BOC SmartSaver

pcmdan

is this BOC account better than OCBC 360?
if I spend the same amount for giro,credit card,bills?
not happy with OCBC customer service on my credit card late charges waive. and wanted to close all the cards and accounts with them. if BOC is good then I will transfer all funds to them and also credited salary to them instead of OCBC.

Boc is way better if u can hit all the required conditions to get 3.55%. to get this...salary need above 7.2k..spent 1.5k on credit card..the 3 bills payments are ez

But u have to accept the following
1. Lousy bank interface
2. Lousy customer service
3. Lousy over the phone services
4. Slower reaction time
5. ATM machines not that many

shpesft

Salary should be above 6k and not 7.2k

Boc is way better if u can hit all the required conditions to get 3.55%. to get this...salary need above 7.2k..spent 1.5k on credit card..the 3 bills payments are ez

1. Lousy bank interface
4. Slower reaction time

weiming41

Thanks alot :)

The $500 spend is combined from both main and Supp card. So can just use the Supp card for all BOC CC transactions. Only additional condition is for the “Others” category, it must be a minimal $200 spend per month (which can be part of the $500 monthly spend).

All the rebate eligible transactions are combined into the main card so Supp card spends have the same rebate amounts except for the extra 2% for “Others” transactions.

Jupiter2017

Sorry if this is off-topic, but I can't seem to find any info here or on the BOC site itself.
With regard to the MCS account which the SmartSaver feature is pegged to, the website says it "is a statement-based consolidated account covering both local currency and nine foreign currencies".
Anyone knows which are the 9 foreign currencies?
I wish to deposit some USD into the account. Does it remain as USD or will it be converted to SGD? Any advice from the experienced folks here would be greatly appreciated :)

searched this thread and googled over the web, also cannot find which are the 9 foreign currencies, the info from the bank webpage really pathetic

Refer to exchange rate link (but, it list 10 currencies):
http://www.bankofchina.com/sg/bocinfo/bi3/201002/t20100207_961730.html

pcmdan

Salary should be above 6k and not 7.2k

Actually is 7.2k, becuz of cpf deduction of 20% on 6k salary is 1.2k.
Take home pay would be 6k.
$6000.00 ~$7199.00salary will not be sufficient.
Excluding other age tier contribution.

hahaha Yeah....i know because I did not receive the extra % when my pay was less than 7.2k previously lol

shpesft

Ah. Didn’t consider this part.

Actually is 7.2k, becuz of cpf deduction of 20% on 6k salary is 1.2k.
Take home pay would be 6k.
$6000.00 ~$7199.00salary will not be sufficient.
Excluding other age tier contribution.

compro_1975

1. Lousy bank interface
4. Slower reaction time

ya lor, and the 1st log in is killer plus the time taken to open the acc was killer too...

only_lonely

1. Lousy bank interface
4. Slower reaction time

so far I am happy with boc customer service as I can speak good Mandarin.
got the ibanking and cards long time ago and the interface quite ok la. simple functionality.
but I did not really use it as I stick to ocbc360 and spending the cc.
since OCBC does not want to entertain loyalty customer then I better jump to the bank who keen to offer me the same or better benefits.
I got posb acct to backup for urgent cash needs as the ATM is much easier to locate.
BOC I will just keep for salary deposits , cc spends to earn interest.

compro_1975

sian.... the spending to pay other banks does not count to 1500 spending... i got nothing to spend on boc... if only they have fuel partnership.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.