Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

scheng1

唐玄奘法师 have many outstanding disciples. 窥基 is one of the 4 famous ones, and is the founder of the 唯识 sub-branch of Buddhism in China.

窥基 is also known as 三車和尚.

玄奘法师 practically forces him to become a monk by asking 唐太宗 to give the order.

窥基 is very unwilling and unhappy about it. He says if they are agreeable to his 3 requests, then he will become a monk.

The 3 requests:
1. A carriage of meat [some accounts say this first carriage is of books]
2. A carriage of wine
3. A carriage of beautiful women

唐太宗 and 玄奘法师 agrees to all his requests.

https://baike.baidu.com/item/窥基/2217585?fr=aladdin

玄奘法师只好与唐太宗商量,成就这段因缘。于是乎皇帝下旨,要尉迟恭的侄子出家,尉迟恭一接到圣旨,便叫侄子出家。窥基严辞拒绝地说:“岂有此理!皇帝怎么可以叫我出家?我还没玩够哪!我要去和皇帝讲道理。”第二天尉迟恭带着侄子来见皇帝。

窥基一来便说:“陛下要我出家,可以!可是我有三个条件。”唐太宗一听就说:“你要多少个条件都可以。”窥基就说了:“我最欢喜喝酒,我不能没有酒,无论我到什么地方,都有一车的酒跟着。”唐太宗心想:“出家人是戒酒,可是玄奘法师告诉我,不管什么条件都答应。”于是就说了:“好!我答应你。第二个条件呢?”窥基说:“我知道出家人不可以吃肉,可是我欢喜吃肉,无论我到什么地方,后面都有一车新鲜的肉跟着。”唐太宗说:“我答应你。第三个条件呢?”

窥基没想到皇帝会答应他的条件,所以就说:“出家人不可以有太太,可是我离不开女人,无论我到什么地方,必须有一车的女人跟着。”他心想:“这个条件,皇帝无论如何一定不会答应的。”唐太宗心想:“哎呀!这怎么能答应呢?可是玄奘法师已经嘱咐我,不管什么条件一定都要答应。”所以就说了:“好!我完全答应你,你现在可以出家了吧!”

窥基没办法,就很勉强出家了。所以在出家那天,后面有一车的酒、一车新鲜的肉、一车美女,陪着他一起到大兴善寺出家

AUTUMN&WINTER

NAMO AMITUOFO 南无阿弥陀佛

一个没吃过苦的人 他不知道什么叫甜! 一个没念过佛的人 不知道什么叫佛菩萨保佑给你带来的平安 顺利 幸福!

126319634_10224207012626368_4504210734185700510_o.jpg

126608800_3492915010772759_1911312245150128990_n.jpg

The Power of the Mind

How the mind incarnates in a good place or a bad place and receives happiness or sorrow relates to the karma the person has done. That is the reason why there is no exception to the cycle of death and rebirth, every single living beings cycle between living and death since the beginning of time. But the world can’t see the fact, so they have fun in the cycle of rebirth, alternating between happiness and sorrow depending on what kind of karma they did. They come in a package that the mind have to the burden of both kinds. Each being receive the consequences of their bad karma depending on how much each of them have accumulated it.

Venerable Ācariya Mahā Boowa Ñānasampanno

103768831_4644424165583022_6861870249301459734_n.jpg

Those who choose Buddhism choose a new life.

We all have to let go of many things in life. Those who cannot will suffer, while those who can will be liberated.

125839507_892327371171430_2233326973219007545_o.jpg

126538589_3048429215256566_2191060957729145551_o.jpg

91802634_145416890292335_3221278798313947136_o.png

Some boast that they do not suffer, but it is this constant feeling of insecurity we live with from the cradle to the grave due to aging, sickness and death that Buddha taught as suffering.

