Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

AUTUMN&WINTER

Dear Everyone.

I had the great fortune of interacting with One of the Abbot and prominent figure in Singapore.

He gave me his number and told me I can direct all my Buddhist related question at him and he will try his best to answer.

Feeling extremely paiseh, I have yet to ask him any questions.

So I was thinking, why not open his help to the floor, and overtime I will choose one or two questions people have over here, and ask him for this HWZ community.

What do you guys think and what question would you ask the Head of the Buddhist Association of Singapore if you are given the chance to?

You are fortunate to have his number. Most of the Abbots are busy so won't give numbers unnecessarily. Sounds like 广品法师 to me. No need to reveal his identity if not convenient. I am just guessing.

waterbright

Thig 10 Kīsā Gotamī — A nun achieves the deathless after her entire family suddenly dies.

Kīsā Gotamī has two of the most heart-rending stories in the Buddhist tradition associated with her name. The Commentary to this verse tells that when her young child had died, she refused to believe it was dead. After asking many people—in vain—for medicine that would revive the child, she was finally directed to the Buddha. When she told him her story, he offered to provide medicine for the child, but he would need some mustard seed—the cheapest Indian spice—obtained from a family in which no one had died. She went from house to house asking for mustard seed, and no one refused to give it to her. But when she asked if anyone had died in the family, the universal response was always, “Oh, yes, of course.” After a while, the message sunk in: Death is universal. On abandoning the child’s body to a charnel ground, she returned to the Buddha and asked to be ordained as a nun, and afterwards became an arahant.

The canonical verses associated with Kīsā Gotamī’s name, however, tell a different story, which is identical to the story that the Commentary attributes to Paṭācārā: Pregnant with her second child, she was returning to her parents’ home, along with her husband and young firstborn child, to give birth. Along the way, a great storm blew up, and she asked her husband to provide shelter for the family. As he was cutting grass and gathering sticks to build a shelter, a snake bit him and he died of the poison. Unsheltered, and wondering at her husband’s long absence, Paṭācārā gave birth and had to spend the night sheltering both her children against the rain and wind with nothing more than her body. The next morning, she found her husband dead. Distraught, she decided to return to her parents’ home. However, a river—swollen from the rain of the previous night—ran across her way. Unable to carry both children across the river in one trip, she left her first-born on the near bank and waded through the raging current carrying her baby. Placing the baby on the far bank, she turned back to fetch her first-born. A hawk, seeing the baby, took it for a piece of flesh, and swooped down on it. Seeing this, Paṭācārā raised her hands and tried to chase it away, but to no avail: The hawk picked up the baby and carried it off. Meanwhile, her first-born—seeing his mother raising her hands—took it for a signal to cross the river. Jumping into the raging current, he was carried off to his death. Overwhelmed with grief, Paṭācārā returned to her parents’ home, only to learn that it had burned down from a lightning strike in the previous night’s storm. Her parents and brother were at that moment being cremated on a single pyre. At this point, she went mad and began wandering around half-naked. Only on coming into the Buddha’s presence did she recover her senses. He taught her the Dhamma, and eventually she ordained and became an arahant.

Why this story is attributed to Paṭācārā in the Commentary when it is obviously Kīsā Gotamī’s in the Canon, is hard to tell. Some scholars have suggested that the tales in the Pāli commentaries were imported from other Buddhist traditions, such as the Mūlasarvāstivādin. Thus, the differences between the canonical verses and the commentarial tales stem from the fact that the different traditions attributed particular stories to different elder monks and nuns. For instance, the Pali Canon attributed the story of the woman whose family was destroyed in a single day to Kīsā Gotamī, while the tradition from which the Commentary drew attributed it to Paṭācārā. If that’s the case, it’s interesting to note how the commentators who adopted these tales nevertheless remained faithful to their Canon. Instead of trying to change the Pali to fit with the commentarial source on which they drew, they allowed the discrepancies between the two sources to stand: one of many instances in which the discrepancies between the Canon and the commentaries suggest that the monks who handed down the Pali Canon tried to keep it intact even when they didn’t agree with it.

Later Theravādin texts have tried to cover over the discrepancies between Kīsā Gotamī’s verses and the Commentary to those verses by insisting that the passage in the verses beginning, “Going along, about to give birth,” and ending, “my husband dead, I reached the deathless,” is actually Paṭācārā speaking, but this seems unlikely: Why would one arahant butt in on another one’s tale?

