Both applicants are students

tanjhj

Hi thanks for ur guidance.. I will email cpf today.. Hmm but we have no choice as we are currently not eligible for hdb loan.. But if the method of topping up my cpf works, i should be able to get the hdb loan and AHG i suppose? Worse come to worse, i think i may need to fall back on bank loan..

Yes try with CPF top up as you have legit income thou didn't declare. Worst to worst your relative may need to write a letter to proof or your income. However it will not harm them as they may even get to set aside or salary as expenses for tax deduction.

Ahg is free money, go get it. Bank loan is the last option. Run believe what the ppl are posting in forums abt bank loan n bulls hits. Most are just after comm n can gif many reasons to do so, as a ex banker, I can assure you HDB loan is better option unless you can get fixed interest rates for five yes to ten yes and you intend to CLR all loan in that period. Or or hole is rejected or not qualify.

Else follow my method take hle loan which is max twice per lifetime. Do ad hoc top up n CLR loan asap unless you can invest n get higher returns than the interest than 2.6%.

Some bankers even say bank loan you can set aside the CPF amt n no need CLR the CPF in one shot. I tell them **** you. I can buy bonds fund with the amt I wish to set aside before loan got wiped out by HDB. N return the funds back after HDB had deducted the balance.

Bank loan are good only if you can get fixed loan interest over 5 yes n intend to CLR them within that period.

elnino889

hi there, got a question to clarify, im currently studying and 1 year to go before graduating, and my bf is currently working full time, is it possible to re-adjust the HLE loan once i start working? because the loan they grant us is insufficient and we have to fork out 300k cash!

charel_ong

hi there, got a question to clarify, im currently studying and 1 year to go before graduating, and my bf is currently working full time, is it possible to re-adjust the HLE loan once i start working? because the loan they grant us is insufficient and we have to fork out 300k cash!

How much is ur HLE? If im not wrong max is only 30k or 40k ..

elnino889

Opps sorry, i meant AHG.. How come HLE so little when ur house is 500k? I thought they will loan u 90%?

Oh because one is studying full time while the other is working full time.. So they based on one person income.. Wonder if they can re access the financial income of Both of us to get a higher loan before we get the flat?

Yes, there will be a second reassessment of the financial status of both parties before key collection...

tanjhj

Yes, there will be a second reassessment of the financial status of both parties before key collection...

wow the couples nowadays all asking for bankrupcy? all wack so much debts and ex property. when just starting to work. no offence but it will definately be very risky, consider the economy and divorce rate in modern singapore is so erratic.

tanjhj

Hi thanks for ur guidance.. I will email cpf today.. Hmm but we have no choice as we are currently not eligible for hdb loan.. But if the method of topping up my cpf works, i should be able to get the hdb loan and AHG i suppose? Worse come to worse, i think i may need to fall back on bank loan..

HDB loan not important to have it now, the key is the loan just before you collect the key. dun apply for hdb loan nopw for you have no need to get any loan approved for your flat now. it is a misconception for flat applier that they need loan approved to get their flat.

The answer is no! you just need to have sufficient cash in hand for the deposit and tax for flat selection. the important date to get ur loan approved is just before your flat collection down the route hence dun be too hasty to take bank loan now. go for hdb loan just before your key collection. i believe both would be working and shld have no problem with the hle approval. if u apply bank loan now, u cant switch back and apply hle for this flat again.

fyi my hle is only 12k and i got my bto flat selection completed just last month. i assume you are aiming for bto and not resale.

goenitz33

Yes try with CPF top up as you have legit income thou didn't declare. Worst to worst your relative may need to write a letter to proof or your income. However it will not harm them as they may even get to set aside or salary as expenses for tax deduction.

Ahg is free money, go get it. Bank loan is the last option. Run believe what the ppl are posting in forums abt bank loan n bulls hits. Most are just after comm n can gif many reasons to do so, as a ex banker, I can assure you HDB loan is better option unless you can get fixed interest rates for five yes to ten yes and you intend to CLR all loan in that period. Or or hole is rejected or not qualify.

