Australia PR

patryn33

i know grass is not always greener on the other side lah.

but i got intentions to move out.

cannot meh?

U are mewking???

no one says cannot. if U can read ENGLISH.. I did type clearly "THATS GOOD"
meaning its good U are aware of the fact its not always better out there.

patryn33

The 46-48% tax rate applies to highest salary bracket, it does not just apply to those who do not declare their TFN. If you ever do reach that tax bracket then you would know what I'm talking about.

I hope joes planning to leave the country didn't take it 46-48% tax of their entire income.
Its progressive tax system.

should 1 make $200K, its $55,850 + $9k = $64850, its just 32.425%..
even if U make 0.5M a yr its still 39.97% off your entire $$.
http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/12333.htm

if U work for a company how to don't declare? own biz I understand can try to siam... no audit in OZ? no jail time and fine if caught?

Zetta83

U are mewking???

no one says cannot. if U can read ENGLISH.. I did type clearly "THATS GOOD"
meaning its good U are aware of the fact its not always better out there.
This is his 4-5 account change.

should 1 make $200K, its $55,850 + $9k = $64850, its just 32.425%..
even if U make 0.5M a yr its still 39.97% off your entire $$.
http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/12333.htm

I know it's a progressive tax system, I was implying the difference in taxes in Singapore and Australia. I mentioned the highest tax bracket as a disadvantage for high income earners in Australia compared to the high income earners in Singapore. As you said, 40% tax off 0.5M gross income is a lot of tax, compared to the low taxes in Singapore. However, I prefer Australia if you are a fresh graduate because the income for graduates is generally higher and the working environment is less stressful.

Regarding the issue of not declaring your TFN, I have never done that when I worked; hence I'm not a 100% sure. I'm sure acanthophis would gracefully tell us the answer like he always does.

patryn33

i understand u know, ppl here may not know. how many joes here pay tax. SG tax return is easy to file. OZ, didn't many hire an CPA to get it done cause its too complex

high income earners too bad then.. but avg ppl here.. u think how many ppl in oz easily hit aud$200k?
on top of that I believe there must have alots of hidden deductibles to lower the tax bracket.

in such countries, the rich help the poor! the society believes in giving back to help the growth of the society!

Zetta83

I know it's a progressive tax system, I was implying the difference in taxes in Singapore and Australia. I mentioned the highest tax bracket as a disadvantage for high income earners in Australia compared to the high income earners in Singapore. As you said, 40% tax off 0.5M gross income is a lot of tax, compared to the low taxes in Singapore. However, I prefer Australia if you are a fresh graduate because the income for graduates is generally higher and the working environment is less stressful.

Regarding the issue of not declaring your TFN, I have never done that when I worked; hence I'm not a 100% sure. I'm sure acanthophis would gracefully tell us the answer like he always does.
It's 48% of your gross earning if your employer doesn't have your TFN. However, you can link your TFN at a later date and the difference will be credited back to you.

Zetta83

i understand u know, ppl here may not know. how many joes here pay tax. SG tax return is easy to file. OZ, didn't many hire an CPA to get it done cause its too complex

high income earners too bad then.. but avg ppl here.. u think how many ppl in oz easily hit aud$200k?
on top of that I believe there must have alots of hidden deductibles to lower the tax bracket.

in such countries, the rich help the poor! the society believes in giving back to help the growth of the society!
Haha.. Kinda agree. My super is set to "nation building and development" :)

acanthophis

The 46-48% tax rate applies to highest salary bracket, it does not just apply to those who do not declare their TFN. If you ever do reach that tax bracket then you would know what I'm talking about.

I only hit bracket 4 twice , not bracket 5 which is 180,000 and over per annum. If you hit bracket 4 , there are 101 legit ways to claim back through other forms. If one hits that bracket around 4, and they still don't know what to do, they deserve to lose their money thru taxes.

acanthophis

the same thing can be said about SG. in 15yrs without touching your take home also can pay off a flat and still see all that savings in the bank. ya flat is tiny, only 99yrs, cannot install a pool etc, at least no one here pay property insurance, low property tax only a few hundred tops and mortgage rate is at low 2-3% for the entire term.

landed property better don't forget much to do. Need to mow the lawn, pay home insurance. pay ppl to maintain the garden and it can cost U AUD$100 a mth. lets not forget the high mortgage rate.
iirc OZ is interesting, its not a fix interest rate. now is like 5-6% for some 3-5yr fixed term. there after can be up or down. good thing is no annual property tax!

