Ayuthaya... Help!

Andrene

Intend to pop over to Ayuthaya for some sight-seeing & photography during the BKK trip.... need advice bad...

1) Transportation: how to get there from bkk, if i dun do the river-cruise thingy? and how long will 1way journey take?

2) Duration: how long do i need to set aside for the trip? half day or full?

3) any other points i should note when going/at Ayuthaya?

Thanks~

beanstalk6

You can take a bus from the Northern Bus Terminal at Mochit or a train from Hualumphong.
You probably need a full day, setting off early in the morning and return in the evening.

durkheimian

train to ayu leave hua lamphong at 820am in the morning. so, you can go to the station to get your tix at 8am. but to be safe, go a bit earlier so that you can have a seat on the carriage, if you are taking a 3rd class. it cost B20 only. coming back, you can check the timing at ayutthaya station. usually there are lots of trains, almost hourly. check the attached picture for the journey details.

previously, i went in the morning and came back on the 330pm train. no need to prepare too much money for ayutthaya because there is not much to shop. and food and drinks and entrance to temples cost less that bangkok's.

you may want to bring along sufficient water as the weather can be demandingly hot. cap, sunglasses, sunblock will be useful as well. and your camera, the place is very worthy of a space in your camera.

o6kzlw.jpg

suangern

Entrance fees for temples have two types. Usually is 40 B for foreigners and 10 B or free for locals. The locals rate is written in Thai, it can't be helped unless you can read Thai language.

Mor Chit Bus Terminal is nowhere near to Mor Chit BTS, see google earth and you will know.:s22:

d3n

i am going to ayutthaya this sept. :D

my plan is to go hualumpong train station, take a train to ayutthaya. Then come back either by train or coach. :D

natlow

Good place to check out. Take train to Ayutthaya; journey is under 2 hrs. After getting off from the station, cross the road and walk straight ahead to a small jetty (next to a food and drinks store). Take a small ferry boat to cross to the other side. To move around Ayutthaya in this hot and humid weather, suggests chartering a tuk tuk. Heard the rates are regulated so it is quite safe - B200/hour. Say, ask for 3 hrs and if you need more time, just extend. The tuk tuk guy will know where to bring you for the sights and plan the route. Just highlight your "must-see" so that it is not omitted. Along the way, buy the driver a drink, build some rapport :) After completing the trip, get the driver to send you to a bus stop for your journey back to Bangkok. Buses (more a coach) are air-cond and quite comfortable. Taking a bus back will bring you new sights and mingling among the locals. Drop off at the terminal (Mochit).

zattie

WOW!! GOOD advise!

I am going Ayutthaya in Aug.
Had planned up the itinery but need to find info on the money side.. and this definitely helps.

Thanks

elibelly

train to ayu leave hua lamphong at 820am in the morning. so, you can go to the station to get your tix at 8am. but to be safe, go a bit earlier so that you can have a seat on the carriage, if you are taking a 3rd class. it cost B20 only. coming back, you can check the timing at ayutthaya station. usually there are lots of trains, almost hourly. check the attached picture for the journey details.

previously, i went in the morning and came back on the 330pm train. no need to prepare too much money for ayutthaya because there is not much to shop. and food and drinks and entrance to temples cost less that bangkok's.

you may want to bring along sufficient water as the weather can be demandingly hot. cap, sunglasses, sunblock will be useful as well. and your camera, the place is very worthy of a space in your camera.

QUOTE]

Hi, i thought of gg to atutthaya. nt too sure about the routes of bkk. may i know how can i get there if i am stay at pratunam area? :)

durkheimian

QUOTE]

Hi, i thought of gg to atutthaya. nt too sure about the routes of bkk. may i know how can i get there if i am stay at pratunam area? :)
ok, previously, i stayed at samran place, a bit near to pratunam also. i leave my hotel at 750am (a bit risky) for hua lamphong train station on a taxi. i manage to reach at about 805am, fortunately. i would suggest leaving your hotel at 730am, in case there are morning jams. also, you might want to get the bell to help you get a cab and help you tell the driver the destination (hua lamphong), because, if you do not pronounce it properly, you might end up somewhere else.

at the station, buy the tickets for ayutthaya, the train will leave at 820am, they are quite punctual.

do try and research a bit on the places of interest in ayutthaya prior to your trip so that you know what and where to go to.

have a good trip.

