Car falls into sinkhole at Tanjong Katong Road South; one person taken to hospital

Katong sinkhole incident - Would you jump down the sinkhole to help the lady if there is no foreign

• Yes of course, must try to save even if I dun know how dangerous the sinkhole is

Votes: 24 19.4%
  • No way, I dun know how danger the sinkhole will be

Votes: 46 37.1%
  • No BUT i will call police

Votes: 79 63.7%

• Total voters

yaoxiukia

Yaoxiukia thinking how much of a windfall can she get from this?

Yaoxiukia use chatgpt and come out with following.

Potential Legal Grounds for Claiming Compensation​

1. Negligence

You may sue for negligence if:

• LTA or its appointed contractors failed in their duty of care to ensure that road works were conducted safely.
  • They damaged PUB pipes, failed to detect or respond to the water leak, or did not secure the road properly.

You would need to prove:

• Duty of care: LTA/contractors had a duty to ensure road safety.
  • Breach of duty: e.g., poor workmanship, failure to follow safety standards.
  • Causation: This breach caused the sinkhole.
  • Damages: Your car damage and personal injury.

2. Public Nuisance

This may apply if the incident posed danger to the public, not just you, and arose from the authorities’ failure to maintain public infrastructure safely.

3. Occupiers’ Liability

Since government agencies are considered occupiers of public roads, they have a responsibility to keep the roads reasonably safe for users. You may claim that this duty was breached.

4. Vicarious Liability

If a contractor working for LTA caused the damage, you may still sue LTA (or the government) under the legal principle of vicarious liability, where employers are held liable for the actions of their contractors.

🛠️ Damages You Can Claim​

You may be able to claim compensation for:

• Medical expenses (hospital bills, treatment)
  • Loss of income (due to hospitalization)
  • Damage to property (car repair or replacement)
  • Pain and suffering
  • Future medical costs (if applicable)

📍What You Should Do​

1. Gather Evidence:
    • Photos/videos of the scene.
    • Medical reports and bills.
    • Repair estimates for your car.
    • Police report or incident report.
    • Witness statements (if any).
  2. Report the Incident:
    • To LTA and PUB.
    • File a claim with LTA or the government insurance (through their claims office or online platform).
  3. Consult a Lawyer:
    • A personal injury or public liability lawyer in Singapore can advise you on whether to proceed with a civil lawsuit, how strong your case is, and whether to settle out of court.

🧑‍⚖️ Past Cases / Precedents​

There have been past incidents in Singapore where sinkholes or road collapses led to government compensation. Whether through settlement or court ruling, the government often compensates if their negligence (or their contractors') is proven.

⚠️ Note​

xEpyonx

This Grace Fu, she saying govt agency will not work until ministers give the order?
maybe that's why everything is under monitoring.

govt agency wait for minister order.
minister wait for Prime Minister order.
Prime Minister doesn't want to make a decision, so he set up a committee to study what is the best advice to give.

spunkbrat

Actually shouldn't have stopped leh

Mazda 2 has enough horsepower to zham straight through before it sinks in. That split second should be able for mazda to reach end of cone.

That's what movie taught me

Dracky

The sinkhole is an act of god, unless you can show that PUB caused the sinkhole to form.

Itsthatguy

I said so yesterday liao. Use pigu think also know it's definitely not scdf rescue effort. There's no way they can reach there in time once the car plunged in

I was wondering the same. That stewpig is just a postwomen:poop: who got lucky that came out from the correct hole.

neutralph

Just ask to be transport minister. Got first hand experience. Sure add alot to the resume than those parachute in.

crunsik

maybe that's why everything is under monitoring.

govt agency wait for minister order.
minister wait for Prime Minister order.
Prime Minister doesn't want to make a decision, so he set up a committee to study what is the best advice to give.
Then committee wait for govt agency

kalipo

So that bui bui green shirt man climb over the barrel is a EDMWER?! action only and come here start thread

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.