Ceiling Fan Recommendation

tokenbest

Value air 55. Very good la

rPMSnxS.jpg

Nice, do you know the total depth of the fan? around 200 to 300mm? and how high is it from your house floor to ceiling. Trying to see if suitable for my HDB

jolintay

Does anyone knows if Clipsal Ceiling Fan is still available in the market? I have seen it in Malaysia but not sure if can find in Singapore.

Darwinson

My elmark 10 years Liao no horse run.

My elmark also 10 years. Working damn good and not much noise. In fact no noise at all

I think the elmark is very similar to FFM 3000 looks. Any connection between and Fanco and elmark ?

What’s the push behind DC motor fans. Look like just for convenience of increasing ASP only

Any other advantage ?

ken_chia

I recently had 3 ceiling fans failing after 3 plus years of used - 2 48' in my bedrooms and a 54" in my living room.

All faulty fans Low and Mid fan speed very slow, but at High speed the fan was OK.

I managed to replace the fan's wireless remote modules capacitors to repair them:

1 48" fan white colour remote module - replaced the 2UF MKP-X2 capacitor with CBB61 type capacitor but need to cut some plastic and jumper wire, replaced the 1UF capacitor with 2x0.47UF capacitors twisted together. (Because i can't find the low height type capacitors used in the remote module)

I found that the white remote module come with a 2UF and 1UF (MKP X2 type, 275Vac) capacitors and the black remote module come with 3UF and 2UF capacitors. The first capacitor is use for both Low speed and Mid Speed whereas the second capacitor is use for Mid speed. So the first capacitor can affect Low and Mid speed of the ceiling fan.

For the other 2 fans I bought a $12 fan remote control kit and found that there were a 2UF and 3UF capacitors that can be used, just that they are slightly smaller in size then the capacitors to be replaced.

1 48" fan white colour remote module - replaced the 2UF capacitor but need to drill a hole to fit the smaller capacitor.

1 54" fan black colour remote module - replaced the 3UF capacitor but need to drill a hole to fit the smaller capacitor.

The 18mm height capacitors use in the remote module seems to be used as Cooker Capacitor but I haven't purchased any to try.

Sharing the story and hopefully it will help someone, just that you will need the skill to do so.

matrix05

Any way to re-inforce a false ceiling( may by place a 3ply plank inside) , so that is is strong enough to hold a small light wt ceiling fan?

TOKARA

Any recommendation for one to be installed at living hall? 56inch min

I was reading value air not strong...

Price wise below 500

foxer77

been using Fanco for almost 10 year after the first fan (forgotten the brand fail me).

Simple design but with good wind.

shadow84

been using Fanco for almost 10 year after the first fan (forgotten the brand fail me).

Simple design but with good wind.

Which model though? I dun think all models under Fanco are made equally.

TOKARA

Warranty was only for 2 or 3 years I think. I had to pay the full amount for the repairs twice. Might as well buy another fan :s22:

I have 3 or 4 kdk standing fans, after 20 years still working strong. Mitsubishi and philip ones too...old stuffs are lasting.

PictureHouse

The latest trend according to the sales person is to buy Mistral Ceiling Fan.

Cheap and strong wind.

He said another good brand is D'Fan.

Apparently, they are both from the SAME CO

MrWhiteKnight

I am using crestar in the bedrooms. I think 5 years I asked for 3 times repair - once have to change motor, 2 to change capacitor

I amnusing crestar too. 5 years and the living room one died. Started slowing down last year now totally dead. Not sure if can repair. Previously called for repair once coz suddenly noisy.

Room also called for repair once shortly after installation

weathersohot

I amnusing crestar too. 5 years and the living room one died. Started slowing down last year now totally dead. Not sure if can repair. Previously called for repair once coz suddenly noisy.

Room also called for repair once shortly after installation

Yes sure can repair. I repaired a few times - sometimes due to fan speed extremely slow, once due to fan not working at all.

But be prepared to fork out hundreds to repair. Suggest you to consider getting a brand new one if you still intend to stay there for long period of time

Definitely would not recommend crestar. Used to have ceiling fan in my old house. Lasted me 20 years. This brand 5 years break 3-4 times.

eno_lc

Just curious does anybody do maintenance themselves on ceiling fans? Or just wait until problems pop up

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.