At any rate, regardless of which story is Paṭācārā’s, and which Kīsā Gotamī’s, both speak to the universality of death, and the power of the path of practice: that in the midst of this human world with all its sorrows, there is still a way to find that which is free from grieving, aging, and illness: the deathless.

Having admirable friends

has been praised by the Sage

with reference to the world.

Associating with an admirable friend

even a fool

becomes wise.

People of integrity

should be associated with.

In that way discernment grows.

Associating with people of integrity

one would be released from all suffering & stress,

would know stress,

the origination of stress,

cessation & the eightfold path:

the four noble truths.

Stressful, painful, is the woman’s state:

So says the tamer of tamable people.

Being a co-wife is painful.

Some, on giving birth once,

slit their throats.

Others, of delicate constitution,

take poison.

In the midst of a breech-birth

both [mother & child] suffer destruction.

Going along, about to give birth,

I saw my husband dead.

Giving birth in the road,

I hadn’t reached

my own home.

Two children deceased,

my husband dead in the road

—miserable me!

My mother, father, & brother

were burning on a single pyre.

“Your family all gone, miserable,

you’ve suffered pain without measure.

Your tears have flowed

for many thousands of lives.” (1)

Then I saw,

in the midst of the charnel ground, (2)

the muscles of sons being chewed.

With family killed,

despised by all,

my husband dead,

I reached the deathless.

I’ve developed this path,

noble, eightfold,

going to the deathless.

Having realized unbinding,

I’ve gazed in the mirror of Dhamma.

I’ve extracted the arrow, (3)

put down the burden,

done the task.

I, Kīsā Gotamī Therī,

my heart well released,

have said this.

Notes

1. According to the Commentary, this was the Buddha’s message to Kīsā Gotamī. See SN 13:8 and Thag 3:5.

2. Reading passiṁ taṁ susāna-majjhe with the Thai edition.

3. See Sn 4:15.

magnus

liuli statue can get from race course road. cheaper than tb and can check for any defects.
Surfing Taobao for Guanyin statue

O1CN01QSJVKi24WKhQ4qwJP_!!2078987398.jpg_400x400.jpg

O1CN01WKOKMs24WKhOXih8F_!!2078987398.jpg_400x400.jpg

[/I

AlmightyOnes

So it's 15:32HRS to 18:58HRS???

hmmm I wonder if I should:

(1) Copy Mantra/Sutra
(2) Chant 108
(3) Do Sur Offering

Do all three very tiring :s22:

Can focus 1 or 2.
Spend few hours reciting your mantra/ Buddha name etc, or reading/copy sutra and tired just relax n rest a bit since u have few hours time. Then left the last 10~30 mins u can go downstair do your smoke offering etc or go online and do donation etc. (Or both smoke offering + donation)
It's up to u ^^ See how u want.

scheng1

liuli statue can get from race course road. cheaper than tb and can check for any defects.

Not for myself. Thinking of getting one each for remote temples in China saved in my Taobao address list, but it's quite expensive!

Renzokukenz

You are fortunate to have his number. Most of the Abbots are busy so won't give numbers unnecessarily. Sounds like 广品法师 to me. No need to reveal his identity if not convenient. I am just guessing.

I do not know who 广品法师 is.
Is not him la.

I don't think polite to reveal his name, if not later he kena spammed, and that would mean his compassion for me end up as a hindrance for him.

May I know what's the best way to return his kindness?
I see him as part of the "Sangha", do you think copying sutras/mantras and then presenting it to him would be something that is good?

Renzokukenz

Can focus 1 or 2.
Spend few hours reciting your mantra/ Buddha name etc, or reading/copy sutra and tired just relax n rest a bit since u have few hours time. Then left the last 10~30 mins u can go downstair do your smoke offering etc or go online and do donation etc. (Or both smoke offering + donation)
It's up to u ^^ See how u want.

