Audio Interface / DAC

zhihao57

lol... if I have more budget, definitely would go for Mackie CR3 :D

Noooo, had a CR3, died once during 2year mark, then repair for 50, lasted another 1 year before totally cannot repair. About last month just died

Seems like it's a common issue when you search it online haha!

Using presonus 4.5 now! No regret! šŸ˜†

ronnie_gogs

For studio monitor type speakers which have balanced inputs ideal would be a DAC with balanced audio out like 2i2.

My setup has changed from a UR44 to a Focusrite 6i6 as as I wanted to SPDIF out to another DAC in parallel to my interface.

Current chain is
PC --> Focusrite 6i6 --> JBL LSR305
Parallel SDIF --> Aune X1S --> Aune X7S --> HD600/HE4XX

86technie

For studio monitor type speakers which have balanced inputs ideal would be a DAC with balanced audio out like 2i2.

My setup has changed from a UR44 to a Focusrite 6i6 as as I wanted to SPDIF out to another DAC in parallel to my interface.

Current chain is
PC --> Focusrite 6i6 --> JBL LSR305
Parallel SDIF --> Aune X1S --> Aune X7S --> HD600/HE4XX

True, like in one of my article I wrote.
Depend on what speaker you use, if studio monitor than best
pair with DAC/sound interface.

PC speaker wise soundcard would be prefer.

86technie

yea so g6 surely is better ya? haha

G6 specs is superior but note that that is intended for headphone
and gaming.
If you intend to use with speaker than SB Premium Music would be
better, not to mention it have many connection.

Line out for speaker, headphone and etc.
For gaming if you need a mic than there are other soundcard
with microphone like Omni surround and etc.

jnashville

and gaming.

Yea plan to use just for gaming on PC, and hearing music on YouTube. Yup pairing with headphones, not speakers.

Able to recommend? Or the g6 is good for my purposes

zhihao57

and gaming.

Paiseh if this is a noob question.

Lets say i get this SB Premium Music for my presonus eris 4.5,

Roughly what improvement will i be getting? Clearer sounds? More power?

What are the benefits actually?

or are these more beneficial for headphones?

*Never gotten DAC before!
Not that i never google, forum answers are tend to be more truthful and much more relatable! haha

86technie

Paiseh if this is a noob question.

Lets say i get this SB Premium Music for my presonus eris 4.5,

Roughly what improvement will i be getting? Clearer sounds? More power?

What are the benefits actually?

or are these more beneficial for headphones?

*Never gotten DAC before!
Not that i never google, forum answers are tend to be more truthful and much more relatable! haha

Clearer sound, better sound quality but for presonus eris 4.5 best pair
with sound interface like Focusrite 2i2.
Same price with SB Premium Music but sound interface like Sound interface will sound more clearer.
Not to mention by using balanced cable than RCA (Unbalanced) the sound quality is different.
Can get from Swee Lee both the sound interface and balanced audio cable to connect to the speaker

jnashville

currently i am using a very old creative soundblaster play (first version) usb sound stick. youtube playback and gaming are good. if i upgrade to g6, dunno whether will i hear any difference or not. or just throwing money haha

zhihao57

currently i am using a very old creative soundblaster play (first version) usb sound stick. youtube playback and gaming are good. if i upgrade to g6, dunno whether will i hear any difference or not. or just throwing money haha

Sort of the same as my worries, i scared i buy liao then don't feel any difference, then jialat. macam waste money

jnashville

Sort of the same as my worries, i scared i buy liao then don't feel any difference, then jialat. macam waste money

yea cuz i read up in some forums for a DAC, most people do not need unless their current audio setup/ on board audio has interference etc.

86technie

As shared if you feel G6 too ex than just get premium music.
Either option sound will improve.
As SB play V1 uses old chipset, Live chipset if I am not wrong.
G6 uses SBX which is many gen ahead of SB play 1.

ronnie_gogs

This is my personal opinion.
If the speakers remain same. Changing the DAC/Soundcard wont dramatically improve sound. Its difficult even for a trained sound engineer with a blind test.

Sound cards are not like graphics cars which can show quantifiable improvement (unless you use a audio analyzer).

I prefer to use balanced audio cables as its less prone to interference. I buy interface/sound card based on requirements. Better mic preamps, SPDIF digital outs, mixer options, DSP effects..

If all you do is listen to youtube audio, buying a sound card to improve audio quality is useless. Now if you talk about lossless audio like flac or really crazy DSD files where one song can be 400mb and have ears which can recognize pitch then yeah a good sound card would be good upgrade.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.