ceiling fan installation question.

michael_thm

A question... the BTO ceiling electrical hole (60mm diameter) is too wide for the mounting plate of my ceiling fan (distance between opposite bolt holes is 96mm), this mean that the drilled holes (diameter 8mm, 4 of them) will be just like 10mm from the electrical wiring hole. I reckon that this is too dangerous as the pressure from expansion bolts might crack the concrete.
Solution 1 = Move the mount off center so that only max of 3 expansion bolts can mounted. If necessary use a screw plate (with 2 holes... one hole bolted to ceiling and other hole for the remaining unused bolt hole)
Solution 2 = Waiting for EDMW DIY sexperts to recommend.

DbjrD6Y.jpg

VXBt1HH.jpg

gravity_infinity

A question... the BTO ceiling electrical hole (60mm diameter) is too wide for the mounting plate of my ceiling fan (distance between opposite bolt holes is 96mm), this mean that the drilled holes (diameter 8mm, 4 of them) will be just like 10mm from the electrical wiring hole. I reckon that this is too dangerous as the pressure from expansion bolts might crack the concrete.
Solution 1 = Move the mount off center so that only max of 3 expansion bolts can mounted. If necessary use a screw plate (with 2 holes... one hole bolted to ceiling and other hole for the remaining unused bolt hole)

DbjrD6Y.jpg

VXBt1HH.jpg
hire an electrican

michael_thm

Bigger base plate then the bulb won't fit de...

TS, how big/heavy is your fan?
Less than 5kg. Mostly made of plastic. Moving it off center and just using 2 expansion bolts should be safe but I prefer more failsafe installation if possible coz I humji. No recommendation then I move off center use 3 of the existing bolt holes plus use a metal plate to indirectly secure the 4th hole.

And ya no bigger base plate coz the ceiling fan is screwed on to the plate by 4 screws on the side of the rim of the base plate.

Nuvole

Less than 5kg...

Consider to use 3 plastic all plug, 1 1/2" to 1 3/4" self tapping screw with washer.
Then use only one expansion bolt for safety wire.

michael_thm

Less than 5kg...

Consider to use 3 plastic all plug, 1 1/2" to 1 3/4" self tapping screw with washer.
Then use only one expansion bolt for safety wire.
why not more expansion bolts leh?

michael_thm

Plastic wall plug won't expand as much as expansion bolt.
Remember to use washer hor...

My house KDK fan all mounted like that wan.
ya plastic wall plugs can directly fit all 4 holes (the 6mm holes on the mount). but only 1cm away from edge leh?

My offcenter scheme like this...

Nuvole

New BTO all conceal cable ish nice.
But why use such big conduit?

Cowbellc

better call real sexperts fix for u la. very dangerous to diy leh … either electric shock danger or ceiling fan fall down slice off everyone head danger how?!

dun like dis pound foolish penny wise. life worth more than this la
Ya most ceiling fan coy will install for u a price. If u do it urself and something wrong, they might not honor the warranty claiming it's ur fault.
I do reno when my home owner purchase ceiling fans, I always tell them to find back their fan coy personal to install not my electrician

coyote

DbjrD6Y.jpg

VXBt1HH.jpg

Does the ceiling look like a false ceiling? That's not suitable for mounting ceiling fan. Better ask the technician to confirm where's the "reinforced" part for your ceiling.

michael_thm

Ya most ceiling fan coy will install for u a price. If u do it urself and something wrong, they might not honor the warranty claiming it's ur fault.
I do reno when my home owner purchase ceiling fans, I always tell them to find back their fan coy personal to install not my electrician
taobao no company installer...

michael_thm

A bit dangerous that why I suggested plastic wall plug.
@rstopel ideal seems better.
Like this got flaw meh? Move off center so that expansion bolts are at least 25mm from hole.

4th corner secure this way...
0d926faaeff78b98b7a647ea71f8fbb4

michael_thm

Does the ceiling look like a false ceiling? That's not suitable for mounting ceiling fan. Better ask the technician to confirm where's the "reinforced" part for your ceiling.
concrete BTO ceiling.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.