Evening Chanting now super complicated for me sia

I got

(1) Om Mani Padme Hum
(Guan Yin which was the first bodhisattva I encountered)
(2) Om Pramardani Svaha
(Dizang wang pusa cause I was very concerned where my mother will go eventually when she pass. Also, I burn a paper with 108 hand-copied "Om Pramardani Svaha" after my smoke offering since I think it will benefit the Pretas. But not every day I got time to copy 108 la. The hand will pain also)
(3) Namo Amituofo
(cause I want to have the good fortune of getting reborn in the Pure Land eventually when I die in the future)

But I guess the most important is the heart.
Namo Amituofo

AlmightyOnes

Evening Chanting now super complicated for me sia

I got

(1) Om Mani Padme Hum
(Guan Yin which was the first bodhisattva I encountered)
(2) Om Pramardani Svaha
(Dizang wang pusa cause I was very concerned where my mother will go eventually when she pass. Also, I burn a paper with 108 hand-copied "Om Pramardani Svaha" after my smoke offering since I think it will benefit the Pretas. But not every day I got time to copy 108 la. The hand will pain also)
(3) Namo Amituofo
(cause I want to have the good fortune of getting reborn in the Pure Land eventually when I die in the future)

But I guess the most important is the heart.
Namo Amituofo

Yes u are right, this is the most important.
Anyway coming december 14th, there's another eclipse.
So u can still gain more multiplier.
But sad to say this 1 dec eclipse will affect earth in a bad way.
Probably natural disasters etc

Renzokukenz

Just want to make a comment. Understand that any one dharma and any one practice is sufficient for you. Understand that Buddhism is not "the more the merrier". Understand that focus is the essence.

I suggest that you take a step back and review your practice(s). Understand that all the dharma, practices springs from somewhere, that one place or "non-place". If you are able to grasp that fundamental understanding and fully appreciate it, your practice should be easy. This is your 善根. You should not be crowding your practice to move further from that. If your practise is focus and brings you to one place, you will arrive at your destination. If not, you will look very learned but remain spot-on where you are.

Cheers, 南无阿弥陀佛

Yea I want to end up reciting just one.
But I havent made up my mind yet >.>

You are absolutely right

Renzokukenz

Yes u are right, this is the most important.
Anyway coming december 14th, there's another eclipse.
So u can still gain more multiplier.
But sad to say this 1 dec eclipse will affect earth in a bad way.
Probably natural disasters etc

AlmightyOnes shixiong, you know how to read cosmic horoscope ah??

AlmightyOnes

AlmightyOnes shixiong, you know how to read cosmic horoscope ah??

You over rated me haha.
I can't read them, but I watched many videos on astrology recently ^^"
We are entering new 'age' soon on 21th Dec, 'new' earth.. "age of aquarius"

From wiki (part of it)
Astrologers believe that an astrological age affects humanity, possibly by influencing the rise and fall of civilizations or cultural tendencies.

A common position expressed by many astrologers sees the Age of Aquarius as that time when humanity takes control of the Earth and its own destiny as its rightful heritage, with the destiny of humanity being the revelation of truth and the expansion of consciousness, and that some people will experience mental enlightenment in advance of others and therefore be recognized as the new leaders in the world.

AUTUMN&WINTER

I do not know who 广品法师 is.
Is not him la.

I don't think polite to reveal his name, if not later he kena spammed, and that would mean his compassion for me end up as a hindrance for him.

May I know what's the best way to return his kindness?
I see him as part of the "Sangha", do you think copying sutras/mantras and then presenting it to him would be something that is good?

Sangha offerings like red packet with any amount which most of the Buddhists and I usually do. 供僧功德无量. It's the sincerity that counts, not the amount.

zuppeur

My mum recently passed on.
I am more of a free thinker and I would like to chant my late mum

In her 49 days after pass on,I have monk chanting dizhangjing.
I would like to do my own chant for her

Should I chant Namo Amituofo or Om Mani Padme Hum? Before I start chant what should I say or do?

Mr. Wood

Should I chant Namo Amituofo or Om Mani Padme Hum? Before I start chant what should I say or do?

my understanding is chant both also can.
after chanting, i will add a phrase like, "dedicate this merit to <person>, may he escape the sufferings of life and death"

wait for other opinions from other more learnt bro/sis here.

