BOC SmartSaver

piyozz

sorry, i know this has been asked before but i just cant find the post, can anyone confirm if making bill payment to BOC credit card counts as 1 bill payment? TIA

wealth_farmer

Hi everyone

Just opened my BOC SmartSaver account and thought I'd share the process for those of you who are thinking about it.

Frankly, I'm feeling a little shaky about the whole thing. I'm not sure if these guys know what they are doing.

1.) Bad start to my experience. Straight off the bat, the counter lady opened the wrong account for me. Talk about a bad first impression! They caught the mistake and closed off the wrong account immediately and showed me a piece of computer print out that doesn't look official to tell me, "Look, we cancelled it." I asked for a photocopy of the account closing form but they said they cannot because it's an internal doc.

2.) Internet banking is truly horrendous! Have to install this program that's a .exe file called SaftControll just so that you can enter your password on the webpage! Literally a WTF moment for me as I don't know if what I'm installing is secure. I mean, which other bank does that. Also, page fails to load properly even for login, and after some googling, realised Google Chrome would work so I deviated from my normal Firefox use. Prior to this experience I thought CIMB internet banking was a joke, now I find this one is about on par or slightly worse (cos having to install that software just so I can enter my password really cheeses me off).

3.) Internet banking interface is riddled with spelling errors, very unprofessional. Just a really buggy feeling overall.

4.) BOC SmartSaver is not actually a type of bank account. You are supposed to have a Multi-Currency Savings (MCS) account. And here is where I have a question for others who have this account alread: What is reflected on your internet banking? For me, I see that my account type is "Passbook Savings". Is that what you see on your internet banking screen as well? Or do you see something else? Please advise as I want to make sure they did open the right type of account for me.

Anyway, feeling very iffy about the whole thing. Not sure the extra interest is worth this feeling of insecurity.

frustrateddude

Except for point 1, the majority of smartsaver account holders here had survived the ordeals that u had described.

wealth_farmer

Yes, I can see one needs a sense of humour to have this bank account. Just checking with you, your account shows up as Passbook Savings as well on your internet banking?

Except for point 1, the majority of smartsaver account holders here had survived the ordeals that u had described.

chuanz

Wait till he tries to use mobile banking and find out that need to enable it first with a possibly different username, and that need to bring cc to counter to link so that can see transactions in ibanking... teeheehee... :D:D:D

Yachtmaster

I don't have a sense of humor and I'm reaping $100+ from this boc account monthly since it started. I simply don't whine.

Yes, I can see one needs a sense of humour to have this bank account. Just checking with you, your account shows up as Passbook Savings as well on your internet banking?

chopra

Ok got it. So I opened today, CC coming in 1 week time. As long as I fulfill the 3 criteria before 31st March, I will get the bonus interest before 15 Apr right?

When does the BOC Family Card rebate come in? Scared they come in before month end then if I spend $500 zhun zhun will kena less than that.
Spend zhun zhun 500 can liao. Rebate is not discounted. Example if ur 09 march 2017 rebate is $10, u do not need to spend $510 in mar 2017. Jus need to spend $500.

Wait till he tries to use mobile banking and find out that need to enable it first with a possibly different username, and that need to bring cc to counter to link so that can see transactions in ibanking... teeheehee... :D:D:D
Skip this la. Need mobile for what. :)

Tormented Soul

Eh? Am I missing something? I downloaded the mobile banking, then just click link my account and I can already see the transactions in ibanking. Or am I doing it wrong?

Also, the online ibanking never prompt me to install any software leh? Just login with etoken then can use everything already.

The spelling error doesn't bother me at the slightest. With regards to your point 4 wealth, you never read BOC webpage ah? Its a MCS account. Esaver is the term for your bonus. Point 1 hor, I also felt their service a bit backwards. It's not a bad thing, their bank just not very modern LOL. Feels like an old school bank with old school service.

Iceman 82

Possible to set SMS alert below $100 for BOC SmartSaver account (My understanding is the minimum possible threshold for SMS alert is $100)?

Would be great if can set for all deduction transactions.

hyperbole

Possible to set SMS alert below $100 for BOC SmartSaver account (My understanding is the minimum possible threshold for SMS alert is $100)?

I went to the branch to do it. Threshold set at $1

Trazora

Debit card min $1 for sms alert, credit card min $100 for sms alert

Iceman 82

Debit card min $1 for sms alert, credit card min $100 for sms alert

"Debit card min $1 for sms alert"

If I set SMS alert online under "Debit Card Services", will there be SMS alert for GIRO deduction?

Thanks

Tormented Soul

For Starhub Mobile, Insurance, other CC Bills and Singtel Mio TV, do you all use the Bill Payment function in their Ibanking or sign up Giro from the company side?

Possible for recurring payment in BOC?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.