126903011_10224207146589717_6002076501035609408_n.jpg

126038910_2789212781406531_1099392980650484166_o.jpg

viethai

樹是鬼神村,若要砍伐、移植,要如何作前行告知,以免傷害眾生結下惡緣】#海濤法師
Q:要砍大樹該如何處理,要念什麼咒?
⚜海濤法師: 樹有樹神、樹精,甚至有一些鬼神沒地方住,住在樹裏面,所以如果你要砍這一棵樹,
1⃣你要跟這個樹神說我為何要這麼做,然後我把你移到別的地方可不可以?
2⃣如果這顆樹也沒辦法移,你要跟祂溝通好:「我到哪個地方種一棵新的樹,你們移到那邊去住」,讓那些孤魂野鬼有地方住,然後你跟祂擲筊,得到祂們的同意。
3⃣但是一定要在七天後才能砍,讓祂有機會改變,就像做頭旬、二旬,祂們七就是一個改變,至少要等七天。
4⃣甚至你跟祂講說「你也可以託夢給我」,如果七天之內都作好夢,就代表祂願意了;如果七天之內有作壞夢,你要再跟祂溝通。
但是你不要隨便就把它砍掉,你把它砍掉,就像你家住五六個人,有人將你家的房子破壞掉,你們就成為流浪漢沒地方住,你會恨他。
因為樹是鬼神村,樹是鬼神在住的,整個家庭都住在那邊,所以古人不大敢隨便砍的。
我們出家人的戒律規定絕對不能砍樹的,借宿在樹下還要感恩樹,所以釋迦牟尼佛借菩提樹下成佛,成佛以後感謝菩提樹神七天,
✨所以各位要這樣尊重萬事萬物。
5⃣念什麼咒都可以,大悲咒、藥師咒…,最主要是這個樹神跟樹的眾生同意搬家。
6⃣甚至你要砍之前你幫祂寫牌位,「我幫你超度,希望你去生天,幫你做功德,希望你去更好的地方」,做了七天回向給祂,然後再砍它,可以,但是你不能不尊重祂。
臺灣經常有這種事,沒人敢砍,所以路中間就有棵大樹,誰要去砍誰就撞死,所以後來就沒有人敢砍。
越大的樹樹精的力量越大,但是小樹你也不能隨便砍,你欺負祂,雖然祂力量不大,但是以後祂跑到你身體你就完了。

https://fb.watch/1ZnGyjT1MT/

Renzokukenz

Renzokukenz

They doing a business so no choice will only say things to sell their own things.

I don't blame them la, but I naturally skeptical so I won't even ask them for advice cause they have their own agenda.

Most of the neigbourhood incense shops don't sell 烟供香。 They will tell you all the joss sticks are the same which we know that is not true. I am lazy to explain to them. Above is my experience.

magnus

simple prayer will do.
pay respect to Triple Gem and Dharma protectors for them to bless the incense... so that those unseen beings with lesser merit can also receive.

if still too complicated then just recite "唵啊吽" x3 will do.
I searched for "上供 下施" on shopee and found this:

https://shopee.sg/慈悲烟供-甘露-药供食子塔香上供下施火供-(250g80pcs-)-Incense-cone-i.209087907.5111571303

Thank you for sharing.
Just burn right? No special ritual involved?

AUTUMN&WINTER

simple prayer will do.
pay respect to Triple Gem and Dharma protectors for them to bless the incense... so that those unseen beings with lesser merit can also receive.

if still too complicated then just recite "唵啊吽" x3 will do.

I just recite Oh Ah Om more than 3 times because not convenient to recite too long. Neighbours will look at me one kind. The lady boss whom I bought the 烟供香 said the same. She said if we recite too long in the public area, others will think that we are crazy.:s13:

I do it at the garden near my place almost daily. I read it somewhere that those unseen beings with lesser merits are unable to benefit from our offerings if we do it at high floors. Preferably at ground level if possible.

Mr. Wood

if i juz want to burn incense for meditation, or for cleansing the room, do i also need 上供下施烟供?

Mr. Wood

din know there are so many types of incenses. google then found out. still got 海涛法师 special recipe one :s22:

AUTUMN&WINTER

if i juz want to burn incense for meditation, or for cleansing the room, do i also need 上供下施烟供?

I don't think so. I only see Shifu offered incense to 供佛 before leading us to meditate. After meditation, Shifu would lead us to dedicate the merits to all sentient beings. No 下施, ,only 供佛。Above is my understanding.

Renzokukenz

I burn White Sage and Palo Santo wood to cleanse and purify my space, my mala and my crystals. But this practice is more of the “new age” movement rather than Buddhism.

The 上供下施 is new to me as well.
Since I do not know anything and is unfamiliar with it. It’s best for me to listen to the ShiXiong’s instructions here

From what I know Om Ah Hum is enough,
But even just now when I purchased the incense from the shop, the shop asked me if I know how to do the proper prayers.

