Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

AUTUMN&WINTER

《无量寿经》与《阿弥陀经》都是净土宗的重要经典,但侧重点不同:《无量寿经》更详尽地阐述了阿弥陀佛的“四十八愿”及其成就极乐世界的因缘,并包含详细的极乐世界庄严描写。 《阿弥陀经》则侧重于描绘极乐世界的殊胜庄严,并简述了往生的条件和念佛法门。

《无量寿经》
核心内容: 詳細敘述阿彌陀佛的四十八大願,及其如何依願建立極樂世界。

特色: 詳細描繪極樂世界的莊嚴美好,並闡述了阿彌陀佛的悲心和功德。

侧重: 說明往生極樂世界的“因”——阿彌陀佛的本願和功德。

《阿弥陀经》
核心内容: 側重於描寫極樂世界的殊勝莊嚴。

特色: 簡潔地介紹了極樂世界的種種美好,以及往生極樂世界的修行方法。

侧重: 強調往生極樂世界的“果”——極樂世界的美好景象。

总结

《无量寿经》: 是基础,它详细说明了极乐世界的建立缘由,即阿弥陀佛的宏大本愿。

《阿弥陀经》: 是补充,它更侧重于描绘极乐世界的庄严美好,让信众对极乐世界产生向往。

两者共同构成了净土宗重要的“三经一论”之一,共同指导信众修行往生净土的法门。

Honestly if reading 无量寿经,alot wun be able to reach 上品上生。
上品上生 is mainly for ordained Venerables. Lay Buddhists who ever observed the 8 precepts can attain 中品中生. The grades are not judged by anyone. It's just like karma, cause and effect.

sheamus

Elder Monk Mengcan

When our clothes get dirty, we wash them, and they become clean again. The meaning of repentance is just like this.

Everyone should take note: as a Buddhist, you must not slander. The teachings spoken by the Buddha—if you believe in one teaching but slander another, this is destroying the Dharma. For example, if I am expounding or reciting sutras and say that chanting the Buddha’s name is not good, I am slandering the practice of chanting, which is slandering the Dharma. If I am a chanter of the Buddha’s name and say that those who recite or expound sutras are wrong, that is also slandering the Dharma. If I teach one sutra and claim another sutra is inferior, that is slandering the Dharma as well. If I have no affinity with a particular sutra, I should instead make offerings, pay respects, and seek to build a connection with it. We should strive to understand all the teachings and not slander the true Dharma. This requires special attention.

Nowadays, among our fellow practitioners, many are unaware of the consequences of slandering the Dharma and speak recklessly. Some may even say, “I am a disciple of this temple, and he is a disciple of that temple,” and conflicts arise between them. This does happen. There are even disputes between temples, let alone among lay practitioners. But you must understand that this is slandering the true Dharma, and the karmic consequences of slandering the Dharma are severe. Stirring discord among the monastic community or speaking ill of one temple to another is extremely dangerous—it falls under the five heinous crimes, specifically “disrupting the harmony of the Sangha.” Therefore, we should not casually criticize any sage, wise person, or temple leader. We have not yet reached their level of realization, and if we act this way, we are walking the path of unwholesome Dharma, not the path of wholesome Dharma.

I have been repenting for many years for this fault, yet I still feel my repentance is not complete. When I was young, I was like this too. I studied the Five Teachings and thought the Four Teachings were inferior. Later, I studied the Four Teachings and felt they were similar to the Five Teachings, but I hadn’t fully penetrated either. When I practiced chanting the Buddha’s name, I thought reciting “Amitabha” alone was enough. If everyone only chanted “Amitabha,” the entire Tripitaka and twelve divisions of the Buddhist canon would eventually be lost—who would study them? This is cutting off the Dharma, extinguishing the seed of the Dharma! I dare not speak like this anymore.

Those were the sins of my past, of which I committed many. I personally know to repent, and this is my experience, which I share with everyone. Slandering the Dharma may seem trivial—“I haven’t slandered the Dharma!”—but in reality, you may have done so many times, saying, “This teacher is good, that teacher is not.” Every teacher is good. As long as they wear the monk’s robe, they are a disciple of the Buddha. I praise them and regard them as wise or holy beings. Their personal karma is their own to bear and has nothing to do with me—I don’t carry their karma for them.

