car cannot start after two weeks holiday

handsomecat

My car cannot start after coming back from 2 weeks holiday. Probably battery drained Liao.

What is best option? Get jump start cables and get friend to drive over? Buy a portable car battery charger?

kawatsu

maybe just call those 24 hour car battery services?

I've used his services and intro a number of friends
Alex
9624 6263

Not advertising or working for him etc..

AL5509

My car cannot start after coming back from 2 weeks holiday. Probably battery drained Liao.

What is best option? Get jump start cables and get friend to drive over? Buy a portable car battery charger?
Not best or better option, I will ask my friend for help to jump start it since the car is park in a carpark lot.
A friend in need is a friend indeed.

Those onsite company quite costly, but 'reasonable' given they make their way down for you so paying more is part of the trade off.

Last alternative, you can post which area you stay and maybe a bro here stay near you and will not mind drop by to help jump start.

Yo2020

call them to come shld b $20-30 premium over the battery price at shop. so total shld b abt $130-150 (including a new battery). if nite time, then higher premium.

kawatsu

How much would it cost?

I think i paid around $120 or lesser than that. Happened at around 11pm at MSCP.
Really cannot recall how much it cost me, but at least save all the trouble and worries that my car battery will die again otw to workshop.

wacko

call them to come shld b $20-30 premium over the battery price at shop. so total shld b abt $130-150 (including a new battery). if nite time, then higher premium.

I think i paid around $120 or lesser than that. Happened at around 11pm at MSCP.
Really cannot recall how much it cost me, but at least save all the trouble and worries that my car battery will die again otw to workshop.

why do you two assume TS needs to replace his/her car battery?

runeruin

why do you two assume TS needs to replace his/her car battery?

Battery being drained,more or less will be damaged,performance will be not be same as before
If its time to change no harm calling for these service.
If its a relatively new car with warranty,be a cheapo like me ,can try calling 24hrs onsite assistant(subjected to availability) from wherever you purchase the car,i called and got the battery changed for free
Do correct me if im wrong..uncle HO KW

Redstar8698

Get jump start cables and get friend to drive over.

wacko

Battery being drained,more or less will be damaged,performance will be not be same as before
If its a relatively new car with warranty,be a cheapo like me ,can try calling 24hrs onsite assistant(subjected to availability) from wherever you purchase the car,i called and got the battery changed for free
it is unlikely that TS' battery has been deeply discharged, just by sitting in the car unused for 2 weeks. if there was no parasitic power drain, and the battery is still relatively new, potentially all it needs is a good long charge, and it will still have some decent life remaining.

AL5509

lolol do not like that leh.
Your gf do not let you poke, come here ask me to poke you leh.
You already call me an Uncle le so do not play your kind de :s22:

Back to thread, damage or not; I do believe it can be tested.
& if there is no sense of urgency, get a friend down to charge it up.
Go to workshop to check and have it change if needed to ba.

In short; in SG as long as you got money, such case is small issue.

Cheers

gohsj89

once yr car is started, the battery will be charging.

car will only die when alternator is faulty while driving or cannot charge the battery.

sunsetbay

few options to start ur car~ :s22:

i. get friend to help to jump start ur car;
ii. get friend to push start ur car, if urs a manual car;
iii. get a jump starter battery (i hv the small compact one which did save me once);
iv. call vehicle recovery to replace batt on the spot~

superhero

first off, how old is your battery?

Most cars can still start after 3-6 weeks.

but deep discharge will shorten the life span of the battery unless you are using a deep cycle battery.

superman

If u are those who always out of country for more than 2 weeks and have nobody to help u jump start the car or start the car for you every week then u might want to consider those portable car charger.

stev85x

Not Advertising.
I saw this in qoo10 and Amazon.
May be you can get this Multi-Function Jump Start Battery for Backup.

Qoo10 Click HereS$89.90

Amazon Click Here$99.88

436720867.jpg

432917161_00.jpg

432917161_04.jpg

61N75QNY8FL.jpg

B00D42AFS8-5.jpg

ash_flames

Not Advertising.
I saw this in qoo10 and Amazon.
May be you can get this Multi-Function Jump Start Battery for Backup.

Qoo10 Click HereS$89.90

Wah, no need buy for backup lah. Not like everyday battery will flat. Just buy jumper wire keep in boot as backup can le.

I think if in MSCP, can just wave at any passing cars for help. Believe 99% of the drivers will help you. Will only take like 2~3mins.

If ts ard near Sengkang area needs help, let me know. ;)

Genesisz

I have parked my car and left it unattended for close to a month while I was away on business trips and it still manage to start and I can drive off after that. Perhaps I am lucky. :s13:

Nonetheless, it would be good to learn about jump starting the car with the correct or relevant cables in circumstances like these.

And I am looking for a set of jump start cables as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.