Cheapest Android Tablet option

w00tw00t

Thanks :) RK2918 looks single core to me. Look at this NEC EV2 diagram;
http://www.linuxfordevices.com/images/stories/nec_emma_mobilemv2_block.gif

It clearly show 2 A9 cores.

The support "cores" in A10 & RK2918 does help the performance, else it won't be better than the original A8:D
Yes RK2918 is single core, I misread it from some product specs. The NEC EV2 is dual core, but where can you find it? In the previous context, the subject was Novo 7A. Is the EV2 found there?

Yes, the cores are there for a reason, but I'm pointing out that sometimes X is not better than Y because it has more cores than Y. Sometimes the counting method is flawed; sometimes the quality of the processors used matters more than the quantity of different processors present. The critical processor is still the main CPU and then the GPU. The rest, well, like the dedicated video decoder or a high-end DAC, really depends on the needs of the user.

I don't think we can buy tablets fitted with purely Cortex A8 processor without being integrated into the SoC. Meaning, it has to work in tandem with other supporting cores.

seasonscrystal

Yes RK2918 is single core, I misread it from some product specs. The NEC EV2 is dual core, but where can you find it? In the previous context, the subject was Novo 7A. Is the EV2 found there?

Yes, the cores are there for a reason, but I'm pointing out that sometimes X is not better than Y because it has more cores than Y. Sometimes the counting method is flawed; sometimes the quality of the processors used matters more than the quantity of different processors present. The critical processor is still the main CPU and then the GPU. The rest, well, like the dedicated video decoder or a high-end DAC, really depends on the needs of the user.

I don't think we can buy tablets fitted with purely Cortex A8 processor without being integrated into the SoC. Meaning, it has to work in tandem with other supporting cores.

Pardon me, the EV2 diagram is to show how dual core diagrams will look like. A10 is single core, and that's why I always (if I remember) to put " " when I refer to the many "cores".

I agree it goes down mainly to the CPU and GPU, but the number of supporting cores does play their part IF the chipset designer make them work. I doubt A10 "cores" are for show, as it's really more snappy and able to run higher resolution than the RK2918.

I recall someone mentioned this in a thread I'd read; some people asked why do tablets need to run 2160P videos? It is because so it can run 1080P smoothly with no lag. Also because it can play 720P videos smoothly even after surfing the net or playing games for 2hours.

Iamatree

seasonscrystal

WAH!!! Order alr then review k! Hahaha it's white and cheap, so tempting! :s12: Think I'd hold off purchasing until December! :)

Ya will review:D BTW I saw Novo7 white version le, it's currently out for Novo7 Basic. The screen or top is still black, only the back cover is white. something like momo9

seasonscrystal

lol A10 tablet prices coming down. Now you can get Onda VX610W +/deluxe capactive screen A10 for 550 RMB:s8: It was around 650 RMB a month ago.

We may see A10 capactive screen tablet at 499 soon lol

pr0dygi

what about u9gt2?

cant wait for m19 to come out.... wonder when will it be out and the price

Iamatree

Just saw the Lenovo a1 thread. How come nobody talk about that in here? It seems pretty cheap! Is it good?

seasonscrystal

what about u9gt2?

cant wait for m19 to come out.... wonder when will it be out and the price

U9GT2 2nd batch still has some screen problem.

M19 should be out on 25th this month, rumor is 1499 non-3G, 1699 3G.

Just saw the Lenovo a1 thread. How come nobody talk about that in here? It seems pretty cheap! Is it good?

A1 2GB version is said to have quite a bit of problem, I never go read in details. 16GB version is better, but still buggy. I'd seen the screen comparisons (with other higher resolution China tablets), the view angle is kinda weak.

Also 16GB version is about 1450 RBM, at around that price I could get a 9.7" IPS screen 16GB. So it's not really a cheap android option.

I would get the A1 for the GPS and for the brand. But in Singapore not many people know of the A1 tablet, people may end up thinking you buy a chiong tablet with levono name:s13:

I was telling the Mrs just now, if I get a 9.7" China tablet that looks like Ipad and put it in Ipad case. I think I carry out, people will only "oh~ another Ipad":s13: Unlike in other countries, "WOW! An Ipad."=:p

pr0dygi

whoa u very zai hor. everything know. kudos.

u interested in m19 anot? maybe i getting during black friday or december promotion.

but if u getting first then can give some pointers or share with us when it becomes stable.

or do u tink m12 is powerful enough for video + online streaming?

kyleongwl

there is a designate thread for it..taking on this thread will defeat the purpose..also, the unit was "known" to be "slow". Its attraction should be its vibrant color

seasonscrystal

whoa u very zai hor. everything know. kudos.

u interested in m19 anot? maybe i getting during black friday or december promotion.

but if u getting first then can give some pointers or share with us when it becomes stable.

or do u tink m12 is powerful enough for video + online streaming?

I not zai, just that the ones u say I have some interests and happen to read something.

m19 if I get will be next Feb liao. Don't want to be lab rat for an item with >S$300 and most likely little resell value:s13:

m12 can run 1080p videos and online videos. My only issue is the weight. IMHO China 9.7" IPS tablet should be <650g=:p Anyway m12 is in SLS, maybe you can go play with it.

pr0dygi

cannot la. i see liao cannot tahan sure buy one. thats y i ask first before going to see.

so would u suggest m12 or wait for u9gt2 to be stable. since ics needs high ram.

seasonscrystal

cannot la. i see liao cannot tahan sure buy one. thats y i ask first before going to see.

so would u suggest m12 or wait for u9gt2 to be stable. since ics needs high ram.

Given this 2 choices I would wait for U9GT2 for the weight. I'll rather get another tablet when ICS is stable in China tablets than put my hopes that the China companys will update old model;)

There's a twin for U9GT2, which is Window N90. There's one more brand model is S10 I think. But I would trust Cube and Window brands better.

pr0dygi

whoa the N90 is good. its like m19 leh. specs wise

how is the reviews? stable alr?

stable liao i tink i just buy alr.

i dont mind weight though. haha

seasonscrystal

whoa the N90 is good. its like m19 leh. specs wise

how is the reviews? stable alr?

stable liao i tink i just buy alr.

i dont mind weight though. haha

N90 the only bad thing I'd read is the parts inside have not been taped down properly. So when sometime you'll hear parts moved inside. However, not sure if it's an isolate case:s12:

I think m19 is lighter:D But I can't recall m19 weight=:p

If weight no issue go have a look at M12 in sls square lah. make sure you test a few shops. I think a bro says he tested 2 shop and the M12 tablet experince is different. 1 laggy, 1 ok.

pr0dygi

alright. i tink i go read the n90 reviews. if really cmi then i get m12 after m19 come out. since price likely will drop. thanks for all the help

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.