Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

koroshiya8

Anyone can suggest how to make an already very good IM-03 better..... a change in the cables or investing in an Amp?

By chance i managed to demo a Noble N6 and since i know that kind of price is not achievable now, i'm seeing if i can 'upgrade' the IM03 instead :D

Haonan

Anyone can suggest how to make an already very good IM-03 better..... a change in the cables or investing in an Amp?

By chance i managed to demo a Noble N6 and since i know that kind of price is not achievable now, i'm seeing if i can 'upgrade' the IM03 instead :D

I was having a coffee session with Randius abt two weeks ago, had an opportunity to try the AT-HDC5 cables I imported in for him (I was already using one on my own pair of IM02's since mid-March) on his pair of IM03's. I did not try out very demanding genres such as Orchestral/Chamber music, or any well-known japanese OSTs I am familiar with.

However, I did try with a couple of vocals tracks from Adele/JUJU, both vocalists which have very well-recorded engineered tracks by their studio labels and IMO, I really do believe after listening for myself the pairing of the AT-HDC5 cables really did managed to improve the overall sound quality of the IM03's by quite a considerable margin which is IMHO worthy of the cable's RRP. (personally for me I got these cables from Japan awhile ago at ard SGD 118 non-inclusive of shipping charges, but you should be able to get them locally via store retailers such as frn Stereo, Soundwaves or E1 @SGD 98.00 once AT SEA's distributors have their stocks in frm my understanding)

Most notably, I feel that not only the bass texture/clarity from the IM03 has improved considerably by quite abit, I also felt that the overall treble presence was not as warm/dark and extension also has some improvements compared to what it used to sound like when I tried those IM03's in stock form back during my audition session at E1. While the IM03 is not considered dark sounding by any means, it is still considered relatively darker in terms of treble presence when comparing to other models from AT family such as the IM02/CK100PRO, although in terms of overall sound sig according to the japanese AT engineers I have came across in one of my japanese audio magazine interviews, the IM03's are indeed acknowledged by the engineers as the spiritual successor model to the previous CK100PRO model released back in 2011 actually.
:o

The AT-HDC5 cables should be a relatively good investment for yr pair of IM03's, make no mistake abt it. Rather than spending SGD 1,399 on a pair of Noble Audio N6's, which is more than x2 the pricing of a pair of brand new IM03 locally here, I would say it's probably a better idea for you to get hold of a pair of AT-HDC5 cables as an upgrade, as well as looking for a better DAP source for yourself. More often than not, I find that once you reached the lvl of owning stuffs such as CK100PRO/IM03, any further upgrades are really just a pursue of a different kind of sound sig for yourself, or just something that provides some diminishing returns in terms of overall SQ upgrades. Are you and yr wallet ready for something like that after forking out 1399? That is perhaps something you have to truly ask yourself.

I own quite a few TOTL universals apart from the usual ATH's myself, just check my Head-fi profile. Personally for me I have found that in terms of my own audio journey, to be able to own or listen to some other expensive earphones or TOTL custom monitors does not exactly represent or immediately bringing oneself to attain a higher level of aural experience. Of course in audiophile/gearhead speak, in many instances you will get an ego boost as well as bragging rights for having new toys. But most often than not, you will find that you are just actually pursuing this hobby in a different direction, having just obtain another 'different' sound sig in terms of presentation you have found yourself to be unfamiliar with previous, and you just got the chance to get yourself more acquainted with it at this moment after purchasing a new TOTL universal or customs.

With something of a level of the IM03, in my own words please do yourself a favour here. Although I'm not sure what current DAP source you are using it with these IEMs, but I have found that in my instances having an upgrade in terms of portable or desktop source, will reveal to you simply just how much potential behind you have not unlocked yet in terms of those IM03's. True story bro.

Haonan

Gootman dao moi qn :(

Go ask yr informants rah, i thought you have alot of sekretive and reliable informants ard chiu?
:crazy::crazy:

Aiyo, that is something related to my privacy leh of course I cannot reveal to you rah. What if that day you come airport plant sekret bomb in my luggage since you might have seen me b4? Then that time ish becum ANA airlines missing in action liao, no longer just Malaysia airlines.

Anyway before im heading over to the land of rising sun, I will be sure to drop you pm one rah, goodman don't usually give empty promises one sho don't worry!

iAHBEE

Moi informants buay sai cover all bases huan, if not will noe who buy dita to chop the truth cable for her own ciem riaos :(

koroshiya8

I was having a coffee session with Randius abt two weeks ago, had an opportunity to try the AT-HDC5 cables I imported in for him (I was already using one on my own pair of IM02's since mid-March) on his pair of IM03's. I did not try out very demanding genres such as Orchestral/Chamber music, or any well-known japanese OSTs I am familiar with.

