At what age did your parents let you go to and from school yourself?

Tschuus

Oh this bring back so many memories. My mum made us took school bus all the way till I am P6 despite me pleading with her to let us take sbs since p3. I stayed quite some distance from my school and I have to wake up at 5am bec the school bus pick me up first. And to make things worse, I am the last to be dropped off . It was a daily 3.5 hours bus ride grind! And that's not the craziest thing. We paid the most for bus fares bec the idiots charge by distance. It was such a stupid arrangements . I was basically the private bus driver best client and treated the worse .

KPO_SAHM

Was it walk only, or need to take bus/mrt?

Kindergarten....
Went home with 2 younger siblings after school. I am the eldest. House was a few blocks away from school and need to cross 2 open carparks in an old estate. We were very independent. Even primary 1 I went home myself. Not to forget last time schools were quite a distance from home lor

whuttt

I could be wrong coz not a parents.

But I thought nowadays more kids are on their own instead of parents fetching coz both are working.
Yes that may be true. But seriously, it's not good to let a kid become a latch key kid too young. I'm seeing parents who regret this cos they totally lost control of their kids even when they are in upper pri. Behaviour. Device addictions, etc etc. Children need a lot of guidance. Best time to do it when they are young.
I understand some are forced by circumstances. Bo pian lor. But really shd minimise.

Hackula

Low crime doesn't mean no crime. With cctv, still got that weird guy in toh yi area. I rather not take the chance and have to rely on cctv to find the perpetrator.
I feel pri sch students shd still be accompanied, esp low pri. I left my kids to take public tpt themselves fr upper pri.
This guy? https://mustsharenews.com/suspicious-man-toh-yi/
Seems like he is still at large.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
if not wrong, from sec one onwards

tho' me once went back home, walked all the way from my pri sch to home, did it on my own accord, then later kenna whacked by mom for making her worried

usually me would take the hired sch bus to & back, but not on that day way home :s22:

that time if me rem correctly, me were in pri.4

:spin:

KPO_SAHM

Oh this bring back so many memories. My mum made us took school bus all the way till I am P6 despite me pleading with her to let us take sbs since p3. I stayed quite some distance from my school and I have to wake up at 5am bec the school bus pick me up first. And to make things worse, I am the last to be dropped off. And that's not the craziest thing. We paid the most for bus fares bec the idiots charge by distance. It was such a stupid arrangements .

Last time schools were not near to HDB. Not like now, eery new estates comes with a primary school near by lor

1.koln

Oh this bring back so many memories. My mum made us took school bus all the way till I am P6 despite me pleading with her to let us take sbs since p3. I stayed quite some distance from my school and I have to wake up at 5am bec the school bus pick me up first. And to make things worse, I am the last to be dropped off . It was a daily 3.5 hours bus ride grind! And that's not the craziest thing. We paid the most for bus fares bec the idiots charge by distance. It was such a stupid arrangements . I was basically the private bus driver best client and treated the worse .
Your mum had great foresight and financial sense

It would be not worth it if you got kidnapped and have to pay even more

The security provided by the school bus is worth it although she should have negotiated for a better deal

pirahna

I was a latch key boy, I went to school alone. since kindergarden which was just downstairs, walked to primary school by crossing an overhead bridge.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.