Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

AUTUMN&WINTER

last time i heard sheng Yen shifu said, 上品 mostly for monks
normal ones is medium 上生 n beyond
*hopefully didnt interpret wrongly. pls correct etc if wrong.

then again, nowadays hui lv fashi, he changed the vow/wish, instead of 9品, he encourages students to use 上品 lian hua as parents....
Hui Lv Fashi wants us to aim higher. I am happy as long as I can liberate from rebirth in 6 realms and attain rebirth in Pure Land regardless of the grades. 下品下生 is better than endless rebirth in 6 realms which are endless sufferings.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

i still say small white lie or distortion but actually is cause not mindful

If I remember correct... I stand corrected on this, cause I cannot find the paragraphs that says this online now.
If I remember correct, shifu did say that after telling a lie, you can confess to the lie and that would help your karma. So it's not mindful, then just admit that it was a lie.
Personally, I think it's very good to confess to mistake, whether a lie or not. This would help to prevent the person for making the same mistake, may be not instantly, but over time, the person will change to stop making that mistake again.

You taken all the 5 precepts already ? Even if not, I suggest you pay attention to this https://book.bfnn.org/books2/1029.htm#a04 五戒表解. Revise it every now and then.

I also have not taken the 5 precepts. It's history. But I watch the precept closely and try I don't offend. I don't believe I can reborn in Pureland if I still lax on the precepts. Actually, if you keep reading about it and think of the precepts, when the situation arise, it's easier to not commit the mistake.

观经 - 净业三福

第一福、「孝养父母,奉事师长,慈心不杀,修十善业」。
第二福、「受持三皈,具足众戒,不犯威仪」。 《=== 具足众戒
第三福、「发菩提心,深信因果,读诵大乘,劝进行者」。

AUTUMN&WINTER

If I remember correct... I stand corrected on this, cause I cannot find the paragraphs that says this online now.
If I remember correct, shifu did say that after telling a lie, you can confess to the lie and that would help your karma. So it's not mindful, then just admit that it was a lie.
Personally, I think it's very good to confess to mistake, whether a lie or not. This would help to prevent the person for making the same mistake, may be not instantly, but over time, the person will change to stop making that mistake again.

You taken all the 5 precepts already ? Even if not, I suggest you pay attention to this https://book.bfnn.org/books2/1029.htm#a04 五戒表解. Revise it every now and then.

I also have not taken the 5 precepts. It's history. But I watch the precept closely and try I don't offend. I don't believe I can reborn in Pureland if I still lax on the precepts. Actually, if you keep reading about it and think of the precepts, when the situation arise, it's easier to not commit the mistake.

观经 - 净业三福

I understand that all lies can be repented except lying that you are a Buddha or Pusa. Telling a lie is violate the precept but lying that you are a Buddha or Pusa 大妄语 is breaking the precept.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

maybe consider ask him along the next time u want to go to one.
but long scriptures one the speed might be too fast for beginners and some might go on one visit n then skip the others. some will press on n improve etc.

I don't think like that lei... the person should learn on his own... if he truly feels the pain. If things come easy, it will be taken for granted. Don't understand, watch video, check dictionary, ask AI, try and try again, beg Buddha for help. You will do it if you truly believe in Buddhism and the repentance works for you. If you don't have that kind of faith, you will sail along, spend time and there will be no results. No amount of side help will be of any meaning. Simply put, 没有人可以跟你种善根,只有自己可以。🙏

sheamus

观经 - 净业三福

as in i mean is not intentional but i just say the lie because i didnt watch my thought
so not lying is not just to build your Samadhi but if you dun have mindfullness to watch old habit, you will still slip into lying out of habit

we do not have a formal 5 precepts ceremony in theravada but we will chant it at the start of any events.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

I understand that all lies can be repented except lying that you are a Buddha or Pusa. Telling a lie is violate the precept but lying that you are a Buddha or Pusa 大妄语 is breaking the precept.

In Mahayana, even 根本罪 can be repented.... just very, very difficult... but possible. Theravada, cannot. Remember 罪从心起将心忏,心若灭时罪亦亡;心亡罪灭两俱空,是则名为真忏悔。? You can read up on 取相忏.

