Basic Medishield, good enough for you?

Lewis.T

dont know y govt dont operate a not-for-profit insurance arm to do the ISP. keep premium lower.

also, how come ISP premium dont function like car insurance, increase premium of those who consumed and decrease the premium for those who didnt use it, like NCD.

isnt above a better way to deter over-consumption? over-consumption just leads to higher medical cost, higher insurance premium. no benefit at all for us consumer.

The government can't/won't even do that for our mandatory Medishield Life, where they have all the stats of people who will be insured in Singapore as well as overseas.

I don't think it is realistic to expect them to launch an opt-in and non-profit insurance scheme that covers above and beyond Medishield Life.

As for why they do not do it as per vehicle insurance, where those who have claims pay higher premiums, I do not think it is feasible. Here is why I think so.

Integrated shield plans work on a reimbursement basis, it will defeat the purpose of risk pooling if I have no conditions upon signing up but do end up paying more premiums because of a claim I made. What if the claim was small? How much should it increase? What if it's large? Should it now become unaffordable for me?

People under integrated shield plans already have such a 'feature', whereby those who have pre-existing illnesses are excluded from that specific cover or are unable to purchase a shield plan entirely.

Vehicle insurance increases premiums, ISP excludes coverage.

Side note:

On the topic of insurers not honoring claims, as long as it is not excluded in the benefit illustration, we actually do have incentive to honor payments. Reputation. Nobody would buy insurance ISP or other plans from a company that has a bad name.

antonpoh

dont know y govt dont operate a not-for-profit insurance arm to do the ISP. keep premium lower.

also, how come ISP premium dont function like car insurance, increase premium of those who consumed and decrease the premium for those who didnt use it, like NCD.

isnt above a better way to deter over-consumption? over-consumption just leads to higher medical cost, higher insurance premium. no benefit at all for us consumer.

Guess you forgot, gahmen provide "Up to 80% Subsidy" based on our assessed eligibility. The chart below is from the hospital, not done by me.

BD01DDEE-A5F0-4AA1-93D3-B46DC1D39FD1_zpskkqmd6hq.jpg

Carnage

I don't know about other hospital but SGH's C & B ward do have aircon. Thanks to the haze from indonesia, most wards are aircon by now.

Is TTSH B2 ward air conditioned? 8 years ago it was not.

I know for KK, B2 (or B1?) is air conditioned already.

RoLanTo

Guess you forgot, gahmen provide "Up to 80% Subsidy" based on our assessed eligibility. The chart below is from the hospital, not done by me.

BD01DDEE-A5F0-4AA1-93D3-B46DC1D39FD1_zpskkqmd6hq.jpg

the upto 80% subsidy is applicable for folks who opt for ward C right?
anyway, thats not my point. if looking at your image.. i am referring the light grey part (upto 530 from medishield life/ISP)..

i am asking y govt dun set up an insurance arm to provide the optional "ISP" level of coverage. :(

RoLanTo

can explain why not realistic from your view? i dont know the detail, i just speak from layman point of view.

in simplest way of thinking, govt just need to setup a new group that works on plans that are almost 100% same as what the ISP are offering, stop ISP from being sold by private insurance companies.. this way they will be able to amass the whole group of people instead of existing setup whereby every insurance companies have pockets of clients..

----

"Integrated shield plans work on a reimbursement basis, it will defeat the purpose of risk pooling if I have no conditions upon signing up but do end up paying more premiums because of a claim I made. What if the claim was small? How much should it increase? What if it's large? Should it now become unaffordable for me?"

you raise a good question that i am interested as well. how the current car insurance determine the increment amount when i make a claim? can this formula portable to ISP? cannot? y?

ISP in the first place is optional.. if based on past claims experiences already result you to have high premium, why not u just stick to medishield life only? why still use ISP and result in everyone premium get increase due to high claims dispersed?

The government can't/won't even do that for our mandatory Medishield Life, where they have all the stats of people who will be insured in Singapore as well as overseas.

I don't think it is realistic to expect them to launch an opt-in and non-profit insurance scheme that covers above and beyond Medishield Life.

As for why they do not do it as per vehicle insurance, where those who have claims pay higher premiums, I do not think it is feasible. Here is why I think so.

Integrated shield plans work on a reimbursement basis, it will defeat the purpose of risk pooling if I have no conditions upon signing up but do end up paying more premiums because of a claim I made. What if the claim was small? How much should it increase? What if it's large? Should it now become unaffordable for me?

People under integrated shield plans already have such a 'feature', whereby those who have pre-existing illnesses are excluded from that specific cover or are unable to purchase a shield plan entirely.

Vehicle insurance increases premiums, ISP excludes coverage.

Side note:

On the topic of insurers not honoring claims, as long as it is not excluded in the benefit illustration, we actually do have incentive to honor payments. Reputation. Nobody would buy insurance ISP or other plans from a company that has a bad name.

windwaver

Side note:

Hi Lewis, how much do you know about the qualifications for those processing claims in the back end? What do you call them?

From my knowledge, those people do not necessary have the proper certifications to do their job. Bad claim experiences can be attributed to that.

Lewis.T

Hi Lewis, how much do you know about the qualifications for those processing claims in the back end? What do you call them?

From my knowledge, those people do not necessary have the proper certifications to do their job. Bad claim experiences can be attributed to that.

Pre-requisites:

Degree holder of biology & life sciences discipline
Strong command of the English language (spoken and written)
1 to 2 years of experience as a Life & Health claims assessor
Familiarity with human anatomy, general diseases and disease management

We just call them claims department, not sure if that's what you're asking.

