Buyer's Guide II: Extreme, High-End, Mid-Range, Budget, and Entry Level Systems

neurons

pardon me being a noob but what are the differences between phenom 9950, 995Z black and AM3 955? =:p

quekghi

9950 and 995Z is the same thing, and they can only work on AM2+ socket. they are the phenom 1.

while the x4 AM3 is phenom 2, it's compatible on both AM2+ and AM3 socket. :D

neurons

9950 and 995Z is the same thing, and they can only work on AM2+ socket. they are the phenom 1.

while the x4 AM3 is phenom 2, it's compatible on both AM2+ and AM3 socket. :D

Any difference in terms of performance capability? :s11:

quekghi

Any difference in terms of performance capability? :s11:
the phenom 2 are definitely on a new level from the phenom 1. phenom 2 can overclock better than phenom 1. just go for phenom 2, phenom 1 are just out now. unless u are going for the x2 7750 or x2 7850. but if you can wait, wait awhile more for phenom 2 dual core. :D

batuchka

9950 is the 140W TDP iteration of that chip while 995Z is the 125W TDP. Many AM2/AM2+ mobos had issues running the former chip. The performance of even the lowest end Phenom 2 the X3 710 is still better in games than the highest end Phenom 1 the 995Z me thinks but the latter still edges it in encoding/rendering

neurons

Pardon me again but I have been wanting to build a new Intel rig. However, reading so many posts from different threads, I have slowly inclined towards the Phenom2 side. I am a general PC user, main chores including web surfing, Photoshop CS3 for data manipulation, MS Office for work and presentation, video editing from my personal camcorder, photo editing and probably some lite gaming. No plans for OC or CF. My current build of choice is as stated below:

GA-EP45-UD3LR + Q9550
Team Elite DDR2 PC6400 2 x 2GB
WD Green 640GB
Samsung 22x DVDRW SATA
PC HD4830
Ikonik Taran A30 or Asus TA-M11
Seasonic M12-430W
Win XP Pro SP3 or Vista Prem 64bits

Will be using back my VX2260wm display. As I mentioned, I'm slowly inclined toward Phenom2 and I'm also looking at the same set-up as above with the following alteration:

Biostar TA790GX XE (or 128M) + AM3 955

Few friends warned me that I may find things a little more hazzle as I would need to update CMOS constantly with the Phenom2 set-up for my regular general usage.

Appreciate all comments and advices and many thanks! =:p

neurons

the phenom 2 are definitely on a new level from the phenom 1. phenom 2 can overclock better than phenom 1. just go for phenom 2, phenom 1 are just out now. unless u are going for the x2 7750 or x2 7850. but if you can wait, wait awhile more for phenom 2 dual core. :D

Chim. So go for PI or PII?

9950 is the 140W TDP iteration of that chip while 995Z is the 125W TDP. Many AM2/AM2+ mobos had issues running the former chip. The performance of even the lowest end Phenom 2 the X3 710 is still better than the highest ebd Phenom 1 the 995Z me thinks but the latter still edges it in encoding/rendering

Sounds chim. Too technical for me to digest. But sounds like PII would be a better choice since I dun know much about encoding/rendering terms. =:p

jarred1223

Few friends warned me that I may find things a little more hazzle as I would need to update CMOS constantly with the Phenom2 set-up for my regular general usage.

False. :)

cnt

no such thing. 99% of the time u dun even need to know whether u r using intel or amd :s42:

batuchka

I am worried about the general hardware knowledge of your frens giving you advise as at the worst case scenario it is the BIOS not the CMOS that has tobe updated. Safe to say i am one of the 1st locally to DIY with a 790GX Biostar back in Nov 08 and documented here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2169626&highlight=Fatcat+HTPC
Te 13th Jan BIOS is Phenom 2 ready already and if you buy 790GX Biostars the will most likely have 13th Jan 09 or later BIOS me thinks ^^

normality78

Recently bought Warhammer2, installed but cant play as msg showed my system cant support. I guess its time for me to upgrade already (my current AMD 1.9ghz)

Im looking purely for gaming purpose. I dont need super duper one. But im looking at AMD x3 at least. I need sifu here to recomend me a stable mobo and ram and graphic card. Im not so into sound so i can use on board is fine. Im looking around sgd500 not sure if it realistic. Also im not overclockers

any sifu care to share?

cnt

i tink hold a while wait for rigor. shld be may rite? :s42:

neurons

Pardon me again but I have been wanting to build a new Intel rig. However, reading so many posts from different threads, I have slowly inclined towards the Phenom2 side. I am a general PC user, main chores including web surfing, Photoshop CS3 for data manipulation, MS Office for work and presentation, video editing from my personal camcorder, photo editing and probably some lite gaming. No plans for OC or CF. My current build of choice is as stated below:

GA-EP45-UD3LR + Q9550
Team Elite DDR2 PC6400 2 x 2GB
WD Green 640GB
Samsung 22x DVDRW SATA
PC HD4830
Ikonik Taran A30 or Asus TA-M11
Seasonic M12-430W
Win XP Pro SP3 or Vista Prem 64bits

Will be using back my VX2260wm display. As I mentioned, I'm slowly inclined toward Phenom2 and I'm also looking at the same set-up as above with the following alteration:

Biostar TA790GX XE (or 128M) + AM3 955

Appreciate all comments and advices and many thanks! =:p

I felt wierd myself too. Juz to be sure coz it's not one but both of them saying so. They bought PII920 with a DFI mobo together and I think they ran into some trouble during installation and run-in.

Anyhow, is my proposed system above, may it be Intel- or AMD-based good to go? Most probably may go for the Ikonik Taran A30 casing coz of its sleek look. And that's so, should the AMD mobo be a TA790GX XE or TA790GX 128M? Will there be any anticipated heating problem since no OC nor CF will be done? =:p

batuchka

I felt wierd myself too. Juz to be sure coz it's not one but both of them saying so. They bought PII920 with a DFI mobo together and I think they ran into some trouble during installation and run-in.

Anyhow, is my proposed system above, may it be Intel- or AMD-based good to go? Most probably may go for the Ikonik Taran A30 casing coz of its sleek look. And that's so, should the AMD mobo be a TA790GX XE or TA790GX 128M? Will there be any anticipated heating problem since no OC nor CF will be done? =:p

You want SFF/small footprint casing go for XE else for ATX and CF capable 128M lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.