Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

AUTUMN&WINTER

NAMO AMITUOFO 南无阿弥陀佛

During unpredictable times, we cannot wait for future, wait for next year or wait for tomorrow to recite "Namo Amituofo". Hope that all the men and women can see the urgency of reciting ""Namo Amituofo" and attain birth in the Land of Ultimate Bliss (Western Pure Land).

119862169_10223702825061994_8945632315216997057_n.jpg

119241926_10223686462372937_3887010622396658063_n.jpg

When we’re having a toothache, we know that not having a toothache is a wonderful thing. Yet when we don’t have a toothache, we’re still not happy. A non-toothache is very pleasant. There are so many things that are enjoyable, but when we don’t practice mindfulness, we don’t appreciate them. When we practice mindfulness, we come to cherish these things and we learn how to protect them. By taking good care of the present moment, we take good care of the future.

- Thich Nhat Hanh

119780950_2756702804610992_7659040848106111404_n.jpg

120138564_2521665584800730_5283379634800718835_o.jpg

108904007_3244952872191400_982134864154489947_n.jpg

119707943_3515627581995730_6402826724537300447_n.jpg

117883010_10223512360460498_9001667448901986886_o.jpg

These are the nemeses of our spiritual cultivation:
Worries — they narrow our perspectives;
Resentments — they provoke hostility;
Griefs — they obstruct our advancement;
Anger — it invites enemies.

120107743_902844590542440_6931321296239961368_n.jpg

For people who wish to overcome bad karma.

happyfingers

《 佛法修正心要 》 - 元音老人

59. 问: 如何是戒 ?

答 :戒者 ,戒你心不妄动而易於入定也 ,故最要紧是心戒 。心不为境界所动,於一切境无染,无着是一切戒的根本。再由不动的妙心起饒益众生的大悲方便,處處攝受利濟,方能具足一切戒的功德。

60. 問:善行是否主要是對治自己以往自私自利的習慣,達到「無我之境」的一種方便呢?

答:善行的確很重要,但不是最主要的,主要還在開智慧。「佛」者,乃覺悟不著相之人也。如不開智慧只作善事,充其量不過做個享福之人罷了。福享完了,還要下地獄,仍不能了生死。但如果明悟心性後,以菩提心去做一切利生之善行,則一切善行又能成為道上的增上緣。

waterbright

5:3 Puṇṇaka’s Questions — Birth and aging can be overcome, not through sacrificial rituals, but through training the mind to go beyond perturbation.

To the one unperturbed,

who has seen the roots, (1)

I have come with a question.

Because of what

have many human seers

—noble warriors, brahmans—

offered sacrifices to devas

here in the world? (2)

I ask you, Blessed One.

Please tell me.

The Buddha:

Those many human seers

who have offered sacrifices to devas

here in the world, Puṇṇaka,

hoping for more of this state of being,

offered their sacrifices

because of aging.

Puṇṇaka:

These many human seers

who have offered sacrifices to devas

here in the world:

Have they, Blessed One,

heeding the path of sacrifice, dear sir,

crossed over birth & aging?

I ask you, Blessed One.

Please tell me.

The Buddha:

They hoped for, liked,

longed for,

so they sacrificed—

they longed for sensuality,

dependent on gain.

I tell you:

Those who take on the yoke

of sacrifice,

impassioned with

the passion for becoming,

have not crossed over birth & aging. (3)

Puṇṇaka:

If those who take on the yoke of sacrifice

haven’t crossed over birth & aging,

then who in the world, dear sir,

of beings divine & human

has crossed over birth & aging?

I ask you, Blessed One.

Please tell me.

