Ask A Headhunter!

neanea

Hi HH, an outsourcing company keeps giving me 6 months contract and refuses to increase my salary and any benefit. Can some thing be done with such slavery employer?

skarfy

Hi HH,

I'm just starting out on my degree, private with Kaplan for cybersecurity. What would the job propsect be like?

jtan80

Placement Fee

Hi

Can I know on average how much the recruitment agency will charge the company for the placement fee ? Also, they will guarantee for how many months ?

Thanks

JellyJorah

Hi Ask A Headhunter,

I have question which I hope you can help with.

So, my previous full time job I was drawing 3000 salary.

And then I joined my friend's business and we both draw a much smaller amount (just to cover the basics).

But now, we've decided to part ways amicably and I'm looking for a job.
I will still be receiving the usual monthly salaries until it covers the "lost income" which we have established to be 3000/month.

How do I explain this to a headhunter?
Can I still say that my current salary is 3000?
Or do I have to say the amounts based on the employer CPF contributions?

Thanks in advance!

akimoto_emi

How much work experience should we fill up if we are able to attach cv during application for mid career switch?

fishkin

Hi HH!

Is it industry standard to jump 20% from my last pay? or it is only when you have a change of industry then you get 20% jump?

My experience
- Media (3yrs)
- IT (7 months)
- Manufacturing (2yrs +)

Looking to go back into IT/ marketing agency, same role as my manufacturing (marketing)

Hows the job market as of now? COVID is freezing so many headcounts - from what I see

Ellabella098

Hi headhunter, I went for my pre employment medical check up today, and they found my blood pressure to be rather high. Last year I did one and it was ok. I was rather nervous, lack of sleep due to the holidays and on some facial related long term medication which I declared may have contributed to the high reading today. He issue me a memo to go to any gp to have it check again any day. Just to check will I fail it and company reject me due to my high bp?

It shook me a little, I was rather an active guy and always look after myself... Dang

Imagine I took so much effort to hunt for a job and got rejected in e end due to hbp..

Hi Headhunter, what is the list of possible reasons for employers to retract the employment offer? Besides pregnancy and terminal illnesses e.g. Cancer?

g_t2006

Hi there, do you look at linkedin profiles and contact us based on our profiles? so like if i have degree and certs like the BCG rise program, will you look at it?
Digging a thread that's been quiet for 9 months. Just how many of your posts are promoting the BCG program? :rolleyes:

dreamers1016

reviving an old thread here. 😖

im planning to apply for CEI basic exam to be a recruiter. any idea if its a open/close book mode? too many things to memorise especially on the clauses and penalties related 😥😥

and any kind words for aspiring recruiter like myself? hahahahahhaa

neanea

reviving an old thread here. 😖

im planning to apply for CEI basic exam to be a recruiter. any idea if its a open/close book mode? too many things to memorise especially on the clauses and penalties related 😥😥

and any kind words for aspiring recruiter like myself? hahahahahhaa
Why do you want to move into recruitment?

resurrector

Reviving an old thread here, the question had been asked before.

Currently there are 2 agencies conducting CEI course, Absolute Kinetics Consultancy (AKC) & Grace Management & Consultancy Services (GMCS).

Putting the course fee a side, which agency delivers the course better?

Specifically, am looking at CEI (KAH).

CourseAbsolute Kinetics ConsultancyGrace Management & Consultancy Services
CEI (KAH)$539.55$620.69
CEI (Basic)$443.63$504.63
CEI (KAH) – non-MDW$443.63$519.77
CEI (Basic) – non-MDW$347.71$403.70
CEI (KAH) – without EFMA$347.71$398.66
CEI (Basic) – without EFMA$251.79$282.59

sunboy8898

1) Linkedin
2) Job portals
3) Job advertisements
4) Referrals from other people
5) Attend networking events
6) Call into the company directly
7) Email the person's company email (usually by guesswork)
8) Market mapping
Wow very informative! By the way how much does a headhunter earn per candidate?

kiasu_dmp

Reviving an old thread here, the question had been asked before.

Currently there are 2 agencies conducting CEI course, Absolute Kinetics Consultancy (AKC) & Grace Management & Consultancy Services (GMCS).

Putting the course fee a side, which agency delivers the course better?

Specifically, am looking at CEI (KAH).

CourseAbsolute Kinetics ConsultancyGrace Management & Consultancy Services
CEI (KAH)$539.55$620.69
CEI (Basic)$443.63$504.63
CEI (KAH) – non-MDW$443.63$519.77
CEI (Basic) – non-MDW$347.71$403.70
CEI (KAH) – without EFMA$347.71$398.66
CEI (Basic) – without EFMA$251.79$282.59

Is there a benefit of clearing the CEI exam if you are not working for an Employment Agency?
Do you learn something useful? My company (not an EA) hires a lot of foreigners for its own work. Can I become a better contributor to my organisation with a CEI?
The certification never expires, so that saves the cost of renewals.

Thanks

themiranda87

Hi, I’m considering a career switch to KYC (Know Your Customer) and AML (Anti-Money Laundering) compliance, but I have no experience in this area. I’m currently 38 and work as an accounts executive, which I find quite boring due to the data entry tasks. Is it possible to enter this field without prior experience, and what should I do to prepare before making the transition?

reddevil0728

Hi, I’m considering a career switch to KYC (Know Your Customer) and AML (Anti-Money Laundering) compliance, but I have no experience in this area. I’m currently 38 and work as an accounts executive, which I find quite boring due to the data entry tasks. Is it possible to enter this field without prior experience, and what should I do to prepare before making the transition?
Are you willing to re-climb the ladder? Or do you plan to lateral?

Th@nhBB

Hi HH,

i am in my mid-40, working in oil and gas sector. Currently, I feel quite stagnant in my current job, handling lots of works with restrictive headcount requirements. The field is quality so I also feel it is a “blamed” department.
I am looking out to move, looking more for stability and job satisfaction. Which would be a suitable industry to go in, if I get the interview invite?
- semiconductor
- pharma/health
- government
- tech
Which if these would I even have a chance to go in? Pay cut is okay, more junior position is acceptable too.
is there any other good industry to try? I read the “green, care, digital “ industries report and feel unqualified.

reddevil0728

looking to enter that field at an entry-level
then technically you aren't any different from those who are also entry-level. but just that the difference is they might be younger hence employers, whilst they are not supposed to discriminate may have certain biasness.

but then again. sometimes people who are older ("more mature") and with some experience, may also be preferred. so just have to try lor

reddevil0728

Hi HH,

i am in my mid-40, working in oil and gas sector. Currently, I feel quite stagnant in my current job, handling lots of works with restrictive headcount requirements. The field is quality so I also feel it is a “blamed” department.
I am looking out to move, looking more for stability and job satisfaction. Which would be a suitable industry to go in, if I get the interview invite?
- semiconductor
- pharma/health
- government
- tech
Why put the cart before the horse?

consider after getting an offer?

not say want to get means can get one. Not so easy.

unless you mean which sector to actively apply for?
Which if these would I even have a chance to go in? Pay cut is okay, more junior position is acceptable too.
is there any other good industry to try? I read the “green, care, digital “ industries report and feel unqualified.
I’ll say is not so much about industry, but focus on the role first. Some roles are available across industries.

Th@nhBB

Why put the cart before the horse?

consider after getting an offer?

not say want to get means can get one. Not so easy.

unless you mean which sector to actively apply for?

I’ll say is not so much about industry, but focus on the role first. Some roles are available across industries.
You are right. Which sector should I actively apply for. Old already, also spent too long time in one sector, so quite scared nobody wants me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.