Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 6

LISAONG

#1 Hi your bike is advertised as 18 speed so i am guessing 3 x 6? So a replacement chain would be 6-8 speed kind as these are the correct thickness for your speed/drivetrain. Usually for low end bikes they dun have quicklink on the chain so you would need a chain breaker tool to remove it. Then size chain correctly and install with a quicklink for easy removal in future to wash/replace ^^

#2 Vandalism is my best guess - gear shifter cable not very ex and they charge by the meter?

Tbh by the time you get the replacement parts + shop service charges if anywhere close to $100 i would also consider moving on to a better bike made by Decathlon (Rockrider/Riverside) Or entry level MTBs from LeRun, Polygon, etc...

Thank you batuchka, very informative, so clear and concise, Thank you!!

Minjie75

Hi ladies & gents

1st virgin post here.

Apologies to Mods if my post is not in line with the general consensus.

I am looking for kids bike that you guys do no want - I need it for parts or repair for my youngest kid.

I don't wanna get a brand new one coz kids grow way way too fast and I have a standby 20" bike for his future usage but for current age, he is way too short for his future 20" bike usage, hence this sincere post to request for 1 or 2 kids bikes that you guys don't wanna use anymore.

I will self collect

thank you once again for your kind time to browse through my virgin post.

P.S i am looking for kid bike that has proper alum rims rather than plastic rim and repairable inner tube and outer tyres

Kam sia

Zerogundamw

Hey guys, consult the experts here on bicycle.
My dad is looking for a light weight 26" mountain bike. Any recommendation? Preferably 300+-.
I read that a mtb is about 13-14kg, is that true? Or we can actually find lighter one. Now father old liao I dont want him to carry a bike that's too bulky also. Told him to try a 20" also, but he don't like lol

batuchka

Hey guys, consult the experts here on bicycle.
My dad is looking for a light weight 26" mountain bike. Any recommendation? Preferably 300+-.
I read that a mtb is about 13-14kg, is that true? Or we can actually find lighter one. Now father old liao I dont want him to carry a bike that's too bulky also. Told him to try a 20" also, but he don't like lol
Err brand new $3xx brand new cannot expect light MTB cos its not realistic? The RnD that goes into lighter frame building means a higher grade of alloy/material and construction method so this would drive up cost...

Zerogundamw

Err brand new $3xx brand new cannot expect light MTB cos its not realistic? The RnD that goes into lighter frame building means a higher grade of alloy/material and construction method so this would drive up cost...

I see, I was hoping to stretch my dollar. If this is the case got any recommendation that's beyond 300+ but still not super ex one.

LISAONG

is there on on changing gear cable too? thanks for the video on chain changing. thank you!!

LISAONG

#1 Hi your bike is advertised as 18 speed so i am guessing 3 x 6? So a replacement chain would be 6-8 speed kind as these are the correct thickness for your speed/drivetrain. Usually for low end bikes they dun have quicklink on the chain so you would need a chain breaker tool to remove it. Then size chain correctly and install with a quicklink for easy removal in future to wash/replace ^^

#2 Vandalism is my best guess - gear shifter cable not very ex and they charge by the meter?

Tbh by the time you get the replacement parts + shop service charges if anywhere close to $100 i would also consider moving on to a better bike made by Decathlon (Rockrider/Riverside) Or entry level MTBs from LeRun, Polygon, etc...

is there on on changing gear cable too? i can learn to change gear wire . thank you!!

noangel7

Can I ask the pros in this thread, what bike lock you all using (if any)?

Im looking for a new lock and hoping for a lightweight, easy to lock-unlock, not too expensive one.

nwh_sg

Im looking for a new lock and hoping for a lightweight, easy to lock-unlock, not too expensive one.
If you are carrying it along your ride, just get a light one enough to temporary secure it for 2, 3 min when you go for toilet break. If for meals, make sure your bike is within your LOS, and secured with the lock. A 3 or 4 digit lock is more convenient than a keyed one.

cesc88

I have the same query as you too.

I am looking at Abus 410 ultra U Lock + Cobra cable. Anyone has any experience using it?

tan1688

May i check with experts , which brand to purchase for foldable mountain bikes with 26inch wheels ?
+ Objective is to be able put inside boot of car
+ if not foldable is there a brand where wheels can be disassembled and assembled easily
so can disassemble wheel put in boot then assemble say when reach destination.

batuchka

May i check with experts , which brand to purchase for foldable mountain bikes with 26inch wheels ?
+ Objective is to be able put inside boot of car
+ if not foldable is there a brand where wheels can be disassembled and assembled easily
so can disassemble wheel put in boot then assemble say when reach destination.
typically for non foldable MTB just remove front wheel as QR very fast to remove then install again ^^ front + rear QR and disc brakes make it super easy ;)

nwh_sg

I have the same query as you too.

I am looking at Abus 410 ultra U Lock + Cobra cable. Anyone has any experience using it?
Do you intend to carry it with you while biking? If yes, pls note the weight of such locks.

noangel7

If you are carrying it along your ride, just get a light one enough to temporary secure it for 2, 3 min when you go for toilet break. If for meals, make sure your bike is within your LOS, and secured with the lock. A 3 or 4 digit lock is more convenient than a keyed one.
Yes, carrying this one. Any brand / model recommendations?
After using keyed lock daily, i realise that I prefer it to digit lock as I don't have to bend too long in a cramped area in order to turn the numbers.

nwh_sg

Yes, carrying this one. Any brand / model recommendations?
After using keyed lock daily, i realise that I prefer it to digit lock as I don't have to bend too long in a cramped area in order to turn the numbers.
You can check out Decathlon. Personally I will choose a light weight cable lock, length wise 1.2m is good. Heavy (so called higher security) lock - after a while you will leave it at home. You can also check the listings on Shopee. Alternatively, you can go to neighbourhood hardware shops to take a look.

Most importantly, don't leave your bike out of sight for longer than 2, 3 minutes. Cable locks can be cut easily, they are just deterrence to opportunist thieves.

For me, besides the light weight cable lock, I also have one 2m thicker cable lock for the rare times when I need to go into shopping mall to do a quick purchase. The long cable will be able to secure both wheels and the bike frame to a stand. Importantly park the bike at a high traffic place preferable with cctv (even so, no guarantee the bike won't get stolen).

Neelus

Hi all, I received these 2 bikes end of last year as gifts and we have rode them on several occasions. We changed the seats too cause the original seats were not comfortable. These bikes are really good to ride.

We didn't intend to sell but my friend's mum has just been diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and we would like to sell these bikes to raise funds for her treatment.

Anyone have any idea how much these bikes are worth and is able to give me advice? Authentic Lamborghini and Ferrari foldable bicycles. The Lamborghini bike is carbon fibre and is really light.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.