Car workshop will con you intentionally

carloverme

Spent $80 in a workshop to install my DRL and then found out it didn't work properly. Lights flickering. The workshop guy says my DRL faulty, cannot fix.

Went to another workshop for alternative opinion, they say my DRL from China, lousy. Should buy Taiwan. Can't repair.

Went to 3rd work shop and the guy don't even bother to open my bonnet to check, and tells me LED controller spoil, and that he's seen a lot of cases similar - lights flickering.

So this is what I did - $15 fix.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvcQfhSt3s8

But of course there are more D.I.Y. work done, just because I have to re-wire my DRL to the Relay.

In fact, I added an extra touch - a manual kill switch , so that I can switch off the DRL if needed.

Don't believe your mechanics totally, even if he is your friend.

I am not a mechanic, nor electrician. But the fix is 100% more pro than your malaysian workshop guy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irsyMM2Pzrs

delceer

Spent $80 in a workshop to install my DRL and then found out it didn't work properly. Lights flickering. The workshop guy says my DRL faulty, cannot fix.

Went to another workshop for alternative opinion, they say my DRL from China, lousy. Should buy Taiwan. Can't repair.

Went to 3rd work shop and the guy don't even bother to open my bonnet to check, and tells me LED controller spoil, and that he's seen a lot of cases similar - lights flickering.

So this is what I did - $15 fix.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvcQfhSt3s8

But of course there are more D.I.Y. work done, just because I have to re-wire my DRL to the Relay.

In fact, I added an extra touch - a manual kill switch , so that I can switch off the DRL if needed.

Don't believe your mechanics totally, even if he is your friend.

I am not a mechanic, nor electrician. But the fix is 100% more pro than your malaysian workshop guy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irsyMM2Pzrs

anyhow touch the wiring and fuse, the car will get burn in fire or not ?
$80 is not a lot of money lah. Let the experience expert do it lah.
People also need to eat mah. You expect people do it for you at the cost price meh ?

cscs3

Good job, always try to DIY. Never trust those car workshop. If service with them, always demand them to return old part.

tk

anyway... aftermarket DRL is not legal de... inspection may fail..

delceer

Good job, always try to DIY. Never trust those car workshop. If service with them, always demand them to return old part.

A lot of car driver don't know how to diy.
Car will burn in fire or not if anyhow tap the wiring and fuse ?
Like TS said workshop charge $80. DIY cost only $15, means save $65.
Your DIY no need time ? No need installation and troubleshooting ?
Your per hour rate definitely more than $65 lah.

AL5509

TS point is how you know the mechsnic doing it for you know it better?

Byakuya

what's so complicated about DRL? take 12V from ignition wire done

CCCustom

Not necessarily trying to con you, but rather, many workshops have the lao unker seen-one-seen-them-all mindset stuck in their old ways of how to do things.

Just as an example, I'd posted here about how I'd never buy car battery from lao unker workshops no matter how reputable or how good price ... the famous 1 in Toa Payoh insisted must start engine then change battery ahboh how to retain your radio settings? Like I said, stuck in their old ways.

elf108

Cos they based on experience many years bo dai chi mah. Must kena one then wake up idea.

cscs3

Sure you will need time. But in long run, is going to be cheaper and more statify to yourself. Even you send to workshop, you also need time to send in and then collect it again. Sometime is not the per hour rate count! Some item can be much more saving eg, air cond compressor vs just a relay issue. This is a common issue for Honda series. Is $650 just part alone vs a $2.50 fixes. Most workshop will ask you to replace the compressor.

Try any how wiring up your house?

AL5509

In many case, they are just as bad. Now a day so much electronics and CPU chip in the car.
Ya and again, if they did the job bad, the car caught fire.
Will the workshop ever own up?

My friend car camera was done at a workshop, sadly the car camera fused and caught fire.
He also LLST and claim insurance....

So 'con' maybe a strong word to use at times but some workshop workmanship is very doubtful ba....

carloverme

anyhow touch the wiring and fuse, the car will get burn in fire or not ?
$80 is not a lot of money lah. Let the experience expert do it lah.
People also need to eat mah. You expect people do it for you at the cost price meh ?

I don't Advocate D.I.Y because I understand not all boys grows up to be man.
But what I would remind all naive / new car owners is, the world out there is not as simple as you imagined it to be.
A cheerful friendly person could be just - being friendly, that's all. But if he has a chance to earn tens of buck or two from you, he will hide it from you even if he new it's just a simple fuse replacement, a broken wire, a wrong method of connection, etc. He will attempt to sell you a new replacement instead.
Selling items with labor yields more profit than trying to troubleshoot someone else's mistakes.
I am trying to troubleshoot the mistakes of the mechanics that did my wiring incorrectly. And while doing so, I learnt a few things that I can share with some ignorant drivers, that a fuse, a relay is important. A fire in the car, usually, is because of some other issue, mostly not electrical shorts, because there would be fuses to protect it. A common fire hazard is when engine oil drips ( due to a leak ) onto your manifold and causes oil to burn, then burns your cables and starts a bigger fire. It's largely due to poor maintenance ( or lack of it ) of the driver himself. Do not blame everyone else, or your workshop guy if fire happens. Because you as a owner has the full responsibility to take care of your own property. Grab / Uber cars burning, you probably can assume .. the cars don't belong to them.

hoboonhua

Ya and again, if they did the job bad, the car caught fire.
Will the workshop ever own up?

My friend car camera was done at a workshop, sadly the car camera fused and caught fire.
He also LLST and claim insurance....

So 'con' maybe a strong word to use at times but some workshop workmanship is very doubtful ba....
caught fire because of the cam battery??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.