I went to google actually but there’s so many procedures and I’m not comfortable with it. There’s a formal and step by step ritual called the Preta Dana.

Regardless. The motivation factor seems the same, which is to practice metta within oneself, at the same time, help ease the suffering of unseen beings (ghost/hungry ghost), gather merits for both self and others, so as to enable both self and others a more conducive path to practice and walk towards enlightenment.

Really need to thank Magnus ShiXiong for his insightful comments and introducing me to this.
Will post pictures of the stuff I bought later when I’m home just to double check.

Thanks so much everyone.

Gate Gate Paragate Parasamgate Bodhi Svha!!!

Renzokukenz

Both I bought from this shop in the Fu Lu Shou Complex, top floor (only one shop selling Buddhist stuff on this floor)

Specifically asked for 上供下施 and they have two types
the one I got is "解脱"
the other one is something to do with being hungry or food, I don't understand.
"解脱" means enlightenment so I thought maybe better than the "Hungry/Food" Chinese words one (don't know first time buying)

Did I buy the right one?? Or is the other one better?

Photo-25-11-20-2-44-56-PM.jpg

One question about the cone is, when I burn my copied sutras at night, the wind quite big, big until the sutra paper I burn halfway the fire will go out. But thankfully have those wind-proof paper burner in the HDB for me to burn.

But Incense Cone, I don't think I can put it inside the burner cause it's just a big hole, no surface. If the wind is big, will the cone burn halfway no more?? (I plan to light the cone leave it there, and go home after I finish burning my sutra)

Each Time burn, minimum must burn how many? Is one Enough?

Can I ask why they give me one bookmark in the bottle?
Am I supposed to take out the bookmark?
Photo-25-11-20-2-45-35-PM.jpg

Konnichiwa

I thought buddhist is light candle only
Never have the practice of lighting incense...

magnus

Can use aluminum tray for cone incense if want to do outdoor. I will collect back the tray and reuse again. Stick incense is more convenient for outdoor. 1 or more cones is up to u.
IMG-20201125-150834.jpg

Both I bought from this shop in the Fu Lu Shou Complex, top floor (only one shop selling Buddhist stuff on this floor)

Specifically asked for 上供下施 and they have two types
the one I got is "解脱"
the other one is something to do with being hungry or food, I don't understand.
"解脱" means enlightenment so I thought maybe better than the "Hungry/Food" Chinese words one (don't know first time buying)

Did I buy the right one?? Or is the other one better?

Photo-25-11-20-2-44-56-PM.jpg

One question about the cone is, when I burn my copied sutras at night, the wind quite big, big until the sutra paper I burn halfway the fire will go out. But thankfully have those wind-proof paper burner in the HDB for me to burn.

But Incense Cone, I don't think I can put it inside the burner cause it's just a big hole, no surface. If the wind is big, will the cone burn halfway no more?? (I plan to light the cone leave it there, and go home after I finish burning my sutra)

Each Time burn, minimum must burn how many? Is one Enough?

Am I supposed to take out the bookmark?

Renzokukenz

I thought buddhist is light candle only
Never have the practice of lighting incense...

Buddhism got many traditional customs, I only do customs and rituals that make sense to me

if want to do ALL, kinda impossible

I won't go to haunted places like magnus to open incense
but just do at below my block cause sometimes can sense wandering spirits, also as a way to cultivate metta and gather merits.

On the other end of Buddhism, particularly Secular Buddhism, they don't do all these and they look at Buddhism as a philosophy and many of them practice other religions together with secular Buddhism

i was sibei confused last time over it :s22:

Konnichiwa

Buddhism got many traditional customs, I only do customs and rituals that make sense to me

if want to do ALL, kinda impossible

I won't go to haunted places like magnus to open incense
but just do at below my block cause sometimes can sense wandering spirits, also as a way to cultivate metta and gather merits.

On the other end of Buddhism, particularly Secular Buddhism, they don't do all these and they look at Buddhism as a philosophy and many of them practice other religions together with secular Buddhism

i was sibei confused last time over it :s22:

Magnus jin got gut siol...
Go eerie places...

Renzokukenz

Anyone?

Am I supposed to take out the bookmark before filling it with water???

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.