The Buddha:

He who has fathomed

the high & low in the world,

for whom there is nothing

perturbing in the world—

evaporated, (4) undesiring,

untroubled, at peace—

he, I tell you, has crossed over birth

& aging. (5)

vv. 1043–1048

Notes

1. Nd II cites three main ways in which the Buddha has seen the roots:

a) He has seen that greed, aversion, and delusion are the roots of what is unskillful, and that lack of greed, lack of aversion, and lack of delusion are the roots of what is skillful. Nd II anchors this point with a reference to AN 6:39, although its quote from that sutta contains two phrases not present in the sutta. Where AN 6:39 reads, “It’s through action born of non-greed, action born of non-aversion, action born of non-delusion that devas are discerned, that human beings are discerned, or any other good destinations,” Nd II reads, “It’s through action born of non-greed, action born of non-aversion, action born of non-delusion that devas are discerned, that human beings are discerned, or any other good destinations for the production of a self-state [attabhāva] in a deva or a human being.” Where AN 6:39 reads, “It’s through action born of greed, action born of aversion, action born of delusion that hell is discerned, that the animal womb is discerned, that the realm of hungry ghosts is discerned, or any other bad destinations,” Nd II reads “It’s through action born of greed, action born of aversion, action born of delusion that hell is discerned, that the animal womb is discerned, that the realm of hungry ghosts is discerned, or any other bad destinations for the production of a self-state in hell, in the animal womb, or in the realm of hungry ghosts.” If we assume that the extra phrases were originally not present in AN 6:39, the question arises as to why they were added in Nd II. One possible reason is that the compilers of Nd II may have been bothered by AN 6:39’s suggestion that its list of good and bad destinations was not complete—e.g., that there could be other good destinations aside from the realms of devas and human beings—so they tried to close off that possibility.

b) The Buddha has seen further that all unskillful qualities are rooted in ignorance (here Nd II quotes a passage from SN 20:1: “All qualities that are unskillful, that have a share in what’s unskillful, that side with what’s unskillful, are rooted in ignorance and converge in ignorance. From the uprooting of ignorance, they are all uprooted”). The Buddha has also seen that all skillful qualities are rooted in heedfulness (here Nd II quotes a passage found in SN 45:79–80, SN 45:82, and SN 46:31: “All qualities that are skillful, that have a share in what’s skillful, that side with what’s skillful, are rooted in heedfulness, converge in heedfulness, and heedfulness is foremost among them”).

c) The Buddha has also seen that ignorance is the root of all the factors of dependent co-arising.

For another sense in which the Buddha has seen the root, see MN 1.

2. See Sn 3:4 for another answer to a very similar question.

3. On the issue of rebirth in the suttas, see The Truth of Rebirth.

4. According to Nd II, this means that one’s bodily, verbal, and mental misconduct have evaporated away, along with all one’s defilements.

5. AN 3:32 and AN 4:41 contain discussions of the last verse in this poem.

In AN 3:32, Ven. Ānanda asks the Buddha, “Could it be that a monk could attain a concentration of such a sort such that, with regard to this conscious body, he would have no ‘I’-making or ‘mine’-making or obsession with conceit, such that with regard to all external themes [topics of concentration] he would have no ‘I’-making or ‘mine’-making or obsession with conceit, and that he would enter & remain in the awareness-release & discernment-release in which there is no ‘I’-making or ‘mine’-making or obsession with conceit?”

The Buddha answers that it is possible, and that such a concentration can be attained when one is percipient in this way: “This is peace, this is exquisite—the pacification of all fabrications; the relinquishing of all acquisitions; the ending of craving; dispassion; cessation; unbinding.” He then adds that it was in connection to this state of mind that he uttered the last verse in this poem.

In AN 4:41, the Buddha identifies four ways of developing concentration: “There is the development of concentration that, when developed & pursued, leads to a pleasant abiding in the here-&-now. There is the development of concentration that, when developed & pursued, leads to the attainment of knowledge & vision. There is the development of concentration that, when developed & pursued, leads to mindfulness & alertness. There is the development of concentration that, when developed & pursued, leads to the ending of the effluents.” The Buddha then adds that he uttered the last verse of this poem in connection with these four ways of developing concentration.

