BREAKING Speaker Tan Chuan-Jin and Cheng Li Hui have resigned as MPs and from the PAP.

If you TCJ what will you do

• Total voters

Duncallmebro

Hot mic might not be the underlying reason
I appreciate your admission that you have fallen short in the matter of your personal conduct, and understand your desire to step away from politics and help heal your family. I have spoken to you previously on this. You admitted that what you did was wrong and offered to resign. I accepted, with your resignation to take place after I had made arrangements to continue to take care of the residents in Marine Parade GRC and your own Kembangan-Chai Chee ward.

As for your recent remarks in Parliament, you have apologised both publicly and to the Member of Parliament (MP) concerned, and the MP has accepted your apology. But your uttering them as Speaker in the Chair made this a more serious matter.

Yah, the second para 'as for your recent remarks' seemed to suggest that the first para is for something else that occurred earlier

A Better Tomorrow

Being speaker is like lim bei give u last chance before u tio kicked out of your iron bowl. Be bias while being smart also cannot then no use to them already. Such a simple job also cannot do properly.
Not simple when peers are ahead of ya in political career.

Geminiboy

You read carefully

Both cases are related. Why TCJ drag family in and say family need to heal??
Yes. Clue in the statement:

this recent episode has added to the hurt I have caused
my family. I have let them down. We have spoken about my personal conduct
before. There are areas where I have fallen short. I need to take responsibility for
them, and help heal my family.

Key words: added and before

3sth3r

TCJ korkor deserves my respect. stepped down after committing the sheet. if he comes back again stronger i will vote for him
Joker. He commit adultery, PAP like willing to overlook for both until forking populist that probably pinky bth liao and ask him to step down. You see CLH resignation letter, got feel the buay songness? :s13:

What respect for TCJ? puiz

Laguna123

Pinky ask CLH to resign but didn’t give explanation sure ppl curious and go dig further mah.

Philipkee

If related I think CPIB would have named her as one of those assisting with investigations. It may still be the case if they are going to announce it soon.

:(
Maybe they want to announce as ex MP so that is why resignation is immediate. Or maybe don’t announce cos can safely say no other MP was involved.

:(

yperic

Minister Iswaran shall be the next to resign liao.

MegatonNev

i doubt so, she is just MP not any office holder, most likely to do with her personal conduct

but still possible... like business relationship with related parties, insider information, etc...
there's a lot of possibilities....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.