ChiangMai

sgreview

Yesterday just watch a video. A China man goes to Thailand as early as before year 2000. Compare to now, salary didn't change much, same as food prices. Therefore, I think property market will be that good. Prefer to rent a month or 2, maybe yearly. Still have time to consider.

Just stayed there for half a month, enjoyed the laid-back lifestyle, affordable food and weather.

Also contemplate the idea on retiring there too (comparing to M'sia). Anyone know how's the rental market there? Perhaps renting may be a good idea, since foreigner pay higher price for property and can only sell to foreigner in future?

Andrew833

Just stayed there for half a month, enjoyed the laid-back lifestyle, affordable food and weather.

Also contemplate the idea on retiring there too (comparing to M'sia). Anyone know how's the rental market there? Perhaps renting may be a good idea, since foreigner pay higher price for property and can only sell to foreigner in future?
Yes.
Recently I been checking the rental market there, basically monthly rent about 20,000 baht per month, usually with deposit of 1-2 month, + utilities bill.
Rental depend on location and size.
Can also get Airbnb but higher price, advantages is no deposit and utilities bill.
1 month stay, will be more lay back if no more working or flexible working.

BoEngLah

Yes.
Recently I been checking the rental market there, basically monthly rent about 20,000 baht per month, usually with deposit of 1-2 month, + utilities bill.
Rental depend on location and size.
Can also get Airbnb but higher price, advantages is no deposit and utilities bill.
1 month stay, will be more lay back if no more working or flexible working.
Renting house is 2 months deposit and 1 month rental in advance.
Check out Pawatproperties.

Andrew833

rent only 1~2 month for got room for negotiation meh?:LOL: unless owner really desperate for income
Hard to say lah, if 2 month deposit may as well book airbnb don't need deposit.
Also depend on market demand and supply.

Bigbird00

Hey bros,
Thought of checking CM, but the haze looks Si beh jiak lat!

How are u guys coping there?

Me in Bkk already buay tahan liao!

Avante7227

hey i also watch the BEST LIVING chiang mai youtube channel

https://www.youtube.com/@bestlivingchiangmai/videos
very nice.
are you living in Chiang Mai?

i still trying to decide whether to rent Mu Ban or Condo
My own observations
Moo baan if you want bigger space, garden, further away from city thus less congestions and more quiet
Condo will be easier to upkeep and closer to town.
If possible, best to try both before deciding for long term.

Andrew833

My own observations
Moo baan if you want bigger space, garden, further away from city thus less congestions and more quiet
Condo will be easier to upkeep and closer to town.
If possible, best to try both before deciding for long term.
Hi bro, check with you. Example if you stay in Chiang Mai for 1 year, how you handle raining season (flooding) and haze issue?
thanks in advance

Avante7227

Hi bro, check with you. Example if you stay in Chiang Mai for 1 year, how you handle raining season (flooding) and haze issue?
thanks in advance
Haze - go out only when required and wear a N95 mask. When indoors, having an air purifier really helps.

Flood - make sure the area you are staying is not flood prone. Last year the Ping river overflow and many areas beside the river got flooded.
Fortunately my area (Supalai Monte condo near Arcade bus station) is not affected.

bberry

Could you recommend a hotel/area to stay in chiang mai for like 3-4 nights while visiting? I have a rental car

Andrew833

Could you recommend a hotel/area to stay in chiang mai for like 3-4 nights while visiting? I have a rental car
2 area you decide.
Old city near to many temples
Nimman near to shopping mall and many cafe but traffic is heavy.

Avante7227

Since you have rental car, I suggest don’t stay in the old city. Hard for parking and traffic congested.
Recently I stayed at “@ Ruamchok Hotel” (previously called A Boutique Hotel) and I find it quite ok. Walk in 799/night w breakfast whereas I saw it’s around 1k via online platform.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CkCinH2AbC9USHbh9?g_st=ic
It’s at Ruamchok Mall, have lots of food choices, fast food, supermarket, clean massage and small daily night market. Every Mon & Tue there will be a bigger night market just 5 mins away at neighbouring Meechok Mall.

bberry

Thanks.

when i reach Chiang Mai, i will drive thru to these area to recce the area/hotel, before heading to chiang rai

Andrew833

Since you have rental car, I suggest don’t stay in the old city. Hard for parking and traffic congested.
Recently I stayed at “@ Ruamchok Hotel” (previously called A Boutique Hotel) and I find it quite ok. Walk in 799/night w breakfast whereas I saw it’s around 1k via online platform.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CkCinH2AbC9USHbh9?g_st=ic
It’s at Ruamchok Mall, have lots of food choices, fast food, supermarket, clean massage and small daily night market. Every Mon & Tue there will be a bigger night market just 5 mins away at neighbouring Meechok Mall.
I miss Meechok Night Market, reach there on Tuesday early evening, too tired so go to nearby One Nimman and Maya.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.