The Sutra of the Ten Wheels specifically addresses this issue. It states that no matter how much a disciple breaks the precepts or commits offenses, the king is not permitted to punish them—this is the Buddha’s teaching. Even if they are flawed, as long as they wear even a piece of the monk’s robe—not even a full robe—ghosts and spirits see it and receive benefit. Humans may not believe this, but ghosts and spirits do, as they have spiritual insight and understand the consequences. Humans, in their ignorance, do not understand these consequences and speak recklessly.

Everyone must pay special attention, especially regarding temples, monastics, disciples of the Three Jewels, and even among fellow practitioners. “Monks praising monks leads to the flourishing of the Buddha’s teachings”—this is the meaning.

As disciples of the Buddha, we always uphold Shakyamuni Buddha and protect all sentient beings, ensuring that future beings are free from suffering. We must act in this way. In the past, I was unaware and made many mistakes. Now that I know better, I will not repeat them. But what about the wrongs I committed before? Repent to the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, especially to Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva, and it will be resolved. The Sutra of the Ten Wheels specifically teaches about repentance.

The meaning of performing repentance ceremonies is to wash away our past sins. Just as we wash dirty clothes to make them clean, repentance works the same way. If I did something wrong in the past, I change my ways and resolve not to do it again. Through repentance, your past negative karma is lightened. If you understand the method of repentance, you have a way forward. Having a sense of shame is your treasure.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

is 阿弥陀经 the shorter version of 无量寿经? it is a 经 by itself?

阿弥陀经
(to add on)
Buddha tell followers that they should make vow/wish to be reborn in Western Pureland if they believe in OMTF/Buddha.
舍利弗。若有人已发愿、今发愿、当发愿,欲生阿弥陀佛国者,是诸人等,皆得不退转于阿耨多罗三藐三菩提,于彼国土,若已生、若今生、若当生。是故舍利弗,诸善男子、善女人,若有信者,应当发愿,生彼国土。

A standalone sutra on it's own. Can see the introduction, the place for the sutra are different anyway. Why say it's a smaller version...

http://www.fosss.net/Sutra/Qianshi/hyjJingKong/Pages/0981.html

末法时期我们要明了宇宙人生的真相,《华严》就是说的这个。末法时期的成就,唯一的一个目标、方向,就是导归极乐,所以《华严》跟净土的关系非常密切。清朝初年彭际清居士说,《华严经》就是大本的《无量寿经》,换句话说,是《无量寿经》的细说!《无量寿经》即是中本《华严》,《阿弥陀经》是小本《华严》。

OpenDoorSeeMountain

joining prayers are great but its also important to do it on one own for those thats suitable for own practice.
the books normally have some smaller prints/skipped portion by devotees as most are either covered by wei nuo shi or under visualised. but following fahui, one might not know of that n skipped those area.

repentance shld be follow/understand the words and visualise and to repent.

but i think the shixiong focus might be on english style... so ......

I saw your reply on 忏主 and so on.... I think it won't be easy to get it the first time around, so I ask him to learn from 净界法师. I also don't know how to write in a way that is easy to understand... so watch the video and learn.

As for going to temples.... JUST DO IT ! I have a friend who knew about me joining practice, ask and ask about the place, the people. No matter how I explain, the next time ask, I know he doesn't get it. THen when he knew I go another place, ask again, and expect me to do compare and contrast ! Been doing that for months and yet never, attended one himself...

I won't expect him to clear his karma on his first visit lah... we all still learning and clearing our karma. So just pick one and go. Then another... do compare and contrast himself. Then he decides what is best for him.

As for English. I don't know if people do those 88 Buddha repentance in English. I think English would be Theravada ? I did ask in the other forum before, if the Theravada breaks a precept, how to repent in Singapore, if I remember correct... I think no, then don't. Theravada people, correct if wrong.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

No. You really go chanting. Anyway, to me even if it's a lie, it's a white lie which harm no one.

Oh... white lies break the precept, even if there is nobody harmed. In the first place, who decides what is white or not-white, right ? So the definition of white lies is subjective and cannot be used a reason for deciding whether there is harm or not.