Don't commit 大妄语. But what's the purpose of the precepts. It's not just to stop you from doing something. 持戒有功德. Your 戒定慧 comes from there. So 持戒要清净. 小犯 should also prevent... at least learn... we don't want to be 凡夫 forever, right ?

OpenDoorSeeMountain

as in i mean is not intentional but i just say the lie because i didnt watch my thought
so not lying is not just to build your Samadhi but if you dun have mindfullness to watch old habit, you will still slip into lying out of habit

we do not have a formal 5 precepts ceremony in theravada but we will chant it at the start of any events.

5 precepts ceremony - Serious ??? How can that be ? You mean in Singapore or in general ?

There is something in your karma triggering this when you say something not factual, mindful or not mindful. Try what I said lah... correct your mistake openly, will tone down that karma.

PS: if you take a layman thinking to explain this. Imagine you have to pay $100/- everytime you say something not factual when you're not mindful, you will improve ! 😂

Laneige

I don't think like that lei... the person should learn on his own... if he truly feels the pain. If things come easy, it will be taken for granted. Don't understand, watch video, check dictionary, ask AI, try and try again, beg Buddha for help. You will do it if you truly believe in Buddhism and the repentance works for you. If you don't have that kind of faith, you will sail along, spend time and there will be no results. No amount of side help will be of any meaning. Simply put, 没有人可以跟你种善根,只有自己可以。🙏
Doing repentance doesnt mean must feel the pain then do repentance.
AI, can be wrong so dont rely on AI.
I think maybe can see it as a way to increase Pu Ti Xin. because want someone to have a faster path and recommend them to do repentance too? since is friend, then the more shld encourage them to do.

One thing to note is , ppl shldnt talk and gather ard etc before/break of repentance. Its actually v serious thing to prepare for, not a time to hehe haha or talk abt worldly things.

Laneige

Add on to Shixiong's comment.

《观无量寿佛经》
佛告阿难及韦提希,上品上生者,若有众生,愿生彼国者,发三种心,即便往生。何等为三,一者至诚心,二者深心,三者回向发愿心。具三心者,必生彼国。复有三种众生,当得往生。何等为三,一者慈心不杀,具诸戒行。二者读诵大乘方等经典。三者修行六念,回向发愿,愿生彼国。具此功德,一日乃至七日,即得往生。
i think still need to do the guan part... besides these 3....

OpenDoorSeeMountain

Doing repentance doesnt mean must feel the pain then do repentance.
AI, can be wrong so dont rely on AI.
I think maybe can see it as a way to increase Pu Ti Xin. because want someone to have a faster path and recommend them to do repentance too? since is friend, then the more shld encourage them to do.

One thing to note is , ppl shldnt talk and gather ard etc before/break of repentance. Its actually v serious thing to prepare for, not a time to hehe haha or talk abt worldly things.

轮回不苦, 业障不苦。。。 no pain ? Then why bother to repent. If the person cannot understand his problem, you keep telling him he has a problem and take the medicine, what is the rationale ? I cannot understand your thinking. Anyway, we won't be able see eye to eye on this. Like i've said lor... I don't think like this and I don't believe it works. May be somebody else who believe can help.

Laneige

轮回不苦, 业障不苦。。。 no pain ? Then why bother to repent. If the person cannot understand his problem, you keep telling him he has a problem and take the medicine, what is the rationale ? I cannot understand your thinking. Anyway, we won't be able see eye to eye on this. Like i've said lor... I don't think like this and I don't believe it works. May be somebody else who believe can help.
i will just say, repentance is a great practice to help make us realized what's right/wrong. we (some of us) might think now we r practicing is not bad, so do no wrong but this is for this life only. still have many lives we have not seen. its in the v deep subconscious but just that for normal ppl, its not easy to tap on that.
since this life has chance to learn buddhism, come across repentance, then dont delay. do better than dont do. Just do it.

Puxian Pusa also need to show us to do repentance. let alone us...
Repentance inside has scriptures etc, teach what are the things one normally do wrong etc. repentance will aid in our practice, reduce obstacles. its a win win thing to do. do already still can transfer merits. can also help deceased family members/friends/teachers/other beings etc.

i wont say things that 轮回苦,this kind of thing. i think humans r quite resilience haha. so its always 'easy' to upgrade than downgrade. we are in Singapore. not like third world country. when u say bitter/suffering, not many will feel that. its just life as per normal. mostly is when big dramatic thing like leaving of loved ones etc might make one feel the pain/suffering.

also, if too much disike/negativity for suo po, next time might have problem if one need to go back to suo po to practice/help other people etc. middle path still best imo.

normally when someone asked, it means they are interested, just not enough to push them forward. so the more shld encourage them. thats my pov.

