China Tablets to recommend

seasonscrystal

thanks seasoncrystal for replying,
it seems u r the resident China tab expert here, lol.

my main use will be movie/video and surfing.
reading (pdf/ebook) and gaming not that much.
so are u suggesting that better just buy the 7 inch ones ?
the Novo Aurora or Elf might be good then ?
i read ur posts in another thread where u mention Allwinner chips would be better ?
does chip number with RK means Rockchip ?
(noob here, lol)
i also not very comfortable buying online, though i think SLS maybe just as risky.

7" IPS will be good for reading like nook and kindle fire all 7". Easy to carry around also. But if u are old maybe 9.7" better=:p

Elf is not IPS screen. Personally I prefer Allwinner A10 over RK2918 tablets.

RKxxxx chipset = rockchip.

iresell

i read ur posts in another thread where u mention Allwinner chips would be better ?
(noob here, lol)
i also not very comfortable buying online, though i think SLS maybe just as risky.

Buy online, 8 inch should cost you about S$200. 9 inch will be significantly more.
I also prefer Allwinner.

SLS support nowadays since it is run by foreigner so it is not so reliable, but well even those run by ah beng are not much better anyway.

Online you got to pay up first so have to pray hard your set will arrive. But some online shop also does COD so you are safe and can test the set before paying.

surefire888

(noob here, lol)

I hv tried all the different sizes and personally my fav is the 8" tablet.

The 7" is gd enuf for videos but for surfing, book reading and using as photo frame, it is just too narrow - even my 1024X600 Galaxy Tab is too narrow; some 7" may be worse at only 800X480.

The 8" tablet is usually 1024x768 which is the same as the iPad which means the density is even higher. For videos, the size is abt the same as on a 7" bec u end up with some black bars. But for surfing, reading etc, the extra 1" and the 4:3 format is very helpful.

I find that the current MIC 10" tablets are too ex plus the resol is the same as on the 8" although u benefit from the IPS screen. 8" is ard S$230-S$270 while the 10" Win N90 is selling at S$389.

Personally, I am very happy with my Window N80 and i find it better than my Onda VI30 Deluxe. In both cases, I am still using 2.3 so i dun know if 4.0 may make a difference in my preference

But dun just rely on other people's opinion. What u shd do is make a trip to SLS and try out the different tablets and diff sizes and make your choice

zook09

thanks people for your tips. ya i will go to SLS and check out a few of them, then decide.

seasonscrystal

thanks people for your tips. ya i will go to SLS and check out a few of them, then decide.

Best is u bring along those videos (codecs/format) u normally watch to test. Also don't get pressured into buying anything. If any start swearing at u just walk off lor, then come back here complain about them. Since we all know there are spies here:s13:

Also remember there's always an option to purchase cheaper elsewhere.;)

seasonscrystal

Rockchip released some more details of upcoming RK30xx
??? Rockchip ?? RK30 ??????A9 ????

Dual core Cortex-A9 and Mali400 GPU should be confirm, but I have doubt on it running 1.4GHz, as RK2918 was supposed to run at 1.2GHz but never really stable. Anyway we should see or hear some news of tablet with RK30xx in March:s12:

lao3hero

I recommend Window N90 tablet pc,it utilizes RK2918 processor with a 9.7 IPS capacitive touch screen. It features 1GB DDR3 ARM and 16GB Nandflash with Android 4.0, supporting wifi, Bluetooth and 3G. Moreover, it has two cameras with 0.3Mp front and 2.0Mp back,I have the same one,You can consider it

battery life and weight leh? TIA

Teo Ming Ern

battery life and weight leh? TIA

It's basically a tablet that tries to clone the specs of the iPad 2. So the weight is slightly less than the iPad 2. Supposed to have a 8000 mAh battery which translates to good battery life. But I don't own one...

It's quite expensive in SLS - about $389. Single core, 1GB RAM, IPS screen (supposedly the same as iPad 2). I tried it at the Ainol shop in SLS. The user experience is very fluid. No hint of lag. Fruit Ninja worked really well... so no issues with the screen if you get a good unit. I also tried 1080p movies via the OTG USB port. The guys at the shop showed me the playback and it was smooth. But I have not tested it further with other movies that may be encoded in a more demanding manner. Also Youtube seem to work well... so flash works.

I'll be trying it out again this Sat... hope to get a better price... actually I feel that $389 is very good price already even though it's single core... it feels as smooth at the iPad 2 yet is less than half the price. It has full functionality including Market so what more can you ask for...

Teo Ming Ern

I recommend Window N90 tablet pc,it utilizes RK2918 processor with a 9.7 IPS capacitive touch screen. It features 1GB DDR3 ARM and 16GB Nandflash with Android 4.0, supporting wifi, Bluetooth and 3G. Moreover, it has two cameras with 0.3Mp front and 2.0Mp back,I have the same one,You can consider it

How is the Market app? Is it complete like the brand name tablets or phones? Thanks!

lao3hero

It's basically a tablet that tries to clone the specs of the iPad 2. So the weight is slightly less than the iPad 2. Supposed to have a 8000 mAh battery which translates to good battery life. But I don't own one...