Lawenforcer

mayb pple who went to ayuthaya before can list down the temple or the must see location for all the forummers benefit? Thanks

durkheimian

from what i can remember for now,

wat yai chai mongkhol (street fighter Sagat's home ground)
wat phra si sanphet (ruins)
wat chai wattanaram (ruins)
wat mahathat (buddha head in tree root)
wat phu khao tong (white colour chedi very nice)
wat ratchaburana

can only remember so much

Lawenforcer

from what i can remember for now,

wat yai chai mongkhol (street fighter Sagat's home ground)
wat phra si sanphet (ruins)
wat chai wattanaram (ruins)
wat mahathat (buddha head in tree root)
wat phu khao tong (white colour chedi very nice)
wat ratchaburana

can only remember so much

I will add on abit.

wat chedi daeng ( a monk reside in the temple pple believe the talisman he made can prevent u from being pierce by sharp object, last time if u wan a talisman from him, u muz let him use a sharp knife to scrub your back, with no blood at all. ) but now u dont have to as the police forbid them to do so)

LP Poon wat ban paen(ayuthaya)

siamarts

CAn visit Wat Phra Khao and pay respect to LP Tim's body.
Can visit LuangPhoo Sawat of Wat Salapoon.
For barang barang shamanic magic monk, can look for Ajarn Wan of Wat Senanimit -Uthai
Can pay respect to old time guru's temple such as LP Jong of Wat Natangnok and LP Mee of Wat Marvichai
Can also visit the 2nd class National temple of Wat Na Phra Mean

Outside Wat Yai Chai mongkol don't miss the famous Boat noodles.. order the black black gravy one!! :lick:

natas

It is only 1500-1800thb to rent a taxi for whole day to n fro Ayuthaya. U can go any temples or location n back to BKK hotel doorstep. I doubt u will save much by taking public n tuk tuk around Ayuthya esp a few of u going. It saves all the planning, bargaining. Just tell the driver to bring u to 9 temples n he happily drive u to the temples.

durkheimian

Previously, I went on exploration of Ayu; actually I lost my way, but got to where I wanted to go. While losing my way on bike, I discovered many beautiful sights and faces. So, I don't regretted losing my way. Below was what I spent.

Taxi to and from Hua Lamphong - B150
2 way train - B40 (+ B10 bought a bottle of water from little boy selling drink in the train)
Rent motorbike - B150
Petrol - B70 should be more than enough
Temple entrance - B100 maximum. Not all require entrance fees

Natas is right by saying that if you booked from hotel, you will save effort of planning route and also travel in comfort of a taxi. But is B1800 per taxi, not per head right?

d3n

It is only 1500-1800thb to rent a taxi for whole day to n fro Ayuthaya. U can go any temples or location n back to BKK hotel doorstep. I doubt u will save much by taking public n tuk tuk around Ayuthya esp a few of u going. It saves all the planning, bargaining. Just tell the driver to bring u to 9 temples n he happily drive u to the temples.

cycle lah. :s13: can exercise at the same time.

i can spend a fraction of this amount then use it for shopping and massage. =:p

durkheimian

cycle lah. :s13: can exercise at the same time.

i can spend a fraction of this amount then use it for shopping and massage. =:p

you idea very good leh.. then can go do full body massage for 2 hours. then after that go and hoot some good food. thats a perfect itinerary

d3n

you idea very good leh.. then can go do full body massage for 2 hours. then after that go and hoot some good food. thats a perfect itinerary

i prefer to cycle. cos if u take cab, u may missed out some things (especially those who going on a photography trip like me). :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.