BOC SmartSaver

lazybee

This is a near-perfect replacement for ocbc360. Once jumped ship no need spend 500 in OCBC liao

Actually, BOC smartsaver is a replacement for UOB one over ocbc360.

If you spend 0 in CC
60K: ocbc - 1.75% (credit salary)

If you can only spend 500,
60K : take BOC - 3.55% (credit salary)
60K+60K: take BOC - 2.55% , ocbc - 1.75% (credit salary)

Unless you can spend 1K, UOB one can then be considered over ocbc. For my case, I had both BOC and ocbc360.

Allen_C_Sharp

It's on their website, go and search properly. I remember clicking on the link from smartsaver page. Something like $20 + 1/8 % of the amount, similar to other bank. Only their RMB remittance is currently free.

Mind share the link? Thx
This is the link I find but can't find the $20+ u mentioned: http://www.bankofchina.com/sg/pbservice/pb3/201001/t20100120_955827.html

lazybee

UOB1 is a magic card :)

Any clue? It is kinda restricted as compared to BOC's shop card. Must be 500 exactly for 3 mth.

Unless you spend 500 on BOC card and also 500 on UOB CC.

For me, I only spend 500 each month. I can always use some prepaid cards to "convert" retail into online spend.

Jazzbie

Actually, BOC smartsaver is a replacement for UOB one over ocbc360.

If you spend 0 in CC
60K: ocbc - 1.75% (credit salary)

If you can only spend 500,
60K : take BOC - 3.55% (credit salary)
60K+60K: take BOC - 2.55% , ocbc - 1.75% (credit salary)

Unless you can spend 1K, UOB one can then be considered over ocbc. For my case, I had both BOC and ocbc360.

Isn't BOC Smartsaver better than OCBC 360 for $0 CC spend? And hence the replacement for OCBC 360 since their CC now sucks.

BOC Smartsaver - 2% (credit salary + 3 bills payment)

Do correct me if I'm wrong.

lazybee

Isn't BOC Smartsaver better than OCBC 360 for $0 CC spend? And hence the replacement for OCBC 360 since their CC now sucks.

BOC Smartsaver - 2% (credit salary + 3 bills payment)

Do correct me if I'm wrong.

Yah. Correct. An oversight. LOL. Due to the 0.4% base. 1 + 0.6 + 0.4 = 2%. Unless you can somehow use the ocbc360 with incremental bonus(2.75%) + scb esaver promotion.

BOC+ ocbc seems to be a better choice than BOC+uob1.

Allen_C_Sharp

Yah. Correct. An oversight. LOL. Due to the 0.4% base. 1 + 0.6 + 0.4 = 2%. Unless you can somehow use the ocbc360 with incremental bonus(2.75%) + scb esaver promotion.

Ya, considering ocbc incremental bonus 1%, UOB should be the last option unless u have 50k parked in it for maximum 2.43%.

hwmook

Mind share the link? Thx
This is the link I find but can't find the $20+ u mentioned: http://www.bankofchina.com/sg/pbservice/pb3/201001/t20100120_955827.html

http://www.bankofchina.com/sg/bocinfo/bi4/201001/t20100126_955879.html

Download the pricing guide, they have promotion for RMB Deposits and remittance currently though.

OngHuatHuat

Good. Is it advisable to put some Rmb deposit now?
Will set up account soon but always very busy.

There is no administration fees for currency exchange. and also for depositing RMB cash until end of the year. I am already at the branch when the lady told me so just convert SGD50 on the spot. Exchange rate is same as XE rate, the best you can get at money changer is 0.5% more which is 25c in my case. Not worth the effort lah.

Allen_C_Sharp

http://www.bankofchina.com/sg/bocinfo/bi4/201001/t20100126_955879.html

Download the pricing guide, they have promotion for RMB Deposits and remittance currently though.

Thanks, found it on page 2:

Outward Remittances
Telegraphic Transfer & Demand Draft*
Debit from SGD Account 0.125% (Subject to a minimum charge of S$10
or a maximum charge of S$100)

This is 3x higher than DBS if remit 25k, probably will not use this account for remittance.

Besides, cash withdraw and balance inquiry seems expensive in China:

- MasterCard
2% of withdrawal amount per transaction
(minimum charge is S$5 and the maximum
charge is S$60.)

- Enquiry of account balance via UnionPay’s
overseas ATM network RMB 4 / S$0.80 per transaction

How about oversea ATM5 withdraw, is it free?

SCG8866T

Funny i use BOC to pay $5 bill to my UoB One card, UOB shows that its from AXS station lol

zoossh

Ya, considering ocbc incremental bonus 1%, UOB should be the last option unless u have 50k parked in it for maximum 2.43%.

there are differing criteria, so cant say which is definitely better than others.

best for online buy: boc (3.55%) + shop card (6% *500)
best for miscellaneous buy: uob1 (2.42% + 3.3% *500)
best for salary without cc: ocbc 360 (2.25% every 2 out of 3mth)
next best for salary, no cc: boc (2% every mth)

i am currently still on 360 + singpost cc + uob1 cc, cos i really hate the boc experience. boc so big a bank cant even get a proper internet banking meh? so many hackers there but when come to proper uses, no real talent is really weird. they are even lousier than anz. if they give a decent internet banking, then that is really a good deal.

other than shop card, is there any good cards from boc that uses visa/mc like uob1 that can be used on online and offline buys?

SCG8866T

Nice my "salary" entered BOC as IBG-Sala. I also paid 3 five lollar bill payment, now waiting for my credit cards to come...

A good storage place to get risk free 177.50 lollar every month till the market tanks..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.