China Tourist Visa

dilphinus

Why does China make it difficult for foreign visitors?
For others,a visa is only 30 days.
Japan is visa free for many countries & visitors number soar .

Other countries make it difficult for the Chinese too. Do you know what/how the procedures are for the Chinese to come to SG in the past? Japan need the money from tourism. Some countries need the money from visa application. Australia is pretty strict as well. Almost all nationalities (except for NZ) require a visa.

dilphinus

My friend hope I stay longer, so I was hoping to stay longer till 1 month or even longer. Expenses invitee wiling to pay. :)

Sent from LGE NEXUS 5 using GAGT

In this case, get your friend to pay for your visa application.

Max stay with visa/single entry is 90 days. Multiple entries visa, per entry max stay is 60 days.

You can overstay and pay a fine when you leave the country. bear the consequences yourself (you may not be able to enter the country in future).

I don't think you can enter visa free and then extend. You can extend your stay if you have a visa (subject to approval).

beanstalk6

Just get the thing done here unless you want to tempt fate and ruin your stay. My friend went through a lot of hassle getting his family's stay extended in Zhejiang and finally had to fly his domestic helper home because it simply could not be done. He had to visit Ningbo thrice to resolve matters and he stayed 200km away.

Steyr69

Just get the thing done here unless you want to tempt fate and ruin your stay. My friend went through a lot of hassle getting his family's stay extended in Zhejiang and finally had to fly his domestic helper home because it simply could not be done. He had to visit Ningbo thrice to resolve matters and he stayed 200km away.

Yup.....last time it might be easy.....
After XJP took over, strict controls everywhere.

China ppl dun give a hoot about foreigners now.

So, best do it right here in SG.

Steyr69

In this case, get your friend to pay for your visa application.

Max stay with visa/single entry is 90 days. Multiple entries visa, per entry max stay is 60 days.

You can overstay and pay a fine when you leave the country. bear the consequences yourself (you may not be able to enter the country in future).

I don't think you can enter visa free and then extend. You can extend your stay if you have a visa (subject to approval).

It might not be a fine now....ji tao handcuff n throw inside lockup.....overstay.

dilphinus

Ya, so anybody applied for visa, know the process? Guess I'll have to apply by going down.

Fill up the form, bring form, passport and photo to 80 Robinson Road, #16-01/02/02A. pay the visa fee. leave your passport with them or bring back with you. when collecting visa, bring your passport if you didn't leave it with them.

johnsonheng

Just check with my cousin, previously can apply visa for three month, Now only one month, after that if you wish to stay longer, you need to extend your visa through police station, condition is that you need local guarantor or a local company in china to sponsor you.

K|muRa^84

Visa free 15 days starts from when?

Say you arrive in China on the 1st, must you leave by the 15th or 16th?

beanstalk6

How easy or hard to do the visa extension in china police station? Is it any station or need to go to the main city one?

Not just any police station. Only major ones in major cities, and "major" is a hazy definition. Seriously not an option to consider. I accompanied a friend's foreign boyfriend to one such station in Shenzhen. Fish-market chaos, and all manner of shouting take place in the hall. Bureaucratic hell.

cdrom85

For Chengdu, please have a look at his website: http://www.chengdu.gov.cn/servicelist/wgrcrj04/

Documents needed, where and when to apply should be listed here.

When I was in Hangzhou, I went to the 公安局 to turn my single entry student visa into a multiple-entry one. I dont know the specifics of how many entries this 中华人民共和国外国人签证 grants you but I'm guessing it should at least allow you to extend your stay past the 15 days.

Do be prepared to wait for a while as there are many people who need to extend their stays or apply for stay permits. I was lucky back then to wait for another 2 hours to get it all done.

seantan101

Anybody here really went down to apply before? Any of you outcome fail? Worried about this... Although I now know need airticket and invitee letter/hotel reservation.

Not much information is given regarding what if fail, supporting air ticket will have to adjust. Hotel reservation have to cancel, worried about these hassle.

cdrom85

Better apply soon then. Mai tu liao.. If you don't actually try you will never know. Especially since so much is on the line. Gives you more time to rectify. It's clear that not much additional help that you are specifically looking for is forthcoming aside from what the others have said.

Good luck! :)

seantan101

Hi, is it true if you buy single outbound trip air ticket, there's a chance I won't be allow to pass custom, either sg or China custom, heard of this before but don't know how true. Thought of buying single trip first then buy return when in China.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.