Astrea 8 bonds

addict951

Final Prospectus registered with MAS.
Class A-1 S$520 mil (S$260 mil Public Offer) 4.35% p.a.
Class A-2 US$200 mil (US$50 mil Public Offer) 6.35% p.a. (apply in S$ at a fixed rate of US$1.00 to S$1.35)
Wah lao, suddenly chui, o m g

How come ir low that time Astrea 7 can pay 4.25% then now ir high they pay additional .1% nia? Wtf. They treat investors as gong 1 ah? 😒

d5dude

How come ir low that time Astrea 7 can pay 4.25% then now ir high they pay additional .1% nia? Wtf. They treat investors as gong 1 ah? 😒

As mentioned earlier, credit spreads are extremely tight now, in fact Asia EM spreads are at a 17 yr low.

final1

business is business. they can offer what they want and up to you to take. This is not a charity.
They are earning the difference of what they can do with your cash versus giving you 4.35% fixed.* This is basic logic and for-profit business.

SG Fixed deposit 3.3% ish. SG Govt Treasury bill 3.6% ish.
US Treasuries i am guessing about 5%.
Choose your poison.

* Temasek only earned 1.6% returns in 2023. Utterly pathetic. They could have just all in on bitcoin or nvidia or another super mega cap US stock and came out so far ahead. Goes to show that the 'professional money managers' at Temasek arent really that bright.

yuzu28

business is business. they can offer what they want and up to you to take. This is not a charity.
They are earning the difference of what they can do with your cash versus giving you 4.35% fixed.* This is basic logic and for-profit business.

SG Fixed deposit 3.3% ish. SG Govt Treasury bill 3.6% ish.
US Treasuries i am guessing about 5%.
Choose your poison.

* Temasek only earned 1.6% returns in 2023. Utterly pathetic. They could have just all in on bitcoin or nvidia or another super mega cap US stock and came out so far ahead. Goes to show that the 'professional money managers' at Temasek arent really that bright.
TH 1.6% returns is totally sia suay. Pasar ah ma put FD also got higher returns than these expert elites.

sohguanh

4.35% ok lah. Last year got one Frasers EHZB 4.49%. I always play small small so won't complain much. For ppl who whack big sum I guess not happy lor.

Kayeesha

Regarding the USD tranche, how does one receive the USD proceeds?

Is it possible to have the USD proceeds credited to our multicurrency account (without conversion) free of charge?

Thanks.
Reposting to see if anyone will be so kind as to provide some help? Thanks.

yiron

4.35% ok meh?.. it is private equity bond.

Absolutely ridiculous rate for the risk.

Agree, undercompensated IMO.
But fairly sure it's gonna be oversubscribed anyway - that's just how yield hungry the retail scene is.
Will pass on this.

AndroidComa

have to also see the sentiments and the winds from the feds mah
last time Astrea 7 that time, rates were rising with no end in sight
today Astrea 8, they know rates have reached the top and likely to come down and they have to pay u for 5-15 years the same rate?

btw, https://www.sgx.com/fixed-income/products/V7AB

Astrea 7 was 4.125?

Kayeesha

Agree, undercompensated IMO.
But fairly sure it's gonna be oversubscribed anyway - that's just how yield hungry the retail scene is.
Will pass on this.
I agree with you too. I think there are many investors with lots of cash and are willing to accept lower yields and the company is taking advantage of this.

limster

Based on what Investmentmoats wrote, as long as you bid under $50k, you will get something, no balloting. So I'll just bid $40, since $40-49k likely to be given the same allocation.

Hopefully compared to Astrea 7, more investors will have their spare cash locked up in T-bills, so less cash available to press. So maybe press $40-49k can get $20k.

maumu

sorry ah, just to clarify, is this open to non-AI to buy, if it's just $20k or $50k?

if so, is it just like t-bills/SSB/IPOs that we can apply via e-banking?

Shalom_555

sed on what Investmentmoats wrote, as long as you bid under $50k, you will get something, no balloting. So I'll just bid $40, since $40-49k likely to be given the same allocation.

Hopefully compared to Astrea 7, more investors will have their spare cash locked up in T-bills, so less cash available to press. So maybe press $40-49k can get $20k.
For unsuccessful /partial allocation, wonder when the funds will be returned to us,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.