It's quite expensive in SLS - about $389. Single core, 1GB RAM, IPS screen (supposedly the same as iPad 2). I tried it at the Ainol shop in SLS. The user experience is very fluid. No hint of lag. Fruit Ninja worked really well... so no issues with the screen if you get a good unit. I also tried 1080p movies via the OTG USB port. The guys at the shop showed me the playback and it was smooth. But I have not tested it further with other movies that may be encoded in a more demanding manner. Also Youtube seem to work well... so flash works.

I'll be trying it out again this Sat... hope to get a better price... actually I feel that $389 is very good price already even though it's single core... it feels as smooth at the iPad 2 yet is less than half the price. It has full functionality including Market so what more can you ask for...

Thanks for the detailed write-up. Actually I have the Aoson M19. Everything is ok except for it being single-cored and its battery life. Lag at times. As for battery life, though the specs said 8000mHA I think it's just 5000mHA (read somewhere that someone opened it up and saw). Also, it's on Android 2.3 still, so I am looking for something 4.0. Not sure if mine can be rooted and upgraded. Did a google but never see ppl mention they successfully did it. Me still new to Android also.

seasonscrystal

Thanks for the detailed write-up. Actually I have the Aoson M19. Everything is ok except for it being single-cored and its battery life. Lag at times. As for battery life, though the specs said 8000mHA I think it's just 5000mHA (read somewhere that someone opened it up and saw). Also, it's on Android 2.3 still, so I am looking for something 4.0. Not sure if mine can be rooted and upgraded. Did a google but never see ppl mention they successfully did it. Me still new to Android also.

If you aren't happy with 爱立顺 M19, you won't be happy with Window N90. Reason is simple, as they are almost the same specs. N90 & M19 both are using RK2918 chipset.:s13:

RK2918 on 2.3 can be rooted easily with gingerbreak. China 爱立顺 community is not on IMP3 but here:
°®Á¢Ë³WoPad M12 M19_¹ú²úÐÂÐËÈÈÃÅÆ½°å_¾ÅÅÉÂÛ̳

Also note that whatever u experience in SLS shop is not 100% true. As the shop tends to keep the tablet working under optimized condition. Meaning they don't install too many apps, not much running on background, maybe even do some tweaks. So when buyer got their set home after a week usage, they find that it's not as fast/smooth. For Android you really must have habit to kill task and make sure not too many unwanted apps is in the background.

As for Android 4.0, I still think it's not wise to get a tablet for ICS. ICS is just not as stable as GB, especially so on China tablets. It's better to wait till ICS is stable;) But by then maybe China tablet trend is dual core lol

edit: Also know this, Rockchip has already mentioned they'll release RK30xx (dual-core) with Mali400 sometime this month. Meaning RK2918 is an outdated chipset which will be replaced.

lao3hero

If you aren't happy with 爱立顺 M19, you won't be happy with Window N90. Reason is simple, as they are almost the same specs. N90 & M19 both are using RK2918 chipset.:s13:

RK2918 on 2.3 can be rooted easily with gingerbreak. China 爱立顺 community is not on IMP3 but here:
°®Á¢Ë³WoPad M12 M19_¹ú²úÐÂÐËÈÈÃÅÆ½°å_¾ÅÅÉÂÛ̳

Also note that whatever u experience in SLS shop is not 100% true. As the shop tends to keep the tablet working under optimized condition. Meaning they don't install too many apps, not much running on background, maybe even do some tweaks. So when buyer got their set home after a week usage, they find that it's not as fast/smooth. For Android you really must have habit to kill task and make sure not too many unwanted apps is in the background.

As for Android 4.0, I still think it's not wise to get a tablet for ICS. ICS is just not as stable as GB, especially so on China tablets. It's better to wait till ICS is stable;) But by then maybe China tablet trend is dual core lol

edit: Also know this, Rockchip has already mentioned they'll release RK30xx (dual-core) with Mali400 sometime this month. Meaning RK2918 is an outdated chipset which will be replaced.

Thanks for the link & info! :)

seasonscrystal

It seems that the US$5 chipset that Allwinner announced at end of 2011 is A13. With A10 tablets already at 399 RMB, A13 maybe will be 350 RMB? lol
1010.jpg

seasonscrystal

but still single core ya?

Ya it's single core, it's a crippled version of A10 trying to replaced WM8650:s13:

Just read something. It seems that a new "old" UK tablet is gaining interest in the China commuity. The name is itablet which has 1GHz dual-core TI OMAP4430, SGX540 GPU, 1GB RAM, 64GB ROM, 7" 1024*600 screen, 3G & BT. Going at 1099 RMB if you can find a seller.

Problem is I can't seems to find in on UK sites:s8:

lao3hero

Ya it's single core, it's a crippled version of A10 trying to replaced WM8650:s13:

Just read something. It seems that a new "old" UK tablet is gaining interest in the China commuity. The name is itablet which has 1GHz dual-core TI OMAP4430, SGX540 GPU, 1GB RAM, 64GB ROM, 7" 1024*600 screen, 3G & BT. Going at 1099 RMB if you can find a seller.

Problem is I can't seems to find in on UK sites:s8:

I can't read chinese well and suck at searching for news, etc on chinese sites. So I'm counting on u for news on dual/multi-cored ICS tablets liao. TIA! :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.