Buying a big landed property in countries with big land isn't really investment. Japan housing bubble burst many many yrs ago till this date it has not recover. latest news today is USA. of course China, Thailand, Canada are looking at the same issue.

And you are the property expert now in Australia?

acanthophis

If you are a PR/citizen, you can go to the non-private GP and not pay a cent through bulk-billing (govt subsidised). You only need to pay for your medicine from a pharmacy; but medicine from the pharmacies in Australia is quite expensive. You need to apply for a medicare card to qualify for bulk-billing. OR you can see a private GP and pay around $50, and get a $15+ refund from Medicare (not sure about the exact refund, been a long time since I've seen a doc).

Regarding the hospitals/surgery operations there, I cannot quite comment. But I have heard there is a long waiting list for certain surgeries (up to 2 years wait). It is also recommended to get private insurance to cover medical expenses. Singapore's healthcare is definitely world class and beats Australian healthcare hands-down when it comes to hospital/medical efficiency and subsidization.

Well, I went for a free surgery courtesy of Australia this year. It was an emergency. I can't complain considering that if in Singapore, I will be forking out 1500 minimum for it done, instead of free.

Totally public . And I paid only for my medication which cost 27 dollars in total. Thanks to my medicare card.

So if you want to talk world class healthcare (filled with brand new latest equipment and fancy facilities) with welfare healthcare , it is quite impossible unless you want the taxes hiked up like that of Sweden/Finland etc. USA has one of the best world class hospital healthcare system for the RICH ...and the worst one for the poor. But oh hey we can say USA beats everyone else handsdown.

So sadly , I have to point out your fallacious statement on Singapore's healthcare beating Australian healthcare hands-down when it comes to subsidization. Been to subsidised wards in Singapore? They house 6 patients in B2. 12 patients in C class last time, I have worked there. NO AIRCON. Food take it or leave it.

The metropolitan Australian hospital I went to - public and all - houses 2-4 patients per room . Each room has its own toilet. AIRCON. Even a food menu like B1. In Singapore, I probably have to pay alot for that in Singapore.

Ok that's only amenities.

Plus doctors in both countries are comparably trained. Australia may have outdated less fancy equipment than Singapore ....but heck , from the treatment I got in a metropolitan public hospital in Australia, I would say I rather be in Australia than Singapore. At least I won't have a heart attack looking at the bill later.

Free vs Not-so-free. Doesn't matter what the tools are, as long as the one using the tools is good and there are plenty of good doctors here. Can't complain.

With all due respect on how Medicare and Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme( PBS) works,this is a general overview.

MEDICARE and GPs- subsidy is based on the coding. If the doctor writes or tick a certain code, medicare will compensate you accordingly. Long consults will get more compensation. Short ones less. Procedural consults depends on what the procedure is etc.

Medicare is used to access public hospital care.

PBS sets a limit on how much a drug company can charge you for a drug. For example, in Singapore, Lipitor costs around 100 dollars for 1 month supply. In Australia, the maximum paid is around $AUD 32.90. If you are a pensioner/concession card holder/ Veteran affairs person/ special safety net type of govt subsidy holder , the drugs are cheaper.

Singaporean and Australian healthcare system have their own strengths and weaknesses because of the way the healthcare system works in respective countries. One is a welfare state while the other is a pay-as-you-use state.

So if someone likes to compare a healthcare system - please know how the healthcare systems you are comparing, actually WORKS. One of my alma mater is USYD, please don't embarass our University.

One of my alma mater is USYD, please don't embarass our University.
Lol acanthophis, you are such a troll who gets so defensive/upright over a small statement. It's hilarious, I say a paragraph and you answer with an entire essay? I still stand by what I said: Singapore's healthcare is BETTER than Australia's. You want to cry about it or write another essay? I don't care, I'm back to studying law which I entered with a 99.65 ATAR (CSP place). If you love Australia so much, why are you on a Singaporean forum and not on BoredofStudies or Whirlpool forum? Anyway, I'm leaving this forum to go study for the next few months, unlike you trolling away. Toodles.

i see. so we should not give up our SG citizenship any how right?

if we stuck with some major illness that require operations , at least can come back see SG doctor right?
Applying to be an Australian PR would be better, you get the healthcare benefits like an Australian citizen.

patryn33

And you are the property expert now in Australia?