5 precepts: 妄語

心口相違,言不稱實,欺誑他人,名曰妄語。亦攝惡口(罵詈)兩舌(離間語)綺語(華美浮詞,無義利語)

If it does not fall into this 开缘

大妄語開緣有三:
一、增上慢人。
二、若說果位不言自證。
三、若戲笑說,謊說。

小妄語開緣:為救護眾生劇苦及性命,或為佛法而自無惡心。
綺語開緣有二:
一、為止息他人悲傷、憂愁、惱怒故。
二、為攝護他人令信佛法故。

waterbright

Past Lives

The suttas list “jātakas,” or stories of previous births, as one of the genres that the Buddha used in teaching. The Vinaya and the four nikāyas contain only a handful of such stories. The fifth nikāya, however, contains a collection of many hundreds of jātaka verses, to which the Commentary has appended stories connecting the verses to specific events that it claims occurred in the previous lives of the Buddha or his major disciples. One of the prominent features of the Commentary’s stories is that they often cite actions in previous lives as causal explanations for events in the Buddha’s time, reflecting a rather simplistic view of kamma. And one of the major differences between these stories and the jātaka stories in the suttas and Vinaya is that the latter give Dhamma lessons of a more general sort and never try to explain events in the present as definitely resulting from particular actions in previous lifetimes. It’s from this latter source that the following stories are drawn.

“Once, monks, a certain brahman in Takkasilā had an ox named Nandivisāla. Then Nandivisāla said to the brahman, ‘Go, brahman, and make a bet for a thousand (gold pieces) with the moneylender: “My ox will draw one hundred carts tied to one another.”’

“So the brahman made a bet for a thousand with the moneylender: ‘My ox will draw one hundred carts tied to one another.’ Then, having tied one hundred carts to one another, having yoked Nandivisāla the ox, the brahman said, ‘Pull, you beast! Drag them, you beast!’ So Nandivisāla just stood right there.

“Then the brahman, having lost a thousand, was brooding. So Nandivisāla said to him, ‘Why, brahman, are you brooding?’

“‘Because, good sir, I lost a thousand because of you.’

“‘But why, brahman, did you disgrace me, who am not a beast, by calling me a beast? Go, brahman, and make a bet for two thousand with the moneylender: “My ox will drag one hundred carts tied to one another,” and don’t disgrace me, who am not a beast, by calling me a beast.’

“So the brahman made a bet for two thousand with the moneylender: ‘My ox will drag one hundred carts tied to one another.’ Then, having tied one hundred carts to one another, having yoked Nandivisāla the ox, the brahman said, ‘Pull, civilized one! Drag them, civilized one!’ And Nandivisāla drew the one hundred carts tied to one another.

Speak what’s appealing,

not what’s unappealing, ever.

For the one who spoke what was appealing,

he dragged the heavy load

and brought him wealth,

having abandoned his mood because of that.

“Even then, monks, abuse & insult were unappealing to me. So how much less would they be appealing now—abuse & insult?” — Pc 2

OpenDoorSeeMountain

Let's say this coming Tuesday I have to attend company's team bonding but I don't want to.

And my manager insisted those not attending have to give valid reasons. It's company policy that team bonding requires a certain percentage to be present in order to claim the money spent.

So, my reason for my manager is I want to attend chanting in a nearby temple.
But here's the thing... I don't attend that temple's weekly chanting either.
However, if let me choose team bonding or chanting, I rather go to the temple to listen to them chanting, and go home after that.

This coming Tuesday, after my colleagues go for team bonding. I'll walk to the temple to join their chanting, and I'll leave after the event.

Am I still lying? I did attend the temple's chanting after all.

Using 5 precepts to understand this. False speech is not determined by you making a commitment and then keeping/breaking that commitment. Nothing to do with this. False speech is what you say does not match what you think. If at that moment, you are thinking of not going and you say going, then false speech.

Let says, you really wanted to cheat your boss. You didn't intend to go and you lied. But later, you found that your colleague also gave the same excuse and is going. Now, you have no choice but to go. So does that mean you didn't lie ? Get the point ?

But in this case, I wonder what exactly are you thinking. I'm thinking you are plotting a scheme to excuse yourself. And saying you going to the temple to chant is your excuse. Is that false speech ?

I think your focus on false speech is already incorrect. You 8th consciousness does not record only false speech. It records everything. So when you are relief to think that you have not told a lie and break the precept, you might have committed a even more serious error in your complex chain of thought leading to the temple chanting. Alaya records everything !

