Bto owners. Can we replace drywall with concrete wall by ourselves

Wolfaro

Should be ok. Just need PE approval for hacking usually.

u got check the cost.

Wolfaro

By the way i just moved to Tengah 5 room, my master bedroom and 2nd bedroom came with concrete wall. The 3rd bedroom sharing the same wall as living room i hacked off so can not verify

Unclemun

Why replace? Just add a layer to improve the soundproofing. As long as the “walls” are not structural, can remove. The HDB drawing shows the structural elements as black, IIRC.

cyke69sg

Drywall is plasterboard leh… really meh? Which part of the unit uses it? Just one heavy kick can break through… hard to imagine which area is suitable for this…
SG got use gypsium drywall?

Thought SG all concrete.

North America homes use drywall.

Tabula Rasa

By the way i just moved to Tengah 5 room, my master bedroom and 2nd bedroom came with concrete wall. The 3rd bedroom sharing the same wall as living room i hacked off so can not verify

Good to know! There was a time when people were complaining of some BTOs having non structural walls made of drywall.

cyke69sg

Some years back got ppl complain some of their walls were made of drywall.
My walls are ALL made of drywall.

Ok lah. Is soft. Use something hard and shapr hit it will leave a mark. Must be careful when moving furniture go up and down staircase.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.