Although the verse does not mention concentration explicitly, the use of the phrase, “nothing perturbing” is apparently a reference to the states of concentration called imperturbable. See MN 102, note 2, and MN 106, note 1.

Konnichiwa

Wah... morning almost pass out from sibei tough Sai...
Keep praying... almost 30mins... inside toilet...

Vegetarian too much fibre but never drink enough water is problem... :(

DaBeiZhou

almost half into 1st copy of sanghata and i finally got an actual nightmare!!! i dreamt my shoulders all the way down to my stomach started having very ugly and prominent scars. wonder which realm this is? never knew a day would come where im happy to experience nightmares

viethai

I tried googling but i either bump into a website that is 100% chinese, or, websites with very similar names

may i know what is the official website for the buddhist society he is in?

Venerable You Wei
Abbot of Di Zang Lin

Google Di Zang Lin

viethai

Rejoice...praying for 30 minutes..the sentient beings must be patiently waiting for their feast.Om Ah Hum

AUTUMN&WINTER

almost half into 1st copy of sanghata and i finally got an actual nightmare!!! i dreamt my shoulders all the way down to my stomach started having very ugly and prominent scars. wonder which realm this is? never knew a day would come where im happy to experience nightmares

Ha ha.... more nightmares to come. Purify your negative karma. Good sign.:s13:

scheng1

Buy a few bottles of Prune juice (946 ml) and stock up at home.

You can dilute with water (half glass of juice, half glass of water). Drink throughout the day until you finish one bottle.

Konnichiwa

Buy a few bottles of Prune juice (946 ml) and stock up at home.

You can dilute with water (half glass of juice, half glass of water). Drink throughout the day until you finish one bottle.

Maybe lack of water. I don’t think I am lack of fibre...

scheng1

haha, sounds silly hor.

It does show 佛法无边. We are just at the edge of the vast Dharma sea. The 3 major dreams are: fire, water, and shaving heads.

So far, only one person had experienced all the 3 dreams, and she wrote about it after copying 108 times. Her experience below. Basically she stopped working, and spent 2 years (2017年10月20日到2019年10月16) to copy sutra. She has to finish 1 sutra in 6.5 days to complete 108 in 2 years.

师兄投稿
https://www.97su.cn/wei-sushi-8085
我刚抄完了108部《僧伽吒经》,我想把我抄经的感应和心得体会介绍给大家,希望大家对抄经有一个认识和了解,希望从而对《僧伽吒经》生起信心,使《僧伽吒经》能利益更多的众生。

一,抄经的因缘,

2017年我在网上看到了抄《僧伽吒经》的感应,对《僧伽吒经》生起了信心,就发愿抄七部《僧伽吒经》2017年10月20号开始抄,刚开始每天抄经前。

先刷牙洗澡,上香然后再开始抄经,没想到开始就做恶梦,头痛,流眼泪,种种的现象使我大吃一惊。

这部《僧伽吒经》这么历害,消业的威力量太大了,我朝过五台山三步一个头,过程就是很坚难,种种的障碍违缘,晚上都是消业的梦,没想到抄经也能有如此大的消业力量。

我在抄写这七部经中3至4天准有消业的梦,梦到,洗澡,乘船度河,理发,腾空,还有恶梦,腿疼,《僧伽吒经》这么的殊胜,消业的威力巨大超过我的想象,我对《僧伽吒经》生起了无比的信心。

本来想抄完七部去找工作,现在不去了,什么都比不上解脱生死轮回更重要,我发愿3年要抄108部《僧伽吒经》,我今年58岁了,眼睛花了,抄经很费眼睛,我还配了付好花镜。

我带着对《僧伽吒经》坚定的信念,我想趁我还有这口气把毕生的精力用来把108部《僧伽吒经》抄完,从2017年10月20日到2019年10月16号整二年,我圆满抄完了108部《僧伽吒经》。

