CIMB FastSaver

hwarzoner

From AI

For your CIMB Bank FastSaver example:

You earn about $544.82 on $500,000 for one month.

To annualize it (EIR = Effective Interest Rate):

FV=PV(1+r)nFV = PV(1+r)^nFV=PV(1+r)n
FV=PV(1+r)n=1000(1+0.05)20=$2,653.30FV=PV(1+r)^n=1000(1+0.05)^{20}=\text{\$2,653.30}FV=PV(1+r)n=1000(1+0.05)20=$2,653.30
PV\mathrm{PV}PV

$
rrr

%
nnn

Simple way:

EIR=544.82500000×36531EIR = \frac{544.82}{500000} \times \frac{365}{31}EIR=500000544.82×31365
= 1.28% p.a.

That’s your effective annualized yield for this promo period.

Breakdown:
  • Base interest alone = ~0.59% p.a.
  • Bonus promo lifts it to ~1.28% p.a.

Why low?
Because FastSaver’s structure is front-loaded:

• good rates only on first $75k
  • everything above that falls back to 0.50%

For large balances like $500k, FastSaver is not ideal.

Comparison for your $500k:
  • FastSaver → ~1.28% EIR
  • StarSaver → ~1.95% EIR (much better)
  • Some fixed deposits now can be around 2.2–2.8% depending on tenure.
If your goal is to park large cash short-term, StarSaver is usually the stronger CIMB choice.

ThreeSteps

from chatgpt

For CIMB Bank FastSaver, with:

• S$500,000 deposited in July
  • $0 balance on 30 June (so full $500k counts as incremental)
  • Normal / Personal Banking (bonus = 0.70%)

Here’s the calculation:

1) Prevailing interest (FastSaver tiers)​

From your promo sheet:

• First $25k @ 0.50%
  • Next $25k @ 1.08%
  • Next $25k @ 1.58%
  • Above $75k @ 0.50%

For $500k:

• First $25k → $10.62
  • Next $25k → $22.93
  • Next $25k → $33.53
  • Remaining $425k → $180.48

Total prevailing interest = ~$247.56

2) Bonus interest (0.70%)​

Bonus applies on full incremental balance.

500,000×0.007×31365500,000 \times 0.007 \times \frac{31}{365}500,000×0.007×36531
= ~$297.26

Total July earnings​

$247.56 + $297.26 = ~$544.82

So if you park $500k for the whole of July, expect about $545 total.

One important note:
FastSaver’s base rate after $75k drops to only 0.50%, so for large sums like $500k, StarSaver usually pays much more (about $813 total for the same amount). FastSaver is better for smaller balances.
from human common sense:
have $500k ? ==> go Citibank
https://www.citibank.com.sg/persona...count?lid=SGENCBGBAMITLCitiWealthFirstAccount

sibeiTrolled

For large balances like $500k, FastSaver is not ideal.

Comparison for your $500k:
  • FastSaver → ~1.28% EIR
  • StarSaver → ~1.95% EIR (much better)
  • Some fixed deposits now can be around 2.2–2.8% depending on tenure.
If your goal is to park large cash short-term, StarSaver is usually the stronger CIMB choice.
Instead of posting the entire AI reply, you could have just copy paste this and call it a day

iduncheckmail

tiertime

Anybody knows :
I'm trying to set up the SI in my DBS BANK for transfer to CIMB,
Apart from entering SI - CIMB in the description , there is this pulldown menu which we hv to select,

wat do we choose from the pulldown menu - "Others" or "salary" ?

sglandscape

Anybody knows :
I'm trying to set up the SI in my DBS BANK for transfer to CIMB,
Apart from entering SI - CIMB in the description , there is this pulldown menu which we hv to select,

wat do we choose from the pulldown menu - "Others" or "salary" ?
You can select anything you want, just make sure it's in the description and it's SI.

tiertime

The SI from 3rd party bank alr got deducted,
Anybody knows when will it get reflected in my CIMB Fast saver ?

ahchan

Just to confirm.

For the SI, I have put the description as "SI-CIMB" but discovered that when it shown on the CIMB transaction record, it is shown as "SI SI-CIMB". I hope it does not matter. Anyone can confirm ?

JetStorm

If 500K no frills just go for Fast saver for first 75k then Maybank 1.68% for the rest.

addict951

Just to confirm.

For the SI, I have put the description as "SI-CIMB" but discovered that when it shown on the CIMB transaction record, it is shown as "SI SI-CIMB". I hope it does not matter. Anyone can confirm ?
Eh you transferred from which bank ar?

Mine is worse. My source bank is Citi and the remark I stated very clearly SI - CIMB.
Now the transaction showed up on my Fastsaver riao but totally dun have SI - CIMB. Wtf 🤦🏻‍♂️
SI SI showing twice is fine. Happened to me last year too, I got the benefit

addict951

Eh those who transferred SI - CIMB from DBS, it is just a future recurring transfer hor?
Then when it reached your CIMB a/c liao, it is a GIRO-IBG transaction hor? Thx thx

Devilsire

Eh those who transferred SI - CIMB from DBS, it is just a future recurring transfer hor?
Then when it reached your CIMB a/c liao, it is a GIRO-IBG transaction hor? Thx thx
yup. i remember it being a "Standing instruction" button in the past on dbs website/app
now i think the interface have changed, just select Scheduled transfers -> Recurring, add in the "SI - CIMB"
CIMB shows GIRO-IBG with "SI SI - CIMB", should be safe from my previous experience last yr

ahchan

Eh you transferred from which bank ar?

Mine is worse. My source bank is Citi and the remark I stated very clearly SI - CIMB.
Now the transaction showed up on my Fastsaver riao but totally dun have SI - CIMB. Wtf 🤦🏻‍♂️
SI SI showing twice is fine. Happened to me last year too, I got the benefit
I transferred from DBS.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.