Building a New PC

es0teric

Hi all, I have finally saved up and ready to build a new PC. The last time I built was more than 8 years ago, intel core 2 Duo E8400 3Ghz.

Purpose of this new pc is to watch 4k Drama (will get a 4k monitor next year) and enjoy VR Gaming. Can advise which one to go for or what parts you guys would like to suggest to change from the list.

Asus H170 PRO -6600 (3.3) - $519.00
Hitachi 16MB/7200rpm 2.5 Internal Sata - $91.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 2400MHz CL15 - 16gb - $135.00
Asus GTX1070 ROG Strix Gaming 8GB - $829.00
CMaster V750 750W 80+ Gold - $169.00
Windows 10 Home $229.00
Total: $1,972.00

Asus H170 PRO Gaming -6600 (3.3) - $546.00
WD Black 7200rpm HDD 2TB - $185.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 2400MHz CL15 - 16gb - $199.00
Windows 10 Home - $229.00
Total: $2,157.00

Asus Z170i-PRO Gaming M-ITX 3.2 - $575.00
Hitachi 16MB/7200rpm 2.5 Internal Sata - $91.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 2400MHz CL15 - 16gb - $135.00
Windows 10 Home $229.00
Total: $2,028.00

Intend to get Windows 10 Home version (not OEM) in case changing/upgrade other parts.

Price list from Fuwell.

Kindly please advise :s12:

jnashville

I will forgo paying more for asus strix gtx 1070 and get a ssd. A cheaper alternative gtx 1070 can save u about $300 and can be use on a ssd where u can see significant performance increase rather than a asus strix gtx 1070 compared to other cheaper gtx 1070 brands.

es0teric

I wonder what's the difference between Palit 1070 and Asus strix 1070. Is there any difference in the performance? Actually aiming to get 1080 but too ex already

DJSnip3r

I wonder what's the difference between Palit 1070 and Asus strix 1070. Is there any difference in the performance? Actually aiming to get 1080 but too ex already

Other than cooling and boost clocks (and the bling bling looks), there's only one other major difference which would be ability to OC, but even then, the boost clocks are already quite high, so you don't need STRIX 1070 unless you really want the rgb lighting.

spiky0180

Different cooler and clock speeds only. You probably won't feel the difference in frame rates, but can see a difference in temperature.

I agree with jnash, get a cheaper 1070 and spend the spare cash on other components like an ssd.

Why not consider superflower leadex PSU?

ZrE0_Cha0s

how come all dun have casing and SSD?

would prefer to get that 3rd option though. at least u can still change to a k chip to go OC to make sure u can play other latest VR games in the future.

Koenig168

With Kaby Lake out soon, you might want to wait.

Palit GTX 1070 is now at $555, which is much cheaper than the Asus. Wait two more days and grab the $100 off min $600 Qoo10 voucher and it will go down to $455 (buy another $45 worth of stuff to use the voucher) and there should be a further item discount and gift card discount.

As for Win 10, you can get from Reddit at much lower prices. So long as you do not change the MB, it should be fine.

es0teric

With Kaby Lake out soon, you might want to wait.

Palit GTX 1070 is now at $555, which is much cheaper than the Asus. Wait two more days and grab the $100 off min $600 Qoo10 voucher and it will go down to $455 (buy another $45 worth of stuff to use the voucher) and there should be a further item discount and gift card discount.

As for Win 10, you can get from Reddit at much lower prices. So long as you do not change the MB, it should be fine.

Oh, what is Kabylake? When is it launching?

As for GTX1070, yeah, waiting to grab coupon and buy. But hoping to find cheaper GTX1080 as it is better for oculus rift than getting GTX1070?

undead102

Kaby lake is intel's next gen also known as their 7th generation processor. Btw I like park shin hye also lol in her doctor's role. I think if you were to plan to game at 4k you might want to consider getting gtx 1080 if not 1070 will do. Even gtx 1080 can struggle abit at 4k gaming.

Can consider 1tb or 2tb blue wd drive and FSP aurum 80 plus gold to save cost.

es0teric

Kaby lake is intel's next gen also known as their 7th generation processor. Btw I like park shin hye also lol in her doctor's role. I think if you were to plan to game at 4k you might want to consider getting gtx 1080 if not 1070 will do. Even gtx 1080 can struggle abit at 4k gaming.

Yeah, I liked her after the drama, Doctors. But don't think will find anyone like her in Singapore.

Actually I don't think I will play using 4k resolution. Maybe max will be QHD. Aim is to save up and buy Oculus rift but not sure if to get 1070 or 1080 (depend on the total expenses for new PC).

Guys, if to get 1070, which model and brand should I get. Same goes for GTX 1080

undead102

Yeah, I liked her after the drama, Doctors. But don't think will find anyone like her in Singapore.

Actually I don't think I will play using 4k resolution. Maybe max will be QHD. Aim is to save up and buy Oculus rift but not sure if to get 1070 or 1080 (depend on the total expenses for new PC).

Guys, if to get 1070, which model and brand should I get. Same goes for GTX 1080

1070 palit dual fan @555. Can consider zotac 1070 also for the 5 years warranty.

MoneyFace =p

Moi already noticed her since Goong S.. Evil supporting role but jin chio.... The other 3 ugly leads made her stand out a lot. :love:

Funny thing is after so many years filming Stairway to Heaven, she still look the same while her onscreen lover Baek Sung Hyun looked so plastic lolol.

Park-Shin-Hye-dan-Baek-Sung-Hyun.jpg

002726.jpg

:love::love::love:

MoneyFace =p

Lai lo lai lo...

Here we go again. 2 more days guys..

5aFbZu3.png

ZrE0_Cha0s

well at least Oculus rift minimum support is GTX 970 so getting either GTX 1070 or 1080 shouldn't have any issues, just that when doing 4k gaimng GTX 1080 will still be the better one. (if not can consider getting titan X :D)

GTX 1070 (palit dual or Zotac amp, up budget abit can consider MSI gaming)
GTX 1080 (Zotac amp for the price, up budget abit still think MSI is better)

xiaozozo

imo 1070strix is not worth premium, zotac 1070 amp extreme is better.. but currently palit 1070 dual best price.

not sure why TS chose 2.5" internal HDD and wd black? but there's no SSD... imo get a 250gb ssd and 2TB wd blue is sufficient (theres the 5400rpm and 7200rpm blues, so check what price fits u)

Also psu 750w overkill.. 550w will be sufficient, or just 650w tops. VR is connected to GPU (DP/HDMI port) and power draw is still limited to GPU power draw so no issue there.

Cheapest 1080 probably from amazon, if can wait could probably wait for black fri sales... sub 1k pricing..

timpeh82

For gtx 1080, can get from doraemon,
think he selling founder editions at $1020 nett
MSI founder edition.

lifeishard

Should we buy z mobo with k chip or h mobo with non k chip with price difference of around $60-$90? Would the oveclock of few Ghz improve gameplay much Or save the money for future gpu upgrade?

Also i see ppl planning to buy non z mobo but pairing with 2400mhz ram. Won't the ram be limited to 2133mhz so why they doing that?

royalmage

Should we buy z mobo with k chip or h mobo with non k chip with price difference of around $60-$90? Would the oveclock of few Ghz improve gameplay much Or save the money for future gpu upgrade?

Also i see ppl planning to buy non z mobo but pairing with 2400mhz ram. Won't the ram be limited to 2133mhz so why they doing that?
Z series motherboard can be considered for non oc users because they have better quality components compared to non oc boards. Like in my case I am a non over clocker but still chose to buy the z series board because of this reason.

Sent from Samsung SM-N930F using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.