The precepts is not there just stop you from doing certain things. The purpose of precept is... as you usually would have heard 戒定慧 - 因戒生定,因定開慧。。。 That's what you want, right ? 定 & 慧. Some people 持戒生烦恼, esp the newbies. The idea is that you practise until you can uphold the precept, 心清净,生定,開慧. eg false speech - you speak what comes to your mind - 心清净. You can tell, when you lie, there are "ripples" in your heart. Sometimes, you tell serious lies, you fear and your heart pounds... We should practise until we have nothing to hide, so that whatever we think, we can speak and our heart remains calm.

sheamus

Using 5 precepts to understand this. False speech is not determined by you making a commitment and then keeping/breaking that commitment. Nothing to do with this. False speech is what you say does not match what you think. If at that moment, you are thinking of not going and you say going, then false speech.

Let says, you really wanted to cheat your boss. You didn't intend to go and you lied. But later, you found that your colleague also gave the same excuse and is going. Now, you have no choice but to go. So does that mean you didn't lie ? Get the point ?

But in this case, I wonder what exactly are you thinking. I'm thinking you are plotting a scheme to excuse yourself. And saying you going to the temple to chant is your excuse. Is that false speech ?

I think your focus on false speech is already incorrect. You 8th consciousness does not record only false speech. It records everything. So when you are relief to think that you have not told a lie and break the precept, you might have committed a even more serious error in your complex chain of thought leading to the temple chanting. Alaya records everything !

The precepts is not there just stop you from doing certain things. The purpose of precept is... as you usually would have heard 戒定慧 - 因戒生定,因定開慧。。。 That's what you want, right ? 定 & 慧. Some people 持戒生烦恼, esp the newbies. The idea is that you practise until you can uphold the precept, 心清净,生定,開慧. eg false speech - you speak what comes to your mind - 心清净. You can tell, when you lie, there are "ripples" in your heart. Sometimes, you tell serious lies, you fear and your heart pounds... We should practise until we have nothing to hide, so that whatever we think, we can speak and our heart remains calm.
i still say small white lie or distortion but actually is cause not mindful

viethai

你內心有德,求什麼就有什麼

夢參老和尚

人們常常忽略心念,修養內德,如果你內里有德,不求名聞而自得名聞。

假使我們出家人有所求的話,那你就求佛,求地藏、文殊、普賢都行,虔誠供養禮拜,求什麼有什麼,乃至求成佛,佛菩薩會加持我們滿願的,所以應向內求不要向外求。

也不要去打知名度,即不求人知,知名度不是打的,也不是一打就有的。

像地藏菩薩在山裡修了那麼多年,拜《華嚴經》拜得石頭都踩了兩個腳印,幾十年沒下山,那是地藏菩薩化身,沒有求,居士自己送上來。

相反的我們有好多修行者,特別注重世間的名聞利養,心攀緣於外,隨居士轉,跟他說好話,這是不可以的,這是你有了世間名聞利養的心。

居士接近佛門找師父,是求解脫的。我們要用善法來攝受他,給他講怎樣修行,怎樣來恭敬三寶。

六度萬行佈施為首,勸他佈施,給他說佈施的好處功德,不是為了個人,而是為了供養三寶,建設三寶,勸他佈施積累福報。

如佛在世時有兩個大弟子乞食,迦葉尊者乞食時候專找貧苦的人去讓他們佈施供養,好給他們增福,不再受苦了。

舍利弗尊者就是找富有者,他想他今生所以富有,就是因為過去佈施的功德,如果失掉了以後就要受苦,所以他專找富人化緣。

尊者所行不為自己,而是利益他人的心,所以修行主要看你怎麼用心。

viethai

࿐地藏菩薩教授我們免遭一切的橫࿐

地藏菩薩教授我們免遭一切的橫,“橫”就是不順,“諸橫”像飛災橫禍,想不到的事也出來了,這叫橫。

怎麼樣能免呢?修。怎麼樣修?在菩薩像前先供養香、供養花,或者唱個偈贊,或勸人供養,或勸一人或多人,供養完要隨菩薩學。學些什麼呢?這部《地藏經》教授我們都是讓我們學。

