Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

magnus

Indonesia but not bali. At Purwokerto...no direct flight.

i also suspect is karmic creditor. moved to another place also encounter strange happening.
The 1st pic is scenic. Where is the place? Looks like one of the place I had been to in Bali.

From what Magnus mentioned, seems like that unseen being only wants to disturb that family, could be his karmic creditor because that being did not disturb his tenants. Demons are more scary than ghosts. We are unable to handle demons though they are also sentient beings. Demons are afraid of 愣严咒。

AUTUMN&WINTER

That's why I don't dare to do Sur Offering in unfamiliar places
Demons really don't know how to handle if kena jialat jialat

I read somewhere that try not to do sur offerings after 9 PM. This is the time when the demons are out. However, this was not said by Shifu. It was said by some lay Buddhists. Hai Tao Fashi did not say that and so far I have not come across any Shifu who said that. That lay Buddhist did not say that demons will disturb us but our offerings will increase the demons' power. My friends used to do offerings after 9 PM, nothing unusual happen.

AUTUMN&WINTER

not yet. yesterday still msg me say got cloth hanger flung out from his wardrobe.:s22:

:eek: Did you ask him to 请pendant with愣严咒. Hang it high up inside the house. I strongly believe that it can be resolved. Can also play 愣严咒 at home.

waterlucky

The 1st pic is scenic. Where is the place? Looks like one of the place I had been to in Bali.

From what Magnus mentioned, seems like that unseen being only wants to disturb that family, could be his karmic creditor because that being did not disturb his tenants. Demons are more scary than ghosts. We are unable to handle demons though they are also sentient beings. Demons are afraid of 愣严咒。
hi autum...how to recite the 愣严咒 ?any beginner way to learn it? Especially the pronunciation... Can I play from 念佛机 at home also? Thanks

Renzokukenz

Indonesia but not bali. At Purwokerto...no direct flight.

i also suspect is karmic creditor. moved to another place also encounter strange happening.

What kind of karmic creditor will lead to hauntings?
I mean we can't change what we did in the past and hence we cannot choose the karmic creditor.

But not everyone experience hauntings. So am just curious what kinda karma would result in hauntings

Renzokukenz

I read somewhere that try not to do sur offerings after 9 PM. This is the time when the demons are out. However, this was not said by Shifu. It was said by some lay Buddhists. Hai Tao Fashi did not say that and so far I have not come across any Shifu who said that. That lay Buddhist did not say that demons will disturb us but our offerings will increase the demons' power. My friends used to do offerings after 9 PM, nothing unusual happen.

I do Sur Offering after 9 pm quite frequently

But because the area where I burn at (no shelter) is right in front of shophouses, and the special service massage shop have a 地基主 shrine, I guess maybe the 地基主 got help to protect the area.

I will put one joss stick of the 上供下施 material I have in its atar when there is no one in the shop.

I once saw very briefly (like less than 2 seconds) legs of a lady with no body. When I turn around, it is no more. I asked my friends who are Taoists (not Buddhists), they told me most probably 地基主 cause they usually appear without a body

so maybe he/she/it has been protecting me all this time while I do Sur Offering, I don't really know

waterlucky

Maybe next week go there try.
IMG-20210118-122833.jpg
I eaten there 3 to 4 times....very nice food...need to reserve before hand u go... weekend all full...

magnus

suggested to him before but not sure whether he got put. he also change statues 4-5x because after a period of time will either crack or change colour.

ever lend him statue but lucky mine no problem.
:eek: Did you ask him to 请pendant with愣严咒. Hang it high up inside the house. I strongly believe that it can be resolved. Can also play 愣严咒 at home.

Renzokukenz

hi autum...how to recite the 愣严咒 ?any beginner way to learn it? Especially the pronunciation... Can I play from 念佛机 at home also? Thanks

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

OR

If you just want the 心咒 (the core of the mantra)

Note: I am new to 楞严咒 and I do NOT have deep knowledge over its teachings, contexts, uses, and method of practice. But I am sharing just to help out. As with any 法门 it is best to not just take one aspect of it and then practice it out of superstition. The best way is to read up on it, understand the context of it and its teachings and values, and if you are fortunate enough, find a monk whom you have an affinity with and learn from real masters.

I don't know much about 楞严咒 but I wear a talisman with it printed inside. Not sure is it full mantra or just 心咒 though, cause I didn't open it up to see.

Renzokukenz

suggested to him before but not sure whether he got put. he also change statues 4-5x because after a period of time will either crack or change colour.

ever lend him statue but lucky mine no problem.

Statues of Buddhas and Bodhisattvas CRACK???

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

wah sounds very very wrathful
Magnus shixiong, if you want to help them better ask them to give angbao so they know it is a "transaction", if not the karmic creditors come and disturb you for disturbing his revenge

magnus

yes, few GY statues cracked. told him could be because of wood material and climate here.

that time didn't think of the angbao thing but i regretted lending him the statue. the statue was not meant for protecting him from karmic creditor. he mentioned to me that his in law put curse on him and this has been somehow "verified" after checking with few masters(including one from my source). all said under curse from someone he knew.