Else follow my method take hle loan which is max twice per lifetime. Do ad hoc top up n CLR loan asap unless you can invest n get higher returns than the interest than 2.6%.

Some bankers even say bank loan you can set aside the CPF amt n no need CLR the CPF in one shot. I tell them **** you. I can buy bonds fund with the amt I wish to set aside before loan got wiped out by HDB. N return the funds back after HDB had deducted the balance.

Bank loan are good only if you can get fixed loan interest over 5 yes n intend to CLR them within that period.

Or by 5th year ppl will definitely sell off.

Low interest rates have been here for a while and will continue to stay as long as the inflation rates are high.

Which noone believes that inflation rates will fall in the next 1-2 years.

i actually have friends (first timer) who took up Bank Loan to take advantage of the low interest.

That being said, not that this wont work, but it will work however you need to monitor it and make the best use of the savings and grow it. To combat whatever potential interest increase in the future, thus this is not for everyone, esp those lazy ones :s13:

goenitz33

HDB loan not important to have it now, the key is the loan just before you collect the key. dun apply for hdb loan nopw for you have no need to get any loan approved for your flat now. it is a misconception for flat applier that they need loan approved to get their flat.

The answer is no! you just need to have sufficient cash in hand for the deposit and tax for flat selection. the important date to get ur loan approved is just before your flat collection down the route hence dun be too hasty to take bank loan now. go for hdb loan just before your key collection. i believe both would be working and shld have no problem with the hle approval. if u apply bank loan now, u cant switch back and apply hle for this flat again.

fyi my hle is only 12k and i got my bto flat selection completed just last month. i assume you are aiming for bto and not resale.

Yup the Option to Purchase / 5% Deposit (since you are students) are more important now.

this initial HLE thingy is just an Assessment, important thing for HLE is when comes Key collection. The Second Assessment is the one that you should be ready.

For my case my HLE is only half of my first assessment because my partner didnt work when it comes to the second assessment. (just to say, not that it affected me since my flat not that exp :s13:)

charel_ong

Ahh i see.. Thats why i was thinking hdb cant be so anal about not giving HLE when declare no income upon application.. But yet they want to see the loan (either hle or bank) be ready when signing the lease ... If during selection i applied HLE, but failed how? Can i still wait for us to start working and apply HLE again?

Myst90

Ahh i see.. Thats why i was thinking hdb cant be so anal about not giving HLE when declare no income upon application.. But yet they want to see the loan (either hle or bank) be ready when signing the lease ... If during selection i applied HLE, but failed how? Can i still wait for us to start working and apply HLE again?

During the signing of agreement of lease they just want to see that u are eligible for a loan, they dont really matter about the loan amount, til the second reassessment when they will request for another loan documents to make sure that u have the sufficient loan amount.. for 1st assessment if u fail hle u might want to call them and ask? It would be more accurate that way.. haha.. just my 2 cents.. ;)

wow the couples nowadays all asking for bankrupcy? all wack so much debts and ex property. when just starting to work. no offence but it will definately be very risky, consider the economy and divorce rate in modern singapore is so erratic.

eh, hence my previous post? which, if im not wrong, u begged to differ? :S

I have to agree on this. No offence but am actually quite appalled by applicants who are not financially stable but yet went ahead to apply for houses even though BTOs do take some time to build. And apparently, BTOs are just like lego building blocks and they take around 2 1/2 to 3 years to complete. You will have to create some grace period or 'back up plans' sufficient to cater to the earlier completion/possession date.

IMHO, the AHG grant is one of the pulling factors to 'force' young couples to commit at such a young age. No doubt you will be eligible for higher grant but if you are not financially stable yet, especially when your CPF is very low and have difficulty to cover the first 10% or even 5% of the downpayment (staggered scheme), I suggest not to apply for any houses for the time being.

Well, unless if you are talking about having rich parents or you or your partner come from well-off families and who have no problems footing the bills, then by all means.