你依照菩薩所學的去學,照菩薩所做的去做,有無量諸善神來日夜守護你,橫事自然就沒有了。不受惡趣、不受諸橫。但是這個非常之難,要使他順當了很不容易。

大家都讀過《藥師經》,《藥師經》中佛說有九種橫死,不該死的死了。戰場上一仗打下來,雙方面動員十幾萬、二十幾萬、三十幾萬,死這麼多人。第一次世界大戰死了一千多萬人,第二次世界大戰死了四、五千萬人,在長崎丟個原子彈死了十萬多人,這都是該死的嗎?這叫橫死,不順的死。

特別是最近武漢飛機失事,起飛沒有好久就掉到漢江去,飛機掉下來把船也砸翻了,連飛機帶船上死了好多人,這是說我們大陸的。在非洲、在美洲每天橫死的,如果統計起來不止十萬、百萬,每天都有如是,這叫橫。

為什麼災業這麼重?大家在寺院裡頭清淨的,眼不見心不煩,你到超級市場走一走,你看海鮮店裡賣海鮮,看看屠宰場殺牛,總覺世上劫難很重。怎麼不看具體的情況?古來人講“欲知世上刀兵劫,但聽屠門夜半聲”。

你知道這些橫,橫即是不順,不順當就是不按他的壽命而死。比如說你該活五十歲、六十歲,這一場發大水把你衝了,本來可以多活的,被水衝走了就沒有了,水災、火災,這是天然的自然災害,人身不能抗拒,這叫共業。就算諸佛菩薩慈悲加持也得有緣,也得跟他相通,沒緣你通不上。

今天有個道友問我:“老法師!不是經常聽您說,文殊菩薩接一千送八百,到一千里就把我們接來,走時送到八百里。我聽說山上也出車禍,那文殊菩薩沒接他們?沒送他們?”我說:“文殊菩薩去接他、送他,他不信,等於沒有。”

我問:“你信嗎?”他說:“我信。”“你看見文殊菩薩接你去了嗎?”他說:“沒看見。”“你怎麼信的呢?你信文殊菩薩今天你上山一定肯定去接你嗎?”他說:“我還沒有那麼信。”“沒那麼信,那就沒有,等你有了這個信心再說。”

四大名山也出搶劫,峨眉山、普陀山都出過,這些叫橫。這些所做的橫業不順,我們每人都有橫業,不順佛的教導、不順三寶的教導,當你的業果已經成了,護法神的神力、菩薩的願力護持不住你。什麼力量最大?業力最大。你要誠懇求、要相信,得你跟他有緣,才可以從橫轉到順。

如果是你心裡有懷疑,事先就有預兆。今天路上走順當不順當,乃至出門坐汽車是不是很順利?那很順利的非常巧,超過你的想象。

上回到我那裡住的法師回普陀山打電話說,他從來沒有這樣順當過,剛在五台山下來出去雇車的時候,大家爭啊,那也不算不順;上了汽車到太原,一下車到火車站,還有一張臥鋪票,他就買這一張,五點鐘吃完飯到火車站,趕上買剩下那張臥鋪票;一到上海下了火車,一打聽十六鋪正要開普陀山的船,他到那就上船了。他說就這麼巧,他到各地去從來沒有這麼順,這就叫順。

也不是全沒有障礙的。我們在日常生活當中,隨時都有橫事發生。為什麼不順?因為我們沒有祈求。我們每次要走的時候,最少要念一萬聲地藏聖號,光我念不行,跟著一起走的人都得念,他們沒有念,沒念護法神不理你了,為什麼不念?不保護你。看來是小事,大的問題也有。

在你的日常生活當中,如果按照菩薩所說的方法去做,將要臨行之前香花供養、贊嘆、禮拜,真正這樣誠誠懇懇去做,路途平平安安、順順當當。

— 夢參老和尚

viethai

࿐這五件事情,你單做一種,就不會生到貧賤的家庭࿐

同樣是人,為什麼有尊貴的人?又有下賤的人?是什麼原因使他就尊貴了?什麼原因令他就下賤了?有五種道路,令人走到下賤這一種的果報上。這五種的路:

