh.. but if u want to repair ur damaged phone, i will need another $148 hor.
so that's $517 to repair ur damaged phone while repairing ur damaged phone out of applecare+ is only $489 to repair ur screen. and this $489 is only when u need to repair it. while my one, must pay $369 upfront hor. i dunno la. just buy lo.. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

reddevil0728

Excuses. Over the years, from the 1st phone till now, no accidental damage. But because now got AppleCare+ which is like an insurance, suddenly, worry about 'What Ifs'. :rolleyes:

This is evil marketing 101 (not the good sort). Selling you something that wasn't a problem before but because they want to sell it, they push it aggressively and make it seem like it is a big big problem that die die 100% of u will confirm damage phone within a year or 2.

lai lai... snake oil seller here. if u dun buy this now, later misfortune will come and damage ur phone jialat jialat. What? u no damage ur phone before? what? u use phone case? i dunno la. just buy and have a peace of mind lo.

why spend $20 on a phone case and a $15 tempered glass screen protector to protect ur phone when u can buy a $369 plan? value for money one. oh.. but if u want to repair ur damaged phone, i will need another $148 hor.
so that's $517 to repair ur damaged phone while repairing ur damaged phone out of applecare+ is only $489 to repair ur screen. and this $489 is only when u need to repair it. while my one, must pay $369 upfront hor. i dunno la. just buy lo.. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
????

different people have different risk appetite. that doesn't make "insurance" a snake oil

spidercyj

Sometimes, it is just excuses. Over the years, from the 1st phone till now, no accidental damage. But because now got AppleCare+ which is like an insurance, suddenly, worry about 'What Ifs'. :rolleyes:

I thought screen repair is $42? While other more major damage then $148?

base on your calculation won’t it the. Be $411 vs $489?

but of course this is the assumption you will break it once lah.

also if we are theory crafting here but what if the damage done to your phone cannot be protected by just a case and sp? Eg fall from like 3 story height or run over car? Then you would wish you get a apple care+

like another bro say here, it depends on your risk appetite. I also like you since iPhone 3GS until now I have never suffered any major damaged to my phone which required a replacement but that dosent mean I stopped buying apple care+

Firestone

I thought screen repair is $42? While other more major damage then $148?

base on your calculation won’t it the. Be $411 vs $489?

but of course this is the assumption you will break it once lah.

also if we are theory crafting here but what if the damage done to your phone cannot be protected by just a case and sp? Eg fall from like 3 story height or run over car? Then you would wish you get a apple care+

like another bro say here, it depends on your risk appetite. I also like you since iPhone 3GS until now I have never suffered any major damaged to my phone which required a replacement but that dosent mean I stopped buying apple care+

like my iPhone 12 Pro Max. While at the gym shower. I accidentally cracked the back glass when it slided down the shelf

with accidental warranty. It cost me 40+ to get it repaired. Without the warranty. It would have cost around 490

daisuki

like my iPhone 12 Pro Max. While at the gym shower. I accidentally cracked the back glass when it slided down the shelf

with accidental warranty. It cost me 40+ to get it repaired. Without the warranty. It would have cost around 490
Were you using a phone case and it still cracked?

Habrosus

Were you using a tempered glass screen protector?
That's the back, which is also glass. I was told once the back cracks, must also change to avoid water getting in. I use a film protector for the back, though I don't know how much it helps. Using a glass protector for the back sounds a bit... heavy? :unsure:

Firestone

Were you using a phone case and it still cracked?
Yes. Was using apple leather case
It fell from 2m height facing screen down

everything was fine except the back glass which shattered totally

guess the ceramic thing worked well

anthonygreenisreal

So in total it cost you $400 plus for the repair and Applecare+. Still not bad.

bbbbbw

i never bought apple care before but i always use screen protector and phone case and usually careful with my stuff.

Firestone

So in total it cost you $400 plus for the repair and Applecare+. Still not bad.

yes. Considering that AppleCare+ extend the warranty to 2 years which does includes battery replacement

so far, I’ve only had 2 damages
iphone 4 and iPhone 12 PM

as AppleCare+ was not available during iP4 era. I did not get it repaired. I don’t recall it. But I think during trade in, SingTel minus $150 from the trade in price

it was during that point of time that I find AC+ to be essential but too bad no such service existed during the point of time

icyflame

Huh, they don’t have? I thought it is throughout the year. I went last week to get my AC+ and I got 10% off
anybody aware if ALab will have the 10% anytime soon? been dropping by to ask once in a while but have never managed to have the promo

Singrish

I notice it says the apple care date starts from purchase date. So if i ordered on 9 sep & had opted for apple care, the apple care starts from 9 sep even though the actual delivery is stated 16 sep?

I mean its just one week lah but if sway sway something spoils or it gets damaged, that one week can make a lot of difference sia!

So in the end i opted no apple care & intend to order it only after my phone arrives.

On a side note, its great that the subsidizex repair (including screen) is for the full 2 years now.

Jirachi

I notice it says the apple care date starts from purchase date. So if i ordered on 9 sep & had opted for apple care, the apple care starts from 9 sep even though the actual delivery is stated 16 sep?

I mean its just one week lah but if sway sway something spoils or it gets damaged, that one week can make a lot of difference sia!

So in the end i opted no apple care & intend to order it only after my phone arrives.

On a side note, its great that the subsidizex repair (including screen) is for the full 2 years now.
Yes. Starts from the date of activation rather.

Jirachi

Huh? So its NOT date of purchase? Wah very misleading leh Apple! If its date of activation then is fair lah, their website clearly said date of PURCHASE 🙄
Apple would not know when you purchase the device until you activate them with their servers? I think this should make sense.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.