Cannot complete ORNS

North Tree

I was first called up in 2011 for my first ICT. I was 30 years old then. I knew I would need 10 years ORNS to MR.

However, I was not called up at all the following year, which is 2012. Therefore, I missed 1 ORNS. I was 31.

I was then called up every year from 2013 for ICT, be it high key or low key. I have since completed my 3rd high key and gotten my mid-point milestone NS award.

I am 36 now and left with 4 high keys. What would you do for the remaining 4 high key call-ups?

Obviously now I cannot complete my 10 yrs ORNS, and is ineligible for the final milestone award.

Advice really needed.

Thank you.

reddevil0728

I was first called up in 2011 for my first ICT. I was 30 years old then. I knew I would need 10 years ORNS to MR.

However, I was not called up at all the following year, which is 2012. Therefore, I missed 1 ORNS. I was 31.

I was then called up every year from 2013 for ICT, be it high key or low key. I have since completed my 3rd high key and gotten my mid-point milestone NS award.

I am 36 now and left with 4 high keys. What would you do for the remaining 4 high key call-ups?

Obviously now I cannot complete my 10 yrs ORNS, and is ineligible for the final milestone award.

Advice really needed.

Thank you.
so your qns is what you would do for the remaining HK?

derrickgoh

Might be a bit too late now. U only have 4 more years till u turn 40. Which means your unit MUST ask u back every year from 2017 onwards. If they miss one year or if one of the call ups is low key, bye bye liao.

Last time used to be if u get called up twice in a year it's considered 2 ICT but o heard now they go by year so regardless how many times in 1 year, also considered 1 ICT.

Another issue is whether your unit even needs u back. Depending on your vocation, how many ICTs the CO had planned, etc. Doesnt mean u volunteer to be called back yearly for high key means it will happen.

Last time before they had this milestone issue, everyone try to siam ICT & hope unit forget about them. Now with milestone everyone suddenly so on šŸ˜‚

Before i MR during my last ICT there were some ppl also similar case as u then ask the CO how to finish the remaining ICT to get the $3000.

CO's answer is can volunteer for ROVER scheme but firstly there is a minimum commitment period. Not that u happily ROVER then when u get $3000 u bye bye. Secondly even our CO said he was insure if ICTs under ROVER scheme is counted towards the $3000.

Put it bluntly, SAF is not stupid. They know there are ppl who have missed ICT either due to unit admin cork up or NSMan chao keng & keep deferring. And these ppl now all become siao on due to the $3000. So u can bet its going to be tough to claim this $3000.

derrickgoh

The things some people would do for extra $3000.

And it's not even cash, just credit to CPF acct.
I'm sure you know CPF can be used to pay for your flat, medical bills, amongst others. So unless you are so rich that you consider $3,000 to be peanuts, if not who wouldn't want it?

elnewbie

My experience when I went back for ICT differs greatly. Everyone was coming up with some father, mother story to defer even with these incentives in place. I guess there must be a lot of rich ppl in my unit.

I'm sure you know CPF can be used to pay for your flat, medical bills, amongst others. So unless you are so rich that you consider $3,000 to be peanuts, if not who wouldn't want it?

chehjin

Might be a bit too late now. U only have 4 more years till u turn 40. Which means your unit MUST ask u back every year from 2017 onwards. If they miss one year or if one of the call ups is low key, bye bye liao.

Last time used to be if u get called up twice in a year it's considered 2 ICT but o heard now they go by year so regardless how many times in 1 year, also considered 1 ICT.

Another issue is whether your unit even needs u back. Depending on your vocation, how many ICTs the CO had planned, etc. Doesnt mean u volunteer to be called back yearly for high key means it will happen.

Last time before they had this milestone issue, everyone try to siam ICT & hope unit forget about them. Now with milestone everyone suddenly so on šŸ˜‚

Before i MR during my last ICT there were some ppl also similar case as u then ask the CO how to finish the remaining ICT to get the $3000.

CO's answer is can volunteer for ROVER scheme but firstly there is a minimum commitment period. Not that u happily ROVER then when u get $3000 u bye bye. Secondly even our CO said he was insure if ICTs under ROVER scheme is counted towards the $3000.

Put it bluntly, SAF is not stupid. They know there are ppl who have missed ICT either due to unit admin cork up or NSMan chao keng & keep deferring. And these ppl now all become siao on due to the $3000. So u can bet its going to be tough to claim this $3000.

then volunteer extend.=:p

If i'm not wrong, rover doesn't help because the milestone is age-defined and all rover does is extend your reservist, it doesn't change any terms.

but if you rover,you should eventually get a KAH position that gives you annual allowance, will be more than $3000.

THFC78

I just realise it not only 3K

I got 3.5K into my OA and 2K into my MA

derrickgoh

Even if its just $3k its still money. Whoever doesnt want his share pls donate to me šŸ˜‚

All i need is 10 donors & i would have reached my minimum sum liaošŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

pcmdan

Advice really needed.

Thank you.

7HK is a must. ORNS is just number of years. As long as you clock 10years u will be MR, I.e., 7HK & 10 years = MR

For your case, u have been called in 2021 when you are 30. Hence, u will still meet the ORNS at 40 (since 40 - 30 = 10) as long as u served all your 7HK (ORNS is based on the year of your 1st Nsmen activity, in your case 2011)

LK is never a requirement at least base on current ruling

desmond_yee1

7HK is a must. ORNS is just number of years. As long as you clock 10years u will be MR, I.e., 7HK & 10 years = MR

For your case, u have been called in 2021 when you are 30. Hence, u will still meet the ORNS at 40 (since 40 - 30 = 10) as long as u served all your 7HK (ORNS is based on the year of your 1st Nsmen activity, in your case 2011)

LK is never a requirement at least base on current ruling
LK can be substituted with attending annual IPPT/RT or even medical review

pcmdan

i believe previously the criteria was you need 3x LK
would believe so. But now no such requirement.

If you start your first ICT in 2011, by 2021, if you have clocked 7 HK only, congrats, MR.

3 LK not required at all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.