lady Phd.... U claim ppl can pay off a house in Z yrs.. and have no idea how property works in OZ? don't have to be an expert just need to read around.
or cannot stand I know something??? if so, why don't U spend the time thinking how to hit the stay in the top taxable bracket for good.

as for US health care is best for the rich.. anywhere is good to U so long U are rich isn't it?
OZ if u wish to throw a few 100K down still need to wait in line meh???

welfare system on health care.. I just hope OZ system wouldn't screw up and be in the shape of Canada/UK.

as for amenities, aren't u forgetting OZ have land, SG don't???

anyway, each on their own.. some migrated to OZ/Canada. still return and pay to get operated.

deathcabforcutie, a Troll Phd grad... wow.. thats some character.. felt like she didn't earn your respects.. in your mind maybe "Phd big money so what!!"

rebeccathecurious

Lol acanthophis, you are such a troll who gets so defensive/upright over a small statement. It's hilarious, I say a paragraph and you answer with an entire essay? I still stand by what I said: Singapore's healthcare is BETTER than Australia's. You want to cry about it or write another essay? I don't care, I'm back to studying law which I entered with a 99.65 ATAR (CSP place). If you love Australia so much, why are you on a Singaporean forum and not on BoredofStudies or Whirlpool forum? Anyway, I'm leaving this forum to go study for the next few months, unlike you trolling away. Toodles.

Applying to be an Australian PR would be better, you get the healthcare benefits like an Australian citizen.

Aren't you an Aussie yourself?
Why are you here? :p

acanthophis

I love and respect Australia so much that I live in Australia now.

OMG , your high school score is really nothing to be proud of and you haven't even finish your degree - we are not talking Oxford or Cambridge. Let me know when you get a full fee paying scholarship for being top 2 in the cohort. CSP Place - big deal. I got it for my masters. Wow I must be smart!

Never have I seen an Australian so defensive over their own garbagy statements that trash their own country without considering the facts ,aka THE ESSAY, placed in front of them, or even looking up the facts. That is quite unaustralian and unLawyer-like!

I still have a soft spot for fellow singaporeans who might need advice from someone with experience living in and studying in Australia.

I m just a troll to a troll when I spot 1 ;). It's fun!

Don't be so defensive yet! You have not pass the bar! Hahaha

Zetta83

Well, there are differences in both sg and aust's healthcare systems.

For now, I'm young, rarely fall sick and have never needed to stay in a hospital/ operation (touchwood). Therefore, I would prefer the Singaporean system, where no medical levy is required and visiting clinics/collecting med are cheaper and more convenient.

Of course, as I get older and more "fragile", the Australian healthcare is more suitable for me. I will be making lesser (hence paying less levy) and using healthcare more.

All in all, it's hard to use my simple example to justify which healthcare is better, as accidents do happen.

deathcab - just a gentle advice, being smart is good, but showing off your scores the way you did presents yourself as someone who is narrow-minded, studies well but have bad comm skilled. I know of someone with a double full scholarship (Bac & Masters) and a perfect GPA but nv once mentioned it to friends becos (he/she) is being humble. That is a virtue, not to be forgotten.

Words on a forum are merely expressionless words. They can be easily misinterpreted. Ease up guys.

yodatan

each to oneself lah, stop arguing k u both argue from one thread to another, like james bond go to every country and fight villians one leh

perosoka

Well, there are differences in both sg and aust's healthcare systems.

For now, I'm young, rarely fall sick and have never needed to stay in a hospital/ operation (touchwood). Therefore, I would prefer the Singaporean system, where no medical levy is required and visiting clinics/collecting med are cheaper and more convenient.

Of course, as I get older and more "fragile", the Australian healthcare is more suitable for me. I will be making lesser (hence paying less levy) and using healthcare more.

All in all, it's hard to use my simple example to justify which healthcare is better, as accidents do happen.

deathcab - just a gentle advice, being smart is good, but showing off your scores the way you did presents yourself as someone who is narrow-minded, studies well but have bad comm skilled. I know of someone with a double full scholarship (Bac & Masters) and a perfect GPA but nv once mentioned it to friends becos (he/she) is being humble. That is a virtue, not to be forgotten.

Words on a forum are merely expressionless words. They can be easily misinterpreted. Ease up guys.

very good thoughts from a mature vet

singapore system is not as good as u guys think
the subsidy is non-existent for many treatment/surgeries, as u grow older, u will develop problems that require specialist treatment. these treatments are not subsidized and in addition the wards are not cheap like u guys think

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.