Laneige

to touch on further

Pu Hsien Fusa is well known for her limitless offerings to the Buddhas as well as her Ten Great Vows, which are directed towards benefiting sentient beings. They are:

1. To worship the Buddhas
2. To praise the Tathagatas.
3. To make offerings to all the Buddhas.
4. To confess past sins and to reform.
5. To rejoice in the virtues and happiness of others.
6. To request Buddha to preach the Law
7. To request Buddha to stay in the world.
8. To study the Dharma in order to teach it.
9. To benefit all sentient beings.
10. To transfer all merit and virtue to others.

Bigger Repentance "scriptures" mostly will cover all these ...
6 and 7 need to check the respective repentance since there's a few smaller versions too. off hand cant recall.

"shorter one" liked 88 Buddha repentance will cover all these 10 because Puxian pusa vows are all inside

Laneige

we do not have a ceremony in Theravada.

i have never seen any posters from Theravada temples unlike those from SBL and KMSPKS

what do u learn in Theravada?
meditation? view the white bones?

Every groups will attact its own group of suitable people until things changed/people changed/situation changed, then ppl move on n such. or they r v comfortable n stick throughout.
or like some they go here n there but under the similar teaching because not every where have the things they want to learn/need to learn etc

OpenDoorSeeMountain

i will just say, repentance is a great practice to help make us realized what's right/wrong. we (some of us) might think now we r practicing is not bad, so do no wrong but this is for this life only. still have many lives we have not seen. its in the v deep subconscious but just that for normal ppl, its not easy to tap on that.
since this life has chance to learn buddhism, come across repentance, then dont delay. do better than dont do. Just do it.

Puxian Pusa also need to show us to do repentance. let alone us...
Repentance inside has scriptures etc, teach what are the things one normally do wrong etc. repentance will aid in our practice, reduce obstacles. its a win win thing to do. do already still can transfer merits. can also help deceased family members/friends/teachers/other beings etc.

i wont say things that 轮回苦,this kind of thing. i think humans r quite resilience haha. so its always 'easy' to upgrade than downgrade. we are in Singapore. not like third world country. when u say bitter/suffering, not many will feel that. its just life as per normal. mostly is when big dramatic thing like leaving of loved ones etc might make one feel the pain/suffering.

also, if too much disike/negativity for suo po, next time might have problem if one need to go back to suo po to practice/help other people etc. middle path still best imo.

normally when someone asked, it means they are interested, just not enough to push them forward. so the more shld encourage them. thats my pov.

no need to convince me what you believe in. Even at the Buddhism level, I don't agree with your understanding but I won't go into details. We are at different stages of cultivation, not that either one is right/wrong. And I also don't think like you. Why not you just walk the talk... would be good for cultivating your Pu Ti Xin ?

Laneige

no need to convince me what you believe in. Even at the Buddhism level, I don't agree with your understanding but I won't go into details. We are at different stages of cultivation, not that either one is right/wrong. And I also don't think like you. Why not you just walk the talk... would be good for cultivating your Pu Ti Xin ?
there is no convincing at all. its just "sharing"?
www is the www. anyone can be reading? so ya can correct etc. no one is right/wrong
its just diff views from diff angles n limited sharing.
and our minds r always changing too. one min this, another min that.

OpenDoorSeeMountain

we do not have a ceremony in Theravada.

i have never seen any posters from Theravada temples unlike those from SBL and KMSPKS

I think it's possible to 自受五戒 but I didn't know Theravada don't have events for this. So I wonder is it SG only ?Do you know if other countries organise this ?

OpenDoorSeeMountain

there is no convincing at all. its just "sharing"?
www is the www. anyone can be reading? so ya can correct etc. no one is right/wrong
its just diff views from diff angles
and our minds r always changing too. one min this, another min that.

My point is why not you "walk the talk".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.