Bto owners. Can we replace drywall with concrete wall by ourselves

waiken

so basically can remove drywall but cannot even install cinder block wall?

melankholy

Having drywall with kids is a nightmare. Constant screaming at them not to bash the wall or running after them while they shoot around the house on their tricycles. Any single impact to the drywall leaves a **** ton of damage.

jumpthepig

Can

Dry wall is plasterboard with rockwool inside. Concrete walls, actually is just walls made of bricks. They are more solid compared to drywall.

This usually dont need PE. PE is mostly when they have a lintel (or hdb call it hanger). Most probably will need at service kitchen to service yard wall.

Technically, drywall have higher stc value compared to brickwall. Drywall have a stc value of 38 if i rmb correctly (100mm detail with 60kg/m3 rockwool)
But must understand, that testing at a approved testing center is a controlled environment. Do 101% then can get stc 38, if on site, sure only 90% thats why u can hear other piak piak sound.

Toilet and perimeter of whole house is still mostly erected using brickwalls. I know of some 2000s bto PBU is not brickwall. But if not wrong they tarik back.l, because i now see all is brickwall.

Im a HDBRC, hope that helps !

Had used Rockwool before….I find Rockwool 90kg/m3(higher density, heavier and more effective) is better than 60kg/m3..

https://rti.rockwool.com/siteassets...al--commercial-building/rti-thermalrock-s.pdf

A Better Tomorrow

it make sense to giv gypsium drywall for BTO... becoz peasants want to cosplay big open space so they hack walls... better to giv gypsium drywall if sinkies going to hack.... easier and save money.......
Might as well dont install and save costs in the 1st place or make it optional.

Which group/s are going to benefit from these 'install and then break' renovation works?

Wolfaro

BTO drywall can take load up certain weight for each point.

sure can hang normal stuff like wall mount tv. My new reno built a room with partition wall with rock wool also can mount 7ft top hung cabinet. Drywall or partition also got support frame inside.

Having drywall with kids is a nightmare. Constant screaming at them not to bash the wall or running after them while they shoot around the house on their tricycles. Any single impact to the drywall leaves a **** ton of damage.
Last time concrete wall, want bash, bash loh... the kids baluku become physically stronger also

Now all like strawberries

BTO drywall can take load up certain weight for each point.

sure can hang normal stuff like wall mount tv. My new reno built a room with partition wall with rock wool also can mount 7ft top hung cabinet. Drywall or partition also got support frame inside.

TV depends on size

Igene

Newer BTO mostly drywall I believe. One between the hall and the bed room beside it, and between the master bed room and the room beside in. Tiagong cater for people who wanna hack it open and get bigger hall/MBR.

As one said, MBR pika pika cannot too loud lor... :censored:

Eost002

Zhun bo? Serious allegations leh. I thought all hdb is made of concrete? Only diff is load bearing or not?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.