Statues of Buddhas and Bodhisattvas CRACK???

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

wah sounds very very wrathful
Magnus shixiong, if you want to help them better ask them to give angbao so they know it is a "transaction", if not the karmic creditors come and disturb you for disturbing his revenge

Renzokukenz

yes, few GY statues cracked. told him could be because of wood material and climate here.

that time didn't think of the angbao thing but i regretted lending him the statue. the statue was not meant for protecting him from karmic creditor. he mentioned to me that his in law put curse on him and this has been somehow "verified" after checking with few masters(including one from my source). all said under curse from someone he knew.

what do you do with cracked statues??

I mean i dont have any statues now but in future when I have my own place and my own altar, statue break liao how?

cannot anyhow throw etc then how?

Renzokukenz

I understand 愣严咒 is to 驱魔 ? If 冤亲债主, can consider 三时系念 type of 法会 to 调解. Can write 累劫冤親債主牌位 and also attend the 法会.

This type of problem can only settle with them. 冤亲债主, cannot fight with them. If you win this time, they will bounce back and strike harder the next time, whether in this life or future lives.... until no end.

Cheers, 南无阿弥陀佛

makes sense and align with Buddhism's approach of having compassion towards both sides (both the current victim and the "perpetrator")

magnus

he sent those cracked statues to temple. people there will know how to handle

what do you do with cracked statues??

I mean i dont have any statues now but in future when I have my own place and my own altar, statue break liao how?

cannot anyhow throw etc then how?

Renzokukenz

Surangama Heart mantra

I googled Magnus's version and found this article which is quite insightful to me:

Source: https://bodhi-bowl.com/2019/03/14/surangama-heart-mantra/

OM
ANALE ANALE
VISADA VISADA
BANDHA BANDHA
BANDHANI BANDHANI
VAIRA VAJRAPANI PHAT
HUM BHRUM PHAT SVAHA

When I first heard of this mantra, it is touted as

powerful.
Able to subdue all evils.
Receiving blessings of all Buddha.
And many many more benefits.
Like all Mahayana sutra, such claim is meant to attract followers and promote faith in the practice. (That’s what i think) Not saying that they are fabricated.

Just as the wrapper is part of a sweet, perhaps describing its flavour etc; But not meant to be consumed! Likewise, such claim is not meant to inflate our ego….

Unfortunately, many people are so attracted by the wrapper that they did not taste the sweet but chose to eat the wrapper instead.

When I first learnt of the mantra’s “POWER” or “POTENCY” over malevolent forces, I immediately felt like I had learnt a magic spell that will make me invincible over supernatural beings. I was sixteen at that time.

That is a very wrong attitude because it feeds our ego and increases the 3 poisons in our mind.

Buddhism is about conquering ourselves, not other beings.

So it is very important to understand that all Buddhist practice is meant to be internalized. What that means is that the motivation of practice is to get rid of the negativities within ourselves.

In this case, we have to practice Surangama as a way to eliminate hatred, desire, and wrong views within ourselves. That means the “evil” that we wish to subdue is really within ourselves. In our mind.

When practicing this mantra, I will recall it and mentally recite it in my mind when I feel bad thoughts overpowering me. Angry thoughts, desirous ones, laziness, greed etc. It kind of act like a reminder to be better.

Therefore when I feel anger against someone, I recite this mantra to arrest my angry thoughts. The fault lies in me for generating anger out of attachment to an illusory self.

This mantra is not meant to be recited as a curse or hex on people or imaginary foe. Buddha never ever teach hatred.

I was also taught the followings.

It is best to recite this mantra mentally ONLY, when one is outside their home or outside a Buddhist temple. To practice verbal recitation, one should try to do so at home or within a Buddhist temple. I guess that is common sense. You surely do not wish to attract stares in public right?

Another reason is because, the verbal recitation may cause discomfort to unwholesome spiritual beings. We try to be considerate and compassionate when we practice.

After learning this mantra, the goal is to conquer our internal unwholesomeness. (ie. our 3 mental afflictions) It is not our goal to conquer external beings. We should not make it our mission to exorcise evil spirits or supernatural beings.

If we ever have a chance to use this mantra like in the story, “It works“. We must be compassionate and do not harm any beings with malice.

Last but not least and the MOST IMPORTANT.

Not all unexplainable situations and behaviours are caused by unwholesome supernatural beings. We may never experience anything supernatural in our entire life. Which is a good thing.

Unexplainable situations and behaviours can be psychological. If it is supernatural, a few recitation of this mantra will resolve it.

Otherwise, it is more likely due to a psychological disorder. Please see a doctor. (get a shrink)
Combination of professional help and the practice of chanting / meditation (with correct understanding) can help greatly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.