Bangkok help...

flowerpalms

Hi everybody, good morning!

I am back with an update on the area and hotel i am booking.

Area: Pratunam
Hotel: Novotel Platinum Pratunam
Options chosen for hotel select:
- 4 nights
-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation
-No prepayment - pay in hotel

(If you have suggestion for a 4 star hotel that is comparable to Novotel here, please suggest me and i will take a look)

Before you all say me indecisive between Pratunam and Sukhumvit, i even went on once to consider Old City. But no.

I did a cost comparison of my Air ticket and Novotel's price with Anywhr.co (a local startup which plans your trip for you) which at the very first i wanted to book with them.

This is what Anywhr offers me:
Cost: $944
Package includes
-A 5d4n Getaway
- Destination X in Southeast Asia (they only mail you travelogue 1 week before you depart, you won't know where you go)
- Return air tickets for Budget airlines
- A non-luxury hotel ( 3 or 4 star is not mentioned / no breakfast)
- A travelogue
- Basic insurance
- $30 in the country's currency

Cost comparison to my Thai Airway Tickets and Novotel Platinum Pratunam hotel
Thai Airways Return tickets; $300 (including tax and charges)
Hotel cost covering the below: $722 (including tax and charges / base on current price in Agoda/Booking.com)
- A standard double room, sleeps max 1 for me as solo
-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation
Total cost: $1022

$1022 - $944 = $78

Thank you all very much!

ApeTruelove

- 4 nights
-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation

(If you have suggestion for a 4 star hotel that is comparable to Novotel here, please suggest me and i will take a look)

Before you all say me indecisive between Pratunam and Sukhumvit, i even went on once to consider Old City. But no.

I did a cost comparison of my Air ticket and Novotel's price with Anywhr.co (a local startup which plans your trip for you) which at the very first i wanted to book with them.

Package includes
-A 5d4n Getaway
- Destination X in Southeast Asia (they only mail you travelogue 1 week before you depart, you won't know where you go)
- A travelogue
- Basic insurance

Hotel cost covering the below: $722 (including tax and charges / base on current price in Agoda/Booking.com)
-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation

$1022 - $944 = $78

Thank you all very much!

are you kidding? first want save money now go for more expensive hotel....

hwaa

your 4 nights in novotel platinum can easily stay 5* in amari watergate just opposite and still got balance left for a good meal and massage.

suggest u book your own flights. its only less than 2hrs and you don't really need a full fledge flight unless there's promo.

paying 900+ for a 4 nights bangkok trip is abit insane...

Andrew833

- 4 nights
-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation

Package includes
-A 5d4n Getaway
- A travelogue
- Basic insurance

-4 star
-Include breakfast
-Free cancellation

$1022 - $944 = $78

Thank you all very much!

I don't know about Anywhr.co, it's better to ask around before confirm booking or check reviews.
Rem budget airlines vs thai airway, budget - check in luggage, inflight food need to pay.
- Basic insurance - too simple you may be have problem to claim when needed.
- $30 in the country's currency - Sgd or thai baht?
Many ppl here prefer DIY, since air ticket already book, you may have problem with cancelation and booking hotel is very simple, just check reviews and photos.

End of the day, it's still you that make the decision.

hwaa

seems like she prefer those packaged deals, or even package tours so she don't need to crack her head so much.

perhaps first time visit to bangkok is abit tricky lah, just need to visit a few more times and she will get used to it.

Andrew833

seems like she prefer those packaged deals, or even package tours so she don't need to crack her head so much.

perhaps first time visit to bangkok is abit tricky lah, just need to visit a few more times and she will get used to it.

Yea, first time is more troublesome. Too many things to know and too many recommend to choose.
Let give her some times to decide.

