ceiling fan installation question.

michael_thm

I'm using KDK 5 blade for living room and 3 blade for the kitchen.

Both use 2 expansion bolts when I installed it as the mount has two holes.
hmmm... seem that everyone is using 2 bolts and my ceiling fan lights come with only 2 bolts (4 holes) too... have to think carefully whether worth it to jerry fix all 4... 2 bolts no problem as can easily move off center to increase distance between bolt hole and light point hole.

michael_thm

By the way I delayed this project for half a year already with the item collecting dust in my store... really want to get it over with

oddbasket

Hack a length of thin groove to run the wires and mount the fan beside the hole, then plaster up the hole😢

The groove can be very slim since you can extend the wires with thin ones and hide the thick wires in the hole

Prismatic

Why are you using expansion bolts on concrete? The hole is cast in concrete, not cut out from false ceiling.

Alphas

By the way I delayed this project for half a year already with the item collecting dust in my store... really want to get it over with
I got the solution. But this require you have a small plank of plywood at least 1 cm thickness. Cut out the plywood with a larger diameter than the metal plate, then drill a hole in the center of the plywood. Fix the plywood onto the concrete ceiling first then mount the metal plate on the plywood with the bolts.

michael_thm

Green plastic is 6.5mm.... so u only have 11mm to the edge....
Do the slant drilling ish all I can think of.
Not say drill like 45 degree lah, just slant 10-20 degree enough liao.
ya... problem is I reckon plastic plug you need to install all 4 (those 4 holes) to be safe. 8mm expansion bolts however are much much stronger... but because they are so strong... I think I don't dare install bolts less than 25mm away from the light hole. wait knn pressure too strong crack the concrete between bolt and light hole then I end up like the fellow in the thread where the ceiling fan fell.

michael_thm

I got the solution. But this require you have a small plank of plywood at least 1 cm thickness. Cut out the plywood with a larger diameter than the metal plate, then drill a hole in the center of the plywood. Fix the plywood onto the concrete ceiling first then mount the metal plate on the plywood with the bolts.
Ok thanks. I think I would use this idea. Only difference is I would buy a 100mm by 100mm pre fabricated steel plate from taobao. 4 mounting holes on steel plate to secure the plate to the ceiling. Then the middle have a 50mm diameter circle with 4 holes matching the required location to fasten the base plate to the steel plate. Sound feasible?

Alphas

Ok thanks. I think I would use this idea. Only difference is I would buy a pre fabricated steel plate from taobao. 4 mounting holes on steel plate to secure the plate to the ceiling. Then the middle have a 50mm diameter circle with 4 holes matching the required location to fasten the base plate to the steel plate. Sound feasible?
How would you fix the prefab steel plate on the fan metal plate? The thickness of the plywood is needed so that the screws can fix the fan metal plate to the plywood.

neutralph

Ya most ceiling fan coy will install for u a price. If u do it urself and something wrong, they might not honor the warranty claiming it's ur fault.
I do reno when my home owner purchase ceiling fans, I always tell them to find back their fan coy personal to install not my electrician
My ID got cover installation unless product company insist only they can install if not warranty void.

Nuvole

issue.jpg

michael_thm

How would you fix the prefab steel plate on the fan metal plate? The thickness of the plywood is needed so that the screws can fix the fan metal plate to the plywood.
This will work right? With pre fabricated holes on the steel plate that match the holes on the base plate.

33fa5c91a789e3803dbedbcd48924f76

Nuvole

Ok thanks. I think I would use this idea. Only difference is I would buy a 100mm by 100mm pre fabricated steel plate from taobao. 4 mounting holes on steel plate to secure the plate to the ceiling. Then the middle have a 50mm diameter circle with 4 holes matching the required location to fasten the base plate to the steel plate. Sound feasible?
Will be ugly as steel plate will not be hidden by fan dome, and paint for wall won't stay on metal well.

Mecisteus

Get a stand DC fan, far better than lousy ceiling fan.
Standing fan is a waste of space in limited constraint SG.

There are some sellers on shopee with free installation.

Limpei bought $150 only. DC, LED, installation all in.

Nuvole

Get jhk they will oso slant drill the hole lah.

gravity_infinity

why not hire an electrican? shaky ceiling fan can be dangerous. moreover anything that deals with electric better seek professional help.

i only diy things non electric. change hose, clear drainage, drill walls. etc.

gravity_infinity

so cheap? what brand? got free installation why never install?

Nuvole

Other method I can tink of ish not to just the whole and install beside it.

Spirax

my ceiling fan 2 anchor bolts nia onto concrete.
i protested and my electrician hang himself onto the plate to demo its more than enough.
he install ceiling fans maciam like hot knife thro butter for years. 😅
hdb ceiling are using reinforced concrete, anchor bolts x2 more than enough for normal ceiling fan

wongminmin

huh?
just get handyman to drill 4 new holes for u. done.
Just buy impact drill and drill 4 new holes. done

if u want safe and secure, basically u need new holes to secure, not use existing holes.
and i don't think people use wall plug for ceiling fan.
and 2 expansion bolt is more than enough.

Getting handyman isn't waste money..... solved your problem and no need to buy hammer drill.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.