But don't jump into it just because of impulsiveness.

Emotions aside, practicality first. ;)

Even for myself, both bf and I have been working for 1 yr plus, we are still kinda worried about the $$$ but we do have sufficient for the 5% downpayment, but our AHG grant is prolly only gonna be around 5k - not alot actually.

Plus, do note of the legal fees and stamp fees which CANNOT be paid by the AHG grant. We chose the highest level, so you can imagine how much the stamp fees are, which are actually a percentage of the purchase price. So logically, the higher the level, the higher the purchase price and higher the stamp fees.

Yes also if you are gonna opt for the OCS package. Bf and I did opt for both packages which would add on to the purchase price as well.

And yes, your projected salary is only a rough estimation and is not 100% accurate. Not to scare you but there fresh graduates from local unis who have a difficult time finding jobs or they are always being offered jobs with low pay, sales-commission based such as insurance, job recruiters other other hard sales like credit cards etc. Commission based jobs do not offer a stable income and fluctuates periodically. Furthermore, the basic salary will be quite low and some do not even offer basic salary! For starters especially, don't expect to draw high salaries. You need to start somewhere, expanding connections etc.

Don't worry day and night over having not to meet at least the bare min financially in getting a house, it's not worth it and might sometimes ruin relationships too.

If you are really financially unstable for the time being, consider rejecting the flat (you will have to forfeit your option fees and 1 yr debarment - which I don't think will affect you much since it would be less probable for u to apply within this 1 yr period). Unless you have other alternatives such as paying the downpayment in cash, or have sufficient cpf savings (which I doubt so? Unless u have the cash the top it up as u mentioned) or taking a bank loan (someone has to be a guarantor if you are not credible enough for a loan since there is no income for both parties), if not, I would say to forgo it.

P.S. : Don't forget about other monetary issues such as ROM, customary weddings and furniture...

Just my 2 cents and sorry for nagging... :o

valancefairy

I tot we need to hv a valid hle if loan fr hdb / letter of offer if loan fr bank during the signing of agreement for lease and during the collection of keys is reassessment of hle again? Wasn't this the steps when applying for bto flats?
Pls correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks!

Myst90

I tot we need to hv a valid hle if loan fr hdb / letter of offer if loan fr bank during the signing of agreement for lease and during the collection of keys is reassessment of hle again? Wasn't this the steps when applying for bto flats?
Pls correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks!

Yes. U r right.. at both the signing of agreement of lease and the collection of keys event, u will be required to have a valid HLE if u are taking a loan from hdb , or a letter of offer if u are taking a bank loan from the bank. However, during the signing of agreement it would just be assess if u are eligible or either one of the loan, at this point of time, the loan amount does not matter, however u will need to have sufficient money either in ur OA or in cash or through AHG to pay for the downpayment and also the stamp and legal fee (5% if u r eligible for SDS, or 10%). At the collection of key, the loan amount will then be taken into consideration, at that point of time, both of your income would be increased and therefore u could do a reassessment to get a new loan amount based on ur new household income. Pardon me for my bad english. Hope this helps..
For more info on the steps in bto process, u can refer to:
www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatApplyHDB?OpenDocument
For more info on the downpayment and etc, here are some links that u may find useful:
www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatSDSFlatLevies?OpenDocument
www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatCostsInvolved?OpenDocument#TOC63017_1

lzjlee

There seems to be some confusion n alot of debate on whether a valid hle/loo from bank is required during the signing of lease. From wad I understand, Myst90 is right. I think he has given a very clear n detailed explanation on the requirements n points to note. ie during the signing of lease, it is a must to be eligible for a loan from hdb/bank though the loan amt is of no significance. However, it is best to write/call hdb to clarify as they r the best person to provide the most accurate info. U can also hold them accountable should they give the wrong info.

lzjlee

Oh ya. Forgot that there is another option. If one can pay the full purchase price of the flat with the necessary proof n evidence, then it doesn't matter whether he is eligible for a loan or not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.