一、驕慢。
談到這驕慢,對外面的人驕慢,這是一般人常有的;但這種的驕慢,是甚至於對於自己的父母也驕慢,不恭敬父母。

二、剛強。
不敬師長,對師長不恭敬,沒有一種誠敬的心。師長教化他,他也不聽,這是剛強眾生。

三、放逸。
就是不守規矩,不守規矩還不算呢,而且還不恭敬三寶,所以就去做下賤人。下賤是包括貧窮在裡頭,要是富有就不會下賤。因為他貧窮,所以就下賤了,因此常說貧窮下賤。

四、偷盜。
因為在前生歡喜偷東西,以偷東西作為他的生活。沒有錢了,他就去偷,或者偷人家錢財、偷人家珠寶,偷來就把它賣了。賣了,就可以夠維持一個時期的生活,可以什麼事情也不做,每天吃、喝、嫖、賭、抽。

吃,歡喜吃東西;喝,歡喜喝酒;嫖,就是找女人去;賭,是賭錢;抽,是抽大煙,就是抽鴉片煙,中國人叫大煙。偷了錢,他就不用做工;而這個錢用完了,再去偷;偷回來,就又不用做工了,就這樣以偷盜來維持他的生活。這是第四個令他貧窮下賤的因素。

五、負債。
就是向人家借錢,逃避不償還。做人啊,不要說多,就是一文錢也不能落到虛空,不能借了不還的。錢雖然是假的,可是你不能說,是假的就隨便亂用,可要用它來做真事,一點都不可以馬虎的。譬如說向人家借錢不還,你就逃到一邊去了,以為這是便宜事。這不是便宜事,你負債逃避不償還,等來生也就貧窮下賤了;因為你短人家的錢不還,自己將來就會受貧窮下賤的果報。

有以上這五種原因,受果報的時候,就會做下賤人,或者給人家做奴隸,或做婢使的人,很不自由的。也就是你這個身體給人做奴隸,你自己不能隨便作主,不能想到什麼地方去,就到什麼地方,想做什麼,就做什麼,你要聽主人的指揮。

貧賤有這五種因緣,尊貴也有幾種的因緣:

(一)要普遍做佈施,施惠普廣。惠,是恩惠,對任何人都佈施,都有一種慈悲心,很普遍地,廣大地對一切人慈悲。

(二)要恭敬父母師長。不能說父親生了我,我非常地仇恨他:“為什麼你要生我?真是混賬!”自己罵自己的父母。或者對自己的師父生出一種心:“你這個師父,讓我一點自由都沒有,什麼都要聽你的話,這個太不公平了!”對師父有種種不滿意。面對師父的時候又叩頭,又頂禮;背著師父就亂講起來了,這叫不恭敬父母師長。

這是不生尊貴家的一個理由,你看厲害不厲害!你不要管我這個師父好不好,你不能講的;你一講,就有罪過,將來你就不會出生在尊貴之家。前面講的是不恭敬父母師長,所以有貧賤的果報;這個就要恭敬父母師長,才能生尊貴家。

(三)要恭敬禮拜三寶。前面是不恭敬三寶,不禮拜三寶;這裡是要恭敬三寶,要禮拜三寶和一切的長者。

(四)要忍辱,沒有瞋恚,還要柔和謙下。誰罵你一頓,你要歡歡喜喜,一點煩惱都沒有,要忍耐;有人打你,更要修忍辱行,沒有瞋恚,不發脾氣。所以要得到好的果報,那都是不容易的。然後又要柔和謙下,對任何人都很和氣、很客氣。

(五)是博聞經律,多多聽經,多多聞法,多多學習戒律。

有這五種的原因,所以做尊貴人。尊貴人既有錢,又有勢力,但並不是說有錢有勢,這就好了,這都是宿世修來的。這五種尊貴的原因,要是單有一種,就不會生到貧窮下賤的家庭去;要是完全有這五種原因,那就更好。

所以為什麼有人就那麼好?那麼尊貴?這個富貴的人家,都是有德行,才能富貴;沒有德行的人,就貧窮下賤,這是因為毀謗三寶,才會這樣。

所以你要是生尊貴家,這都是有德行的人,是前生修來的,不是今生這麼簡單就得到這種的福報。這樣的人,也不須經歷三惡道──地獄、餓鬼、畜生的苦;因為他有上列五種原因,所以就可以直接投生到尊貴的家庭裡頭。

