Arts & SS Graduate Jo Teo: "Even if you not able to do the most sophisticated coding... Simple stuff, block coding - it's not that difficult."

pwongkk

nothing wrong what you say, in fact many people thinking that IT people don deserve premium pay. Let them be, got AI got Stack Overflow as long as got headcount, coy wont care so much 1. Just like people say SOC just a bunch of people siting down there checking device log nia, doing nothing so people lightly merge NOC and SOC together become NSOC to save cost and manpower but fail to realize both have functioning destine differently. Well, see what happened to our cybersecurity capability now???

People just easily overlook something they don even know or very basic level. hahahaha!
Agree with you.

When the IT systems are functioning normally, the IT department is idling with nothing to do.

When IT systems are down, all make noise.

To me, IT should be a profit center rather than a cost center.

Orionz

j
Agree with you.

When the IT systems are functioning normally, the IT department is idling with nothing to do.

When IT systems are down, all make noise.

To me, IT should be a profit center rather than a cost center.
how can be profit center..

skylink67

Of course easy cos most IT staff are imported. Gahmen don't even engage in coding and outsource work to vendors.

anchoraz

Only in sg, it sector is filled with refugees from other sectors.

U throw any stone into upper mgmt kena a biz, social science, arts graduate or non-infotech grad.

If u r working in IT in the lower tier, will you ask a monkey, chipanzee up on the tree to help them?

Of coz no lah. If u ask them, they only noe hw to ooh ohh ahh ahh. Most likely the IT at the bottom will be ignored which lead to collapse later.

V sad and pathetic.

Lemonkey

jialat she sounded like she was unsure of her portfolio. her answers were superficial with no depth to the point that i think is throwing smoke grenade. why cant they put a more suitable person in the job, i think she excel better in mom.

pwongkk

j

how can be profit center..
Isn't IT bring in all the profits for your company?
The e-commerce site, the databases ... etc, all that runs to bring in the revenue for your company.
Even for most manufacturing, they still need to have an IT backbone.

SkyNinja

Isn't IT bring in all the profits for your company?
The e-commerce site, the databases ... etc, all that runs to bring in the revenue for your company.
Even for most manufacturing, they still need to have an IT backbone.

It's the BD guys who meet clients, show nicely done colourful PowerPoint slides and then dine at expensive restaurants before/during/after signing the contract. (Claim as business expenses)

pwongkk

It's the BD guys who meet clients, show nicely done colourful PowerPoint slides and then dine at expensive restaurants before/during/after signing the contract. (Claim as business expenses)
What I meant was in a company's environment, the IT dept running the operations.

Medicated Oil

jialat she sounded like she was unsure of her portfolio. her answers were superficial with no depth to the point that i think is throwing smoke grenade. why cant they put a more suitable person in the job, i think she excel better in mom.
If she did well, they would not have kicked her out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.