AlmightyOnes

Sorry to know that, you are very filial and good.
Though u are free thinker u still want to do something for your mum.
U can choose either ah mi tuo fo or om mani padme hum.
It's up to u. if u can, recite as many as possible. If u recite 7 times your mum will get 1 times merit.
After reciting dedicate merit to her, saying (Below chinese and English template for u to choose n use)

“May all merits accumulated from recitation to be dedicated to (name of person) and all sentient beings, may they purify all their defilements and negative karma, be happy and free from suffering and all sentients reborn in pure land."

愿以此功德,回向给(*** name of person) 业障消除、深信因果、断恶修善、信受弥陀救度、专称弥陀佛名、愿生弥陀净土。愿以此功德、平等施一切、同发菩提心、往生安乐国。

(And a bit add on if recite and dedicate to her only, she will not get as much merit or benefit to dedication to all sentients, if u dedicate to all sentients, your merit will be bigger and more beneficial for u n your mum)

In few hours later will have eclipse, and in Tibetan Buddhism teaching and belief, on such day when u do cultivation u will get merit multiplier, so hopefully u make good use of it.

https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/in/singapore/singapore

Renzokukenz

I don’t have my own place and to be able to do some of this is already a miracle considering how my dad’s church forbade their children to read Harry Potter.

I’m very blessed to have a father who let me do these practices.
But I don’t want to push it out of respect for him and his beliefs.

I’ll just do whatever feels right and is convenient.
More in-depth practice can come later when I have things more or less set in life (own house etc). What’s important for me is to cultivate it into a habit for now. What “Fa-Men” I eventually settle in see how next time loh.

Thanks for input though.

Oh ya. I also learnt how to recite the whole heart sutra in sankrits with understanding to 80% its surface meaning. I find it calms the heart a lot during times of emotional distress.

And I find that after chanting (whichever mantra), and after dedication, chanting “Gate Gate Paragate Parasamgate Bodhi Svha” is really effective. I picked this up by observing and reading many of the tibetian Sutras (random sutras I read just to understand stuff) and in those sutras, they often use a combination of mantras (best suited to the specific use). Sutras are like stories anyway, so it makes sense why the tibetian s use a combination of mantras when discussing different chapters and/or paragraphs.

Considering the surface meaning of “Gate Gate Paragate Parasamgate Bodhi Svaha” it makes sense why it was used in the tibetian long sutras. So I think it’s appropriate to use as a closing prayer like how Christians use “amen”.

Just sharing :)

From what I've gather, you practise:

(1) Om Mani Padme Hum
(2) Om Pramardani Svaha
(3) Namo Amituofo
(4) Sutra Copying
(5) Food Offering to Hungry Ghost

You have 5 practices. Your primary practice must be at least 80% of the total. This 80% includes learning about this method and practising. And at your current stage, your focus on learning should be input... be like a sponge and absorb as much as possible for that practice (that one practice or that one dharma door). Learn first, understand later. At the same time, practise what you've learnt. This will build the base for you. You need this base for you to anchor before you explore further. And learn first, understand later is very impt. With insufficient input, if you try to understand, your understanding will be skewed. In time, you will move further and further from what buddhism truly is.

Guan Yin is in Pureland, if you want to recite Om Mani Padme Hum to her, you can see her face to face there.

For DZW for your mother, consider it this way... reciting to DZW is not the only method. In the DZW sutra, the story goes, 婆羅門女 recite 觉华定自在如来 and help her mother 超度 from hell to heaven. It's not whom you recite. The effect of your recital depends solely on how much you have accomplished from that recital and how much merit you have gotten. That decides whether you can do the 超度 or not. Reciting 阿弥陀佛 has the same effect. You can consolidate this 2 into 1 practice. And if you recite 阿弥陀佛, and if you pass, you not only 超度 your mother but your parents of your past 7 lives to heaven (may be this is something new to you to consider.)

For all other practices, consider this.... by the time you reach Pureland, how much more you can do for the 6 realms than what you can do here now.

Like shifu has said, take out the calculator and do the maths.... :)

Cheers, 南无阿弥陀佛

Renzokukenz

Om Mani Padme Hum to all.
Please stay safe and healthy and may we have the great blessings of always being able to practice the path towards enlightenment.

Blessings to all.

Mr. Wood

hqdefault.jpg

Namo tassa bhagavato arahato sammāsambuddhassā
Homage to the Blessed One, worthy & rightly self-awakened
南無本師釋迦牟尼佛

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.