at seoul now.

hwaa

You mean the street markets along those areas? I heard during winter it will be closed :(

yah those streets shopping.

winter will be closed? wah those places is a must visit man. really nice place where u can just slow walk and chill, young vibes and got street performance sometimes by those uni students or foreigners.

im not sure abt winter they will be closed anot. hongdae can be quite compared to myeongdong in terms of street shopping atmosphere.

hwaa

my wife bought some facial stuffs in lotte dept store in myeongdong then when go over to ewha university side its was selling 12k won cheaper.

both also got vat return. initially was skeptical but outside shop got put confirm authentic if not refund x 10 times.

then those butter almonds butter cashews that alot of pple buy also cheaper at ewha university side.

just sharing lah, if that area is planned in then just buy there.

hwaa

issac sandwhich.

can be found in myeongdong and ewha university shopping area.

IMG20161021143811.jpg

palsaik samgyupsal - 8 flavors.

can be found in sinchon. - highly recommended.

IMG20161021102331.jpg

IMG20161021104949.jpg

hottest foamy sponge cake now.
can be found in lotte dept store at myeongdong basement 1.

IMG20161020181946.jpg

hwaa

alaksan king crab @ noryangjin market.

recommend u guys to whack 1, sibei shiok one. its sooooo much cheaper compared to sg.

just go to the market and choose 1 den bring up got a few restaurants can cook for a fee.

IMG20161016100836.jpg

IMG_20161022_182750.jpg

army stew @ myeongdong. restaurant name is nolboo. this is very nice also. close at 1030pm

IMG20161019203342.jpg

what88

alaksan king crab @ noryangjin market.

recommend u guys to whack 1, sibei shiok one. its sooooo much cheaper compared to sg.

just go to the market and choose 1 den bring up got a few restaurants can cook for a fee.

IMG20161016100836.jpg

IMG_20161022_182750.jpg

army stew @ myeongdong. restaurant name is nolboo. this is very nice also. close at 1030pm

IMG20161019203342.jpg

Bro,

Thanks for sharing, roughly how much for each dish?

Need to estimate how much $$ to bring over to cover for whole family of 4. :)

Man v.1

my wife bought some facial stuffs in lotte dept store in myeongdong then when go over to ewha university side its was selling 12k won cheaper.

both also got vat return. initially was skeptical but outside shop got put confirm authentic if not refund x 10 times.

then those butter almonds butter cashews that alot of pple buy also cheaper at ewha university side.

just sharing lah, if that area is planned in then just buy there.

Yes i'm planning to go those areas to shop hopefully they will be open when i reach there in Jan.

hwaa

Bro,

Thanks for sharing, roughly how much for each dish?

Need to estimate how much $$ to bring over to cover for whole family of 4. :)

standard restaurant meal will cost abt 30k won average. can see the servings is quite big so its actually can serve for more den 2 pax.

the alaskan crab, ok i not sure i got kena carrot anot.. this noryangjin market got 2 areas, one is wet market and one is slightly more atas aircon-ed market.

we went to the air-con one, first stall we approach and he qouted us 1kg @ 35k won. and cooking will be 20k won. theres only 2 of us so we only ordered this. damn full already. we didnt went around and checkout the standard market price. maybe u can walk around and try bargaining cos my fren told me last yr she went and she ate at a slightly cheaper price. my crab was 2kg+ and they quoted us @ 70k won.

if u have eaten this in sg before then u will roughly know how much this cost. i would really recommend u guys to whack this alaskan king crab cos not everytime we can eat this in sg.

hwaa

restaurants and cafes in seoul min spending for 2 is abt 25-30k for meals.

street food is about 3-6k in myeongdong.

desserts can cost 10-11k in cafes. like eg. this mango ice cost 11k won.

just some rough guide.

IMG20161016224821.jpg

only_lonely

girls stuffs, cosmestics and those facial stuffs they buy?

those popular food foreigners buy in lotte mart, like those chips, almonds, cashews etc.

shirts bags hats all are cheaper in hongdae/ewha university area.

I see. That's good cuz I will stay at hongdae. But not sure if they have branded comestic like laneigne.

hwaa

Mine also exceeded 20kg previously but I expected it :X

Sent from zhuzhu using GAGT

did they ask u to pay for the excess?

i took cathay many times and this was the first time i was being asked to pay for the excess.

i exceeded 20kgs, i told them i will repack. crazy sgd 300+ for the excess. ended up repack and exceeded 7kgs, also need to pay excess of sgd 100.

actually can repack some more but then time is abit tight so we just pay it off. but i remember last few trips they wasnt so strict one leh. :o

hwaa

2x 20 kgs also not enough ah? Thought is 30 kg /pax.:)

mine is 20 x 20kg. honestly speaking i also didnt go think so much abt it cos i assume it will be enough.

but then u knw one la when your wife's friend knw u going seoul then they will definitely ask to help buy this buy that, help relatives buy also.

ended up buying quite abit of dunno what facial lah, cream lah, lotion lah.

recommend u all buy extra baggage space. korea is no joke, can buy alot of stuffs one.

hwaa

btw i will just like to roughly say how the subway works in seoul for those who haven't been before.

choosing a right hotel or airbnb is quite crucial for this cos the subway requires alot alot of walking and climbing stairs. i dunno those who bring kids and strollers how they gonna make it.

so there's alot of interchanging lines in seoul. lets say your hotel is at hongdae for eg.

Screenshot_2016-10-23-10-23-05-55.png

under hongik university which is hongdae itself there's already 3 interchanging lines. so u have to see your hotel is at which exit and which line.

not all the lines will go to that exit. lets say u take line 1 and end at hongik and ur exit is at line 2, u still gotta walk to line 2 when u reach hongik station.

sometimes u will begin your day walking and climbing stairs and end the day doing the same again.

really alot of walking and climbing stairs, just some headsup. bring a good shoe along that u can walk comfortably one.

what88

mine is 20 x 20kg. honestly speaking i also didnt go think so much abt it cos i assume it will be enough.

but then u knw one la when your wife's friend knw u going seoul then they will definitely ask to help buy this buy that, help relatives buy also.

ended up buying quite abit of dunno what facial lah, cream lah, lotion lah.

recommend u all buy extra baggage space. korea is no joke, can buy alot of stuffs one.

20 x 20kg still not enough??:eek::eek: =:p

Haha, your 40 kg sure not enough if so many people topang to buy thing...:s13:

I got 4 x 30 kgs (total 120kgs), should be more than enough..:D

ash like snow

did they ask u to pay for the excess?

i took cathay many times and this was the first time i was being asked to pay for the excess.

i exceeded 20kgs, i told them i will repack. crazy sgd 300+ for the excess. ended up repack and exceeded 7kgs, also need to pay excess of sgd 100.

actually can repack some more but then time is abit tight so we just pay it off. but i remember last few trips they wasnt so strict one leh. :o

oh i took Scoot, 20kg/pax. yes i exceeded but they didnt ask me to pay for the excess. mayb bcos for Scoot, they combined the total KG. eg; i 25kg, but my friend's luggage only 10kg. so overall we still didnt exceed!

hwaa

oh i took Scoot, 20kg/pax. yes i exceeded but they didnt ask me to pay for the excess. mayb bcos for Scoot, they combined the total KG. eg; i 25kg, but my friend's luggage only 10kg. so overall we still didnt exceed!

oh then no need, most airlines is combined one. me and wife combined 40kgs but end up total baggage 60kgs :s13: :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.