However, I did try with a couple of vocals tracks from Adele/JUJU, both vocalists which have very well-recorded engineered tracks by their studio labels and IMO, I really do believe after listening for myself the pairing of the AT-HDC5 cables really did managed to improve the overall sound quality of the IM03's by quite a considerable margin which is IMHO worthy of the cable's RRP. (personally for me I got these cables from Japan awhile ago at ard SGD 118 non-inclusive of shipping charges, but you should be able to get them locally via store retailers such as frn Stereo, Soundwaves or E1 @SGD 98.00 once AT SEA's distributors have their stocks in frm my understanding)

Most notably, I feel that not only the bass texture/clarity from the IM03 has improved considerably by quite abit, I also felt that the overall treble presence was not as warm/dark and extension also has some improvements compared to what it used to sound like when I tried those IM03's in stock form back during my audition session at E1. While the IM03 is not considered dark sounding by any means, it is still considered relatively darker in terms of treble presence when comparing to other models from AT family such as the IM02/CK100PRO, although in terms of overall sound sig according to the japanese AT engineers I have came across in one of my japanese audio magazine interviews, the IM03's are indeed acknowledged by the engineers as the spiritual successor model to the previous CK100PRO model released back in 2011 actually.

The AT-HDC5 cables should be a relatively good investment for yr pair of IM03's, make no mistake abt it. Rather than spending SGD 1,399 on a pair of Noble Audio N6's, which is more than x2 the pricing of a pair of brand new IM03 locally here, I would say it's probably a better idea for you to get hold of a pair of AT-HDC5 cables as an upgrade, as well as looking for a better DAP source for yourself. More often than not, I find that once you reached the lvl of owning stuffs such as CK100PRO/IM03, any further upgrades are really just a pursue of a different kind of sound sig for yourself, or just something that provides some diminishing returns in terms of overall SQ upgrades. Are you and yr wallet ready for something like that after forking out 1399? That is perhaps something you have to truly ask yourself.

I own quite a few TOTL universals apart from the usual ATH's myself, just check my Head-fi profile. Personally for me I have found that in terms of my own audio journey, to be able to own or listen to some other expensive earphones or TOTL custom monitors does not exactly represent or immediately bringing oneself to attain a higher level of aural experience. Of course in audiophile/gearhead speak, in many instances you will get an ego boost as well as bragging rights for having new toys. But most often than not, you will find that you are just actually pursuing this hobby in a different direction, having just obtain another 'different' sound sig in terms of presentation you have found yourself to be unfamiliar with previous, and you just got the chance to get yourself more acquainted with it at this moment after purchasing a new TOTL universal or customs.

With something of a level of the IM03, in my own words please do yourself a favour here. Although I'm not sure what current DAP source you are using it with these IEMs, but I have found that in my instances having an upgrade in terms of portable or desktop source, will reveal to you simply just how much potential behind you have not unlocked yet in terms of those IM03's. True story bro.

Thanks for your comprehensive explanation and opinion on this. I dont really pursue any bragging rights because people around me are not exactly into this so they have no idea how much the stuf i'm carrying ard cost in the first place. My rigs are my im03, DX50 and my Redmi... and now that i commute to work by bus i will have more time to spend with my stuff :D

Indeed it seems that investing in the AT-HDC5 is a good choice for a start.. :D thanks for the advice and the lobang on where to get them..
any chance they are for audition too ?

Haonan

Thanks for your comprehensive explanation and opinion on this. I dont really pursue any bragging rights because people around me are not exactly into this so they have no idea how much the stuf i'm carrying ard cost in the first place. My rigs are my im03, DX50 and my Redmi... and now that i commute to work by bus i will have more time to spend with my stuff :D

Indeed it seems that investing in the AT-HDC5 is a good choice for a start.. :D thanks for the advice and the lobang on where to get them..
any chance they are for audition too ?

Hi koroshiya8, no problem at all. For auditioning of the AT-HDC5 cables, the cable demos were avail for awhile alrdy @ E1 PersonalAudio. Other than E1 I also believe according to Soundwaves Studio FB updates they also currently have the cables in for demo too, so you may kindly check with them. Guan22 aka Joe is from the Bedok Mall branch of Soundwaves actually, think he should be able to confirm regarding the AT-HDC5 cables sales availability and fill you in when are the stocks arriving, since from what I understand he's usually quite active ard in here.

The iBasso DX50/DX90 DAPs should be relatively good and decent DAP sources according to my ears since iBasso always tunes their players to be more on the analytical/linear response side which bodes with my personal aural tastebuds as well. Though I have to say generally in terms of vocals wise I generally still like how Sony Walkman sounds to me, which is why I also made an upgrade from my NW-Z1070 to the ZX1 recently.

Compared to Cowon or Astell & Kern DAPs actually Sony Walkmans have dedicated analog line-outs as well via their WM-ports, so if you are looking for something to pair up and use with portable amps to push yr current IEMs potential further, actually the latest Walkman flagship ZX1 is worth a consideration as well in terms of DAP source upgrade, but as far as I know the official launch in SG is only from May period onwards next mth, you can't actually purchase them in Singapore right now. (I got my ZX1 set through a pre-order campaign held earlier in late-March)

As for amping, I don't exactly have any suggestions for you, except that I would probably urge you to head down to E1 PersonalAudio or Soundwaves and check out their range of offerings in terms of portable amps, and find the one that suits with the pairing of yr own DX50 as well as yr own listening tastes. As all of us probably have varying preferences or bias in terms of our fav music genres and I don't own the IM03 currently myself too, it's probably better for you to audition those amps and find out what's the best for yourself.