三,抄经的心得体会

我把个人抄经的心得体会介绍一下,供大家参考,我们每个人发心不同,业力不同,效果也不同,所以同修每个人抄经的境界不同。

我只是把我个人的体会简单介绍一下。我一般每天早上五点半起来先抄二张,再吃饭,上午六张下午六张,晚上二张,这是没有其它事的情况下,有事时自然根据情况。

我为什么对《僧伽吒经》这么有信心,因为我明白任何事物它的力量多大,反作用就多大,这二年抄经期间,恶梦,消业的梦,一直不断。

在抄了七本时腰开始痛,我不管它,我知道是往外释放业力,等释放完了,腰也好了,业也清净了。

过一段时间腿开始痛,有半个月,之后我还起了一次大烦恼,为一点小事,和我丈夫生气,发脾气,平常不爱生气,我知道这是在往外释放烦恼习气种子,二个月才过去。

除了做恶梦来消业,还有洗澡,理发打扫卫生,等等消业的梦,还有身体的病痛,生活等等不顺。

在抄经的过程中如此的坚难,就是凭着我对《僧伽吒经》有着无比坚定的信心,无论遇到种种的逆境,我都能坚持,知道一切都是《僧伽吒经》加持的结果,所以我圆满完成了抄108部《僧伽吒经》的心愿。

四,《僧伽吒经》如何消业的

看我抄经有这么多不顺,有人会害怕,我在网上看到有些人抄经时遇到了障碍,病痛不敢再抄了。

这是不明白,实际正是《僧伽吒经》的威力,经历不顺都是往外释放恶力。

那这些释放出来的业力病痛哪里来的,是我们内在里面出来的吧,那释放出来后,里面没有了,就如我们打扫房间卫生,清理出很多垃圾,是不是不清理就没有,清理时才知道这么多垃圾,清理完了房间是不是清净舒服多了

同样的道理,恶业就是我们内部的垃圾,也是业障,尤于这些垃圾堵塞障碍了我们修行上不去,事业,家庭等等不顺,清理这些业障,福报上来了做什么都如鱼得水,甚至可以心想事成,知道能量守恒定律就知道了,我们的业它会凭空消失吗?

不会,它只有转化,《僧伽吒经》就是把八识田的恶业转化了,八识田的内部结构程序变了,这二年抄《僧伽吒经》等于八识进行了一次大革命,明白了这个道理就会知道《僧伽吒经》消业积福的力量大的真是难以想象的,为什么成为那烂陀寺镇寺之宝,真的是难得希有的法宝。

五,《僧伽吒经》可以帮助解决遇到的问题。

无论遇到什么障碍,不顺都可以用《僧伽吒经》来解决,一切障碍,不顺都是福报不够了,业障障碍着,做任何事做不成都是这件事没有福报支持着。

无论什么事做不成一定有这方面恶业障碍着,受持《僧伽吒经》,恶业越来越轻,福报越来越大,做世间的事业,包括家庭等等离开福报什么也做不成。

要想心想事成,就要积累善根福报资粮,那《僧伽吒经》是积资净障威力是最强大的,用抄《僧伽吒经》和诵《僧伽吒经》的福报来支持达到你所期待的目的,我个人的体会是抄经比诵经力量大些。

我希望有更多的人加入到抄《僧伽吒经》的队伍中来,使《僧伽吒经》长久住世,利益众生。让正法久住。

scheng1

Maybe lack of water. I don’t think I am lack of fibre...

You can google about it. Prune juice is a medically proven and recommended method for constipation. It's not about fiber. It's about having enough laxative to move the bowels.

Konnichiwa

You can google about it. Prune juice is a medically proven and recommended method for constipation. It's not about fiber. It's about having enough laxative to move the bowels.

Ok buy one to try. My Sai is so hard... I literally had cold sweat.... scary...

scheng1

Copy Sutra can be so powerful.... serious or not.
Imagination sibo...

You have to experience to believe de. Try and see. Aim to copy at least 7 times of this particular sutra 僧伽吒经 Sanghata Sutra. Either English or Chinese version will do.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.