CNBC - U.S. tightens its grip on AI chip flows across the globe

LocalRider

how come so much kiss ass-ing and tributes still don’t work?

still deserve the salary or not?

pinky thought bee kok is dumb, try play both sides. now get restricted and guess what, made in china bytedance going to use their renminbi to hoard a majority percentage of the capped quantity, impacting not just average consumer but also computing costs for national defence

ricohflex

Do we care?
SG is not exactly world leader or world's number AI computer chip maker.
There are 195 countries.
When US bans 120 countries, it is a joke.

Artificial Intelligence is over rated.
It is the swallowing goldfish, pet rock, hippie fad.
Same old nonsense.

AI is a label to sell anything.
Long ago there was
Automatic
Electric
Scientific
Electronic
Mini
Micro
Integrated Circuit
Computerized
Robotic
Self Learning
Nano
Gaming
Omni
Blockchain
Crypto
Machine Learning
Voice recognition
Algorithm
Deep Learning
Cloud
