Cessation of Ohm Energy’s Open Electricity Market (OEM)

kuti-kuti

Are they going to refund my security deposit? The email didn't say at all.

OutBreak

The best all close shop. Don't need these kind of nonsense. Switch here switch there. Damn low ses.

kuti-kuti

just dun get it, when gov decided to go ahead with all these oem business, not one person tot of rising energy cost that will impact these 3rd parties?

pohw0008

No leh, received letter from sp, they stated if transfer back to sp, thet will charge me for security deposit.
This from my contract yours different??

Your security deposit is collected and retained by SP Group on
our behalf.
If you were purchasing from a retailer other than from SP
Group or a retailer that is using SP Group for billing services
before switching to Ohm, the initial security deposit will be
equivalent to 65% of the security deposit as determined and
published by SP Group for its residential premises utilities
account.
If you were purchasing electricity from SP Group or from a
retailer that is using SP Group for billing services before
switching to Ohm, SP Group will allocate 65% of the security
deposit that you have set aside with them as our Ohm security
deposit. You don’t need to do anything.

kuti-kuti

This from my contract yours different??

Your security deposit is collected and retained by SP Group on
our behalf.
If you were purchasing from a retailer other than from SP
Group or a retailer that is using SP Group for billing services
before switching to Ohm, the initial security deposit will be
equivalent to 65% of the security deposit as determined and
published by SP Group for its residential premises utilities
account.
If you were purchasing electricity from SP Group or from a
retailer that is using SP Group for billing services before
switching to Ohm, SP Group will allocate 65% of the security
deposit that you have set aside with them as our Ohm security
deposit. You don’t need to do anything.
i unsure. will call sp tomorrow

matrix05

So many at the same time! Did they parkat to throw towel at the same time to protest EMA or something?
Combined, got 50% of consumers left in the cold, naked?

DragonFire

Here's a shower thought on SP wholesale.

The peak and trough periods are fairly predictable.

What if a battery bank were used to store energy - charged up during low periods, and used during high periods to offset grid usage?

Of course, large battery banks don't generally come cheap. Was doing the math for selling solar overgeneration and this just popped into my head lol.

This does require participation in the ECIS scheme for solar PV operators. Just thinking of better ways to use infrastructure at hand if I were to shunt excess generation into a battery bank instead of selling it directly off the sweet spot.

Top up battery banks at night when rates are low. Dump to market at peak when rates are high. If touch the $2k window, huat. Make full use of that 100A grid connection lol.

Edit: Did the math. Not really worth it. You need to discharge a 9.6KW battery bank ~300 times at $2 per kwh to reach ROI.You probably won't reach ROI unless you assemble your own battery banks from junk.
And even then you might burn your house down first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.