Are cinemas dead?

Cecamaster

I watch at least 2 movies a mth.
I am supporting .

Nothing beats watching in theater.
The saying 12 15 bucks a tick is expensive are crap. U wanna compare to JB I nothing to say..everything is cheaper there

2hrs Aircon with entertainment is worthy
Now bbt also 5dollar

Everyone earning 5k but wanna compare to spending like 2k times
nowadaya ppl too entitled

last time people didbt drink such bbt etc everyday

ShinnAsuka

This one need to subscribe also?
U buy cheap chips, popcorn, drinks, turn on aircon, lie on your sofa and watch more comfortably. Can pause and rewind or fast forward to your liking.

Dont need pay anything extra if suddenly you want to rewatch Mandalorian.

Monstruo^

I watch at least 2 movies a mth.
I am supporting .

Nothing beats watching in theater.
The saying 12 15 bucks a tick is expensive are crap. U wanna compare to JB I nothing to say..everything is cheaper there

2hrs Aircon with entertainment is worthy
Now bbt also 5dollar

Everyone earning 5k but wanna compare to spending like 2k times
Everyone values things differently. I think watch movie ish ok lah although some people think ish wasteful and will say rather use the money to eat caipng :o :s13:

When I was still a student, I watched movies at least 3 times a week with friends from 15yo to early 20s :o

Nowadays if I think a movie ish worth to watch or ish sth I wanna watch, I will still go movie theatre. But I agree nowadays lesser people go theatres liao. Can watch online. But experience ish different from theatres.

I also start to bring my mom to theatre to watch movies and let her experience IMAX all that. She so happy watching Avatar. Lol! I realized got elderly rate for normal movies, although I never try for her before. Sometimes can pamper a bit and do gold class and premiere also if the movie ish at least 2 hours. Hope movie theatres don’t die here.

coyote

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?

Pretty much...also the model how mall owners charges higher rental that is workable for retail businesses, the cinema model simply couldn't cope...

Zappalapa

******* expensive...
with the advent of online streaming services, plus the crazy rentals, how many cinemas closed in the recent years?

you can argue about the difference in screen size, sound system, etc watching a film in cinema vs computer screen - the value just isnt there.

carlongerdidu93

got 2 ver. digital imax and film imax tink sg is onli digi :sad:
contradictory, hope he dont garbled the dialogue sound, recent movies ppl complain

Monstruo^

nowadaya ppl too entitled

last time people didbt drink such bbt etc everyday
No.. ever since BBT started like 20 years ago, people have been drinking liao. It never stop actually.

It is just that there are more and more shops selling BBT. People have even more choices.

Cecamaster

Everyone values things differently. I think watch movie ish ok lah although some people think ish wasteful and will say rather use the money to eat caipng :o :s13:

When I was still a student, I watched movies at least 3 times a week with friends from 15yo to early 20s :o

Nowadays if I think a movie ish worth to watch or ish sth I wanna watch, I will still go movie theatre. But I agree nowadays lesser people go theatres liao. Can watch online. But experience ish different from theatres.

I also start to bring my mom to theatre to watch movies and let her experience IMAX all that. She so happy watching Avatar. Lol! I realized got elderly rate for normal movies, although I never try for her before. Sometimes can pamper a bit and do gold class and premiere also if the movie ish at least 2 hours. Hope movie theatres don’t die here.
if watch movie at home i will keep get distracted by phone

its not immersive enough

s-ghost

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?
you went weekday afternoon, then ask cinema dead?

how brilliant mind you have :look:

Monstruo^

if watch movie at home i will keep get distracted by phone

its not immersive enough
True also.
For certain movies I just watch online. Then will get distracted. Also some streaming sites got too many Chinese words and ads and live convo by ATs. Sibei annoying.

If big movies or movies I feel ish worth to watch in theatres, I will go watch.

Aiya got pros and cons watching at home and at movie theatres. If can afford then ok lor for the AV experience.

Vincentlow82

That Disney show no one is going to watch in the cinema since it going stream soon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.