— 宣化上人 恭錄自《地藏菩薩本願經淺釋》

viethai

࿐看不見的福,正在因為你的行為增減࿐

——命運沈默,但從不偏私

有些人總覺得命運對自己不公,
自己也沒做壞事,為什麼總是不順?
其實很多時候,不是不順,
而是你悄悄折損了本該屬於你的福氣,而你自己卻全然不知。

#福報,#是看不見的存款。

它不會寫在賬本上,不會標在你臉上,
但它真實存在,並隨時在你一言一行中被“加”或“減”。

你每天的選擇,每一句話,每一個起心動念,
都在悄悄決定你未來的命運。

#當你做善事,#心地純良時,#福氣就在累積。

✔ 你幫助了一個人,卻從不炫耀,
✔ 你在他人背後守口如瓶,不搬弄是非,
✔ 你在親人面前克制脾氣,盡力孝順,
這些看似普通的行為,其實都在悄悄積福。

#但當你口出惡言,#貪婪算計時,#福氣也在默默流失。

✔ 你傷了別人,卻覺得“我說的是實話”;
✔ 你得了一點便宜,卻沒想過因果;
✔ 你對父母冷漠,認為他們“欠你”,
這些習以為常的惡念與行為,正是你自己在削減自己的福分。

#別以為沒人看見,#就等於沒後果。

天道最公平,它不會偏袒誰,但也絕不遺漏誰。

你做了什麼,它不會立刻獎賞或懲罰,
但它會記錄一切,然後——在你人生的關鍵節點里“兌現”。

所以,真正聰明的人,從不賭命,而是專心積福。

他們深知:

✨ 你對父母的態度,決定你人生的高度;
✨ 你待人的溫良,決定你未來的貴人緣;
✨ 你能否忍讓克己,決定你命中能裝多少福。

命,是一口福氣的“容器”。
容器裂了,福再多也會漏光。
容器補好了,哪怕現在很貧瘠,
福氣也終會一點一滴地重新積滿。

所以,從今天起,
請你謹言慎行,存好心、說好話、做好事、念好因果。

別問福報什麼時候來,
因為福氣一直都在——就在你的行為里起伏不定。

願你把福氣握在手中,而不是流於不覺中。

Laneige

《无量寿经》与《阿弥陀经》都是净土宗的重要经典,但侧重点不同:《无量寿经》更详尽地阐述了阿弥陀佛的“四十八愿”及其成就极乐世界的因缘,并包含详细的极乐世界庄严描写。 《阿弥陀经》则侧重于描绘极乐世界的殊胜庄严,并简述了往生的条件和念佛法门。

《无量寿经》
核心内容: 詳細敘述阿彌陀佛的四十八大願,及其如何依願建立極樂世界。

特色: 詳細描繪極樂世界的莊嚴美好,並闡述了阿彌陀佛的悲心和功德。

侧重: 說明往生極樂世界的“因”——阿彌陀佛的本願和功德。

《阿弥陀经》
核心内容: 側重於描寫極樂世界的殊勝莊嚴。

特色: 簡潔地介紹了極樂世界的種種美好,以及往生極樂世界的修行方法。

侧重: 強調往生極樂世界的“果”——極樂世界的美好景象。

总结

《无量寿经》: 是基础,它详细说明了极乐世界的建立缘由,即阿弥陀佛的宏大本愿。

《阿弥陀经》: 是补充,它更侧重于描绘极乐世界的庄严美好,让信众对极乐世界产生向往。

两者共同构成了净土宗重要的“三经一论”之一,共同指导信众修行往生净土的法门。

Honestly if reading 无量寿经,alot wun be able to reach 上品上生。
last time i heard sheng Yen shifu said, 上品 mostly for monks
normal ones is medium 上生 n beyond
*hopefully didnt interpret wrongly. pls correct etc if wrong.

then again, nowadays hui lv fashi, he changed the vow/wish, instead of 9品, he encourages students to use 上品 lian hua as parents....

Laneige

Let's say this coming Tuesday I have to attend company's team bonding but I don't want to.

And my manager insisted those not attending have to give valid reasons. It's company policy that team bonding requires a certain percentage to be present in order to claim the money spent.

