Biennial PC Upgrading

ZrE0_Cha0s

hmmm, based on you all replies here..seems like all other component can be kept and continue to use.

so will just wait for black friday and hoot 1080.

get 1080 now? or wait a few more years for volta?

anyway, thanks alot all! HWZ is always reliable =:p=:p

well we all dun want to waste your and our time so to make it simple just hoot GTX 1080.

if u want to get volta...do u intend to stick with current graphic settings or going minimal? since u already have your 1440p @144hz den u have to consider getting a upgrade to maximize your monitor capability.

Kalikway

hmmm, based on you all replies here..seems like all other component can be kept and continue to use.

depend your 'itch' level, wait until wan to die then see doc or carry out preventive measure based on your budget.

zephyr11

as everyone else mentioned, a 1070 PLUS A good AIR CPU cooler, been wanting to try out cryorig, I think they are up to something great. should take a look at their R1 or U1, GFX + cooler well within your 1k budget.

you could maybe add some peripherals too?

new kb, mouse and mouse pad or something like that, that will make everything feel newer, for sure.

Byfrost

Hi Bros & Gurus,

Black Friday event is around the corner and I would like to upgrade my existing PC to prepare for next gen game :s12::s12:

Requirement:
1) Constant 60fps or more for current AAA games in 1440p resolution
2) No overheating (facing this issue regularly now) as live in non-air condition room
3) System to gel nicely without any parts restraining other pc parts performance
4) No overclocking. No idea how to overclock
5) Budget to be around 1.5k? lesser better

hmm...so far thats it for now...

Thanks in advance!! :s12::s12:

Maybe you should upgrade to asus x99 rampage edition 10. With i7 6950x

Thread Starter has a budget. No need to be so extreme and recommend him the highest end of the line. Might as well say include SLI Titan X (Pascal), 128GB Corsair Dominator RAM and 2TB of PCI Express SSD. :s8:

Besides, benchmarks has shown that for gaming wise the highest end one should go would be 6700K as 6950X has (close to) equal performance with 6700K.

Byfrost

It depends on what you want lor.

If you want real stable 60fps on 1440p, GTX1080 is the way to go. GTX1070 for 1440p is possible, but as others said some titles like Witcher 3 need to tone down the graphics a bit.

End of the day, the GTX 1070 is a "value for money" option while the GTX1080 is a "luxury" option.

jq75

cool man, u do upgrade biennial? i only do if mine can't meet my needs or spoilt.:D

CrispyPeddler

well we all dun want to waste your and our time so to make it simple just hoot GTX 1080.

if u want to get volta...do u intend to stick with current graphic settings or going minimal? since u already have your 1440p @144hz den u have to consider getting a upgrade to maximize your monitor capability.

It depends on what you want lor.

If you want real stable 60fps on 1440p, GTX1080 is the way to go. GTX1070 for 1440p is possible, but as others said some titles like Witcher 3 need to tone down the graphics a bit.

End of the day, the GTX 1070 is a "value for money" option while the GTX1080 is a "luxury" option.

hmm, would probably go for 1080 if the deal is good on black friday.

after learning about fps counter few years back, everytime the number went down 60, you will just get this uneasy feeling...:(

CrispyPeddler

as everyone else mentioned, a 1070 PLUS A good AIR CPU cooler, been wanting to try out cryorig, I think they are up to something great. should take a look at their R1 or U1, GFX + cooler well within your 1k budget.

you could maybe add some peripherals too?

new kb, mouse and mouse pad or something like that, that will make everything feel newer, for sure.

have razer blackwidow and logitech g502..still in great condition. so doesnt intend to change that. :s12:

CrispyPeddler

cool man, u do upgrade biennial? i only do if mine can't meet my needs or spoilt.:D

not necessarily biennial..but just 2 years, gpu itself have huge jump in performance...so, 2 years would be a great upgrade for it =:p

Byfrost

hmm, would probably go for 1080 if the deal is good on black friday.

after learning about fps counter few years back, everytime the number went down 60, you will just get this uneasy feeling...:(

LOL. I know that feeling.

Become a habit to turn on fps counter in games, sometimes with intensive scenes like lots of smoke and explosion, will purposely go stare at the counter and see fps will drop or not.:o

If maintain at 60fps, feels good. If drop, feel sian. :s13:

mero_cwj

Cryorig C1 you need to use low profile RAM. better print out the template and check if it fits before buying.

Easiest solution is to get an AIO liquid cooler, but your case also got limited radiator mounting points.

mero_cwj

Thread Starter has a budget. No need to be so extreme and recommend him the highest end of the line. Might as well say include SLI Titan X (Pascal), 128GB Corsair Dominator RAM and 2TB of PCI Express SSD. :s8:

Besides, benchmarks has shown that for gaming wise the highest end one should go would be 6700K as 6950X has (close to) equal performance with 6700K.

6600 or 6600k has the best price point for gaming performance IMO... After that it's the law of diminishing returns.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.