Lewis.T

can explain why not realistic from your view? i dont know the detail, i just speak from layman point of view.

in simplest way of thinking, govt just need to setup a new group that works on plans that are almost 100% same as what the ISP are offering, stop ISP from being sold by private insurance companies.. this way they will be able to amass the whole group of people instead of existing setup whereby every insurance companies have pockets of clients..

----

"Integrated shield plans work on a reimbursement basis, it will defeat the purpose of risk pooling if I have no conditions upon signing up but do end up paying more premiums because of a claim I made. What if the claim was small? How much should it increase? What if it's large? Should it now become unaffordable for me?"

you raise a good question that i am interested as well. how the current car insurance determine the increment amount when i make a claim? can this formula portable to ISP? cannot? y?

ISP in the first place is optional.. if based on past claims experiences already result you to have high premium, why not u just stick to medishield life only? why still use ISP and result in everyone premium get increase due to high claims dispersed?

I'm not exactly sure about the exacts of vehicle insurance as Pru doesn't sell general insurance. Maybe someone else can elaborate on how they determine the increase in premiums?

ISP premiums are fixed for the year, people with higher risk do not pay higher premiums, they may get excluded from certain coverage. Whether you are healthy and insurable or unhealthy but still insurable you pay the same premiums.

The government is unlikely to set up something along the lines of ISP, they are there to offer you basic coverage. Not everybody can afford or wants to pay for an ISP. Not everybody would be happy with that decision too, we have CPF Life as an example.

antonpoh

Is TTSH B2 ward air conditioned? 8 years ago it was not.

I know for KK, B2 (or B1?) is air conditioned already.

8 years ago indonesia haze still no so bad. After that time PSI hit 300 most hospital all fully aircon le.

Anyone stay TTSH B2 this year can share. I don't work there so don't know.

antonpoh

the upto 80% subsidy is applicable for folks who opt for ward C right?
anyway, thats not my point. if looking at your image.. i am referring the light grey part (upto 530 from medishield life/ISP)..

i am asking y govt dun set up an insurance arm to provide the optional "ISP" level of coverage. :(

If gahmen go set up an insurance arm, then NTUC, AXA, AIA, Aviva, Great Eastern and Prudential all close shop and leave sg. You know how many people are going to be unemployed?

Anyway gahmen already have an insurance arm call Medishit Life.

vince123123

If that is the case, why do we regularly see posts in this forum about the problems that customers are facing in trying to get their claims paid out within a reasonable timeframe?

Even in a clear-cut case, the insurer takes weeks to pay out. Few months of bank or investment interest over a large hospital bill is a lot of money. Those with cash-flow issues will have it even worse.

Side note:

vince123123

Are these the same people who decide whether or not a claim falls within the policy? Or are they dealt with by those with medical qualifications rather than just familiarity.

Pre-requisites:

Degree holder of biology & life sciences discipline
Strong command of the English language (spoken and written)
1 to 2 years of experience as a Life & Health claims assessor
Familiarity with human anatomy, general diseases and disease management

We just call them claims department, not sure if that's what you're asking.

akwl88

If that is the case, why do we regularly see posts in this forum about the problems that customers are facing in trying to get their claims paid out within a reasonable timeframe?

Even in a clear-cut case, the insurer takes weeks to pay out. Few months of bank or investment interest over a large hospital bill is a lot of money. Those with cash-flow issues will have it even worse.

from personal exp, those policies with link to govt like IP and DPS, payout very fast

those claims for death, tpd or ci, can wait months to get payout

Lewis.T

Hi vince123123, if you look at the claims return rate from MOH website, most claims are done extremely quickly. The issue you are experiencing is when outliers complain, it may seem there is a lot of them, but they are the minority.

The people who've had their claims successfully within a reasonable time frame don't come here and say hey my claims got done! Thank you!

Lewis.T

Are these the same people who decide whether or not a claim falls within the policy? Or are they dealt with by those with medical qualifications rather than just familiarity.

That's the pre-requisites to apply as a claims personnel (for Pru at least), but their job is basically to see if the doc's report matches the criteria for the claim.

parkson

IMO medishield life is definitely not enough. Especially when you are at a young age where private plans are so affordable at $30 per month for full coverage insurance might as well get. If next time older premiums increase then go ahead and cancel.

xiao.xin

For those looking at govt link insurance coy, I believe ntuc would fall into the picture. They're not for-profit coy and that's why their policy are usually priced cheaper.

Also for those that are looking for cash rider on medishield life, ntuc does provide it. But that is subjected to your personal financial status.

I think whether is good enough or not is very subjective esp when there are non-tangible aspects such as comfort and treatment coming into place. But I do believe medishield life is a good safety net for Singaporean.

Those with claims issues, I think 100++ dollars, the company usually wouldn't go and investigate further one unless they suspect fraudulent claim. For GE wise it is also common for consultation fee to be waived ( around $50-70) when a hospitalisation claim is being made.

Sent from BlackBerry STH100-2 using GAGT

Lewis.T

For those looking at govt link insurance coy, I believe ntuc would fall into the picture. They're not for-profit coy and that's why their policy are usually priced cheaper.

Also for those that are looking for cash rider on medishield life, ntuc does provide it. But that is subjected to your personal financial status.

I think whether is good enough or not is very subjective esp when there are non-tangible aspects such as comfort and treatment coming into place. But I do believe medishield life is a good safety net for Singaporean.

Those with claims issues, I think 100++ dollars, the company usually wouldn't go and investigate further one unless they suspect fraudulent claim. For GE wise it is also common for consultation fee to be waived ( around $50-70) when a hospitalisation claim is being made.

Sent from BlackBerry STH100-2 using GAGT

Where did you hear NTUC was not-for-profit?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.