Cheers!
:)

Haonan

I think I know which review Randius is referring to. As AV Impress Watch editors also recently reviewed both the CKR10/CKR9 as well. Apparently from my random reads from Kakaku.com japanese community, the initial impressions is not very positive over there as well, for those living in the land of the rising sun.

But I will try to put things into another diff perspective. From my personal findings in the past, dynamics transducers often needs more time to burn in and settle down in order to judge their true sound signature/potential, so I wouldn't push the final verdict out so soon yet. Why I know that? Well my CM700Ti and AD1000PRM upon initially unboxing them, I certainly remember that I did not enjoy them as much back then as I would have liked them compared to their current state at this moment.

Hopefully the CKR10 demos will appear soon, but I'm also crossing my fingers that I may be picking them up from JP this June, it's probably either this or the Ocharaku Donguri-Keyaki which I have certainly adored very much as well in terms of the sound.

Randius

I think I know which review Randius is referring to. As AV Impress Watch editors also recently reviewed both the CKR10/CKR9 as well. Apparently from my random reads from Kakaku.com japanese community, the initial impressions is not very positive over there as well, for those living in the land of the rising sun.

But I will try to put things into another diff perspective. From my personal findings in the past, dynamics transducers often needs more time to burn in and settle down in order to judge their true sound signature/potential, so I wouldn't push the final verdict out so soon yet. Why I know that? Well my CM700Ti and AD1000PRM upon initially unboxing them, I certainly remember that I did not enjoy them as much back then as I would have liked them compared to their current state at this moment.

Hopefully the CKR10 demos will appear soon, but I'm also crossing my fingers that I may be picking them up from JP this June, it's probably either this or the Ocharaku Donguri-Keyaki which I have certainly adored very much as well in terms of the sound.

Unfortunately, there was one review on CKR10 with about 170 hours burn-in and the reviewer mentioned the strange resonance did not go away. So it either needs even longer time to burn in or the technology may not be mature enough.

Dreammusic

Unfortunately, there was one review on CKR10 with about 170 hours burn-in and the reviewer mentioned the strange resonance did not go away. So it either needs even longer time to burn in or the technology may not be mature enough.

170hrs of burn in should have been enough, so maybe its the sound signature.

Haonan

You may be right bro. It's indeed a new tech/patent implementation by ATH, not even Ocharaku or other manufacturers like Radius/JVC Kenwood who have already pushed out DDMs has done something like this before so it could simply be an immatured technology issue that requires further R&D time. But I'm putting more of my bet that it's more to do with burn-in issues, I have read from certain Head-fi discussions last time that for some dynamic headphones, some owners did not get any positive impressions with their own gears until reaching the 300-400 hr mark.

We also cannot merely conclude the overall capability of the CKR10 from simply reading that single 170-hours owner impressions who currently owns this model. If you have actually read Azure's impressions, he did say there is indeed potential though I would think in terms of overall resolution/detail, this product may not be able to precede and beat products such as the legendary Sony MDR-EX1000 or even Ocharaku's Kaedes/Kuro in terms of resolution/detail/dynamics. Having came across some of the formed impressions of the EX1000/Kuro previously from some japanese owners over at Kakaku.com as well as reading the Fujiya-Avic headphone fests threads over at HF, it's quite clear to me that in terms of dynamic IEMs it may still take quite awhile before ATH can make a formidable presence in this industry, considering the fact that according to previous history the CKM99/CKM1000 aren't even top sellers in many parts of the world including in JP.

In the meantime, maybe this simply means my wallet is safe for the moment. That's certainly good news for me too.
:D:D

Edit: corrected some typo errors.

Haonan

ATH-M40x or M50x? Any opinions? I have only tried the M50x before.

Why not bring your own DAP source down to Stereo, and test them out for yourself with yr own music? As far as I know, Stereo do have both models for demo auditions as well as retail. Asking for anyone's opinions may not form much conclusion for yrself anyway since there might be a possibility you might not like both as well depending on your listening bias/preferences in terms of reference gears.

TODDy17

Is there any IEM from Audio-Technica that is close to the SQ of ATH-Sx1a?
I have focused my attention on ATH-IM03 & CK100pro, but don't have an opportunity to listen to them personally :(

melankholy

any dudes here know where i can get the m30x at a good price? Saw stereo website selling at $98. Wonder if mustafa got cheaper?

FinalNitro

Why not bring your own DAP source down to Stereo, and test them out for yourself with yr own music? As far as I know, Stereo do have both models for demo auditions as well as retail. Asking for anyone's opinions may not form much conclusion for yrself anyway since there might be a possibility you might not like both as well depending on your listening bias/preferences in terms of reference gears.

Haha maybe I should. Well. Waiting for any promotion. Missed out the previous one and the price went back up. Haha.

koroshiya8

anyone knows if AT-HDC5 is available for Sale liao ? :D
Last check like no news at all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.