So, my reason for my manager is I want to attend chanting in a nearby temple.
But here's the thing... I don't attend that temple's weekly chanting either.
However, if let me choose team bonding or chanting, I rather go to the temple to listen to them chanting, and go home after that.

This coming Tuesday, after my colleagues go for team bonding. I'll walk to the temple to join their chanting, and I'll leave after the event.

Am I still lying? I did attend the temple's chanting after all.
is there a lie?
i cant see leh.
u wanted to go attend the chanting
as long as u go, then its not lying
what has it got to do with attending weekly chanting or not? just say the truth of what u r thinking/going to do n then not lie ba. u can stay back at the temple until almost event over by volunteering etc.

Laneige

I saw your reply on 忏主 and so on.... I think it won't be easy to get it the first time around, so I ask him to learn from 净界法师. I also don't know how to write in a way that is easy to understand... so watch the video and learn.

As for going to temples.... JUST DO IT ! I have a friend who knew about me joining practice, ask and ask about the place, the people. No matter how I explain, the next time ask, I know he doesn't get it. THen when he knew I go another place, ask again, and expect me to do compare and contrast ! Been doing that for months and yet never, attended one himself...

I won't expect him to clear his karma on his first visit lah... we all still learning and clearing our karma. So just pick one and go. Then another... do compare and contrast himself. Then he decides what is best for him.

As for English. I don't know if people do those 88 Buddha repentance in English. I think English would be Theravada ? I did ask in the other forum before, if the Theravada breaks a precept, how to repent in Singapore, if I remember correct... I think no, then don't. Theravada people, correct if wrong.

maybe consider ask him along the next time u want to go to one.
but long scriptures one the speed might be too fast for beginners and some might go on one visit n then skip the others. some will press on n improve etc.

<Elder Monk Mengcan> sharing
my own interpretation , in additional to the sharing

but because my foundation is on chinese and not english, the words i used are confirmed not right/accurate ... can only try my best

Theres 2 parts to repentance
one is the one on our actions n such. this life and previous etc.

There's another part which is the core imo to repentance but without doing the first part for those quite hindered?, many might not be able to understand the 2nd part.

the 2nd part normally is covered that we repent for not knowing that our thoughts are 'upside down'. we dont know that we are like buddha, we already have what we have. self-sufficient. Yet, because of our senses, we created the judgement and such, created karma and ended up in this 'recycle' and worse, thinking what we are seeing now etc are the 'real' thing when its just temporary things, thats forever changing.

so imo, the 2nd part is to break our wrong concept of what we are / have always been in. it is because of this wrong thinking then we created the first part for us to repent. However, there's only so much of the 1st part that we can repent (but yet necessary for most ppl when starting up). .. because our journeys have been too long, 1st part too many liao. every secs or mins, we have the wrong thoughts/upside down thoughts...

liked the Di Zang Jing mentioned, we are liked fishes, swimming out of the net, and then soon after, swim into the net again and we are not aware of it.

Laneige

上品上生 is mainly for ordained Venerables. Lay Buddhists who ever observed the 8 precepts can attain 中品中生. The grades are not judged by anyone. It's just like karma, cause and effect.
but when i read guan jing, the way i interpreted it might have chance for "lay buddhist" but yet, not those standard lay ones... must be able to follow the requirements, the guan part and the 3 beliefs/"heart", the respect parents.teachers etc.... maybe i misinterpreted so need to self-read

---------------

i tried to search n found this

dambio

last time i heard sheng Yen shifu said, 上品 mostly for monks
normal ones is medium 上生 n beyond
*hopefully didnt interpret wrongly. pls correct etc if wrong.

then again, nowadays hui lv fashi, he changed the vow/wish, instead of 9品, he encourages students to use 上品 lian hua as parents....
It's correct. So ppl will get different messages from reading the 2 different scriptures.

letmeout

Add on to Shixiong's comment.

《观无量寿佛经》
佛告阿难及韦提希,上品上生者,若有众生,愿生彼国者,发三种心,即便往生。何等为三,一者至诚心,二者深心,三者回向发愿心。具三心者,必生彼国。复有三种众生,当得往生。何等为三,一者慈心不杀,具诸戒行。二者读诵大乘方等经典。三者修行六念,回向发愿,愿生彼国。具此功德,一日乃至七日,即得往生。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.