@flowerpalms, just don't bother with MRT first, BTS can cover most of your journey.

flowerpalms

I don't know about Anywhr.co, it's better to ask around before confirm booking or check reviews.
Rem budget airlines vs thai airway, budget - check in luggage, inflight food need to pay.
- Basic insurance - too simple you may be have problem to claim when needed.
- $30 in the country's currency - Sgd or thai baht?
Many ppl here prefer DIY, since air ticket already book, you may have problem with cancelation and booking hotel is very simple, just check reviews and photos.

End of the day, it's still you that make the decision.

nope. they will give you $30 in the currency of the country you are going to. not thai baht. will only know the SEA destination 1 week before you fly...that's the purpose for anywhr

flowerpalms

Yea, first time is more troublesome. Too many things to know and too many recommend to choose.
Let give her some times to decide.

@flowerpalms, just don't bother with MRT first, BTS can cover most of your journey.

i want to stay pratunam, but pratunam hotel ex. you can guide me mah?

hwaa

i want to stay pratunam, but pratunam hotel ex. you can guide me mah?

many pple guided u liao mah.

ok pratunam. u go agoda and search their price.

glow pratunam
centerpoint petchaburi
lemontea hotel
amari watergate
spenza
citin pratunam

all these pretty decent.

but i suggest u consider amari watergate and glow hotel over novotel platinum.

the location is just across the road.

Beno777

This is an interesting thread as can see there are many alternatives here. me happened to 路过。。。。

:D:D:D

flowerpalms

many pple guided u liao mah.

ok pratunam. u go agoda and search their price.

glow pratunam
centerpoint petchaburi
lemontea hotel
amari watergate
spenza
citin pratunam

all these pretty decent.

but i suggest u consider amari watergate and glow hotel over novotel platinum.

the location is just across the road.

have draw down to 2
-Spenza
-Glow pratunam

checked price in Agoda
+free breakfast ONLY

NO free cancellation and NO pay at hotel

Spenza total for 4 nights is $310.92
Glow is $525.88

Andrew833

have draw down to 2
-Spenza
-Glow pratunam

checked price in Agoda
+free breakfast ONLY

Glow is $525.88

Centre Point Pratunam $87 per day, good deal from hotels.com secret price. But your date should be higher due to peak season.
PS don't just use Agoda to check, hotels.com, booking.com, are very good too. Take note, agoda mostly pay at hotel.

dede1217

Centre Point Pratunam $87 per day, good deal from hotels.com secret price. But your date should be higher due to peak season.
PS don't just use Agoda to check, hotels.com, booking.com, are very good too. Take note, agoda mostly pay at hotel.

stayed at the hotel before, not bad ... big room and comfortable ...

hwaa

have draw down to 2
-Spenza
-Glow pratunam

checked price in Agoda
+free breakfast ONLY

Glow is $525.88

ok down to this 2 will be easier.

price difference as u can see u can save quite abit. so its whether u think the convenience is worth it anot.

glow is along the main road of pratunam/phetchaburi, just one overhead bridge from platinum mall. convenience wise its much better. hotel is very popular as due to the location. decent room size, comfortable, mostly sinkies and msians, not loaded with tiongs and cecas, no scary ghost stories also.

if u are a first timer i suggest u take glow. when u are abit more experienced then u can go abit into the alleys hotels which is more cheaper like spenza, lemontea, centerpoint etc..

Andrew833

have draw down to 2
-Spenza
-Glow pratunam

checked price in Agoda
+free breakfast ONLY

Glow is $525.88

Bangkok Venice Suite, good reviews and location also not bad. Don't have to cross the road to BTS station.

flowerpalms

FINAL VERDICT: i booked and paid for Spenza Pratunam hotel. It cost me $310.92 for 4 nights (inclusive of breakfast and wifi) - modern deluxe city room
and i am not going to change it anymore
The link is here:
https://www.agoda.com/spenza-hotel/...880b6c721f&travellerType=0&ssri=0&tabbed=true

Why i didnt choose Glow?
Comparing the price for Glow $525.88, i think its on the high side
Spenza - per night $77 (include breakfast)
Glow - per night $131 (include breakfast)

Some further questions:
1. Someone mention in earlier post that Agoda mostly is pay at hotel?
But in my booking to Agoda, i entered my debit card details and they send me email with the hotel confirmation saying Book and paid - $310.92
But Agoda didn't prompt me the security pin for payment. So is it charged to my card already?

2. Regarding the hotel deposit, how much should i prepare? Baht 1000?

3. Budget issue:
Since my air ticket is $300
And this hotel cost me $310.92
So considering a budget of $1000, i am left with SGD $389.08
For lunch, dinner and expenses eg. ticket to attractions, transport.
My initial budget for air ticket and hotel is actually $500, but in this case due to quite high price lah, my air ticket and hotel budget exceed by about $100.
So it seems like i need to increase my budget from $1000 to $1200.
Is SGD $500 for expenses lunch, dinner eg. ticket to attractions, transport. minimal shopping buying some tshirt, local food,souvenirs enough?

turtlezhu

1. Agoda was never a booking site that you book and pay at hotel till recent year. It has always been immediate payment upon booking. So you have a choice to pay immediate or payment upon arrival at hotel. Which I personally still choose immediate payment.

2. Incidentals deposit depends on hotel to hotel on the amount to deposit. But you can always tell them that you wanna make payment for the room and any incidentals will pay cash direct.

3. I suggest you have a Budget of $500SGD for spending on food / transport / shopping.

FINAL VERDICT: i booked and paid for Spenza Pratunam hotel. It cost me $310.92 for 4 nights (inclusive of breakfast and wifi) - modern deluxe city room

Why i didnt choose Glow?
Spenza - per night $77
Glow - per night $131

Some further questions:
But in my booking to Agoda, i entered my debit card details and they send me email with the hotel confirmation saying Book and paid - $310.92
But Agoda didn't prompt me the security pin for payment. So is it charged to my card already?

3. Budget issue:
My initial budget for air ticket and hotel is actually $500, but in this case due to quite high price lah, my air ticket and hotel budget exceed by about $100.
Is SGD $500 for expenses lunch, dinner eg. ticket to attractions, transport. minimal shopping buying some tshirt, local food,souvenirs enough?

flowerpalms

1. Agoda was never a booking site that you book and pay at hotel till recent year. It has always been immediate payment upon booking. So you have a choice to pay immediate or payment upon arrival at hotel. Which I personally still choose immediate payment.

2. Incidentals deposit depends on hotel to hotel on the amount to deposit. But you can always tell them that you wanna make payment for the room and any incidentals will pay cash direct.

3. I suggest you have a Budget of $500SGD for spending on food / transport / shopping.

1. Mine was immediate payment as the rate is cheaper.

2. Regarding the deposit fee, i have to pay upon check in. Many years ago when i went to beijing with my parents, the hotel charge us a very high sum for the deposit and if we paid it, we wont have any RNB left! As it was the first time i know about this deposit, all along i thought the charges only pay when check out. Luckily, they allowed us to pay in SGD and we had a few hundred dollars to pay. I was so worried. Thats why when i went to HK after that, i personally emailed the hotel to aak abt the deposit so i can prepare in advance.

3. How are the grab charges like? If we flag down taxi instead of calling grab, there is metered taxi right and we wont get scam by touts

Andrew833

The link is here:
https://www.agoda.com/spenza-hotel/...880b6c721f&travellerType=0&ssri=0&tabbed=true

Why i didnt choose Glow?
Spenza - per night $77
Glow - per night $131

Some further questions:

3. Budget issue:

Good that you make your choice. Basically, S$100 per day is more than enough so $1100 is enough. Most expensive part is attraction ticket. You can bring extra cash in sgd, change when needed, that's what I always do.

You can list down the attraction you want to go, example:
Day 1 arrive at what time, place to go
Day 2 Grand palace, wat pho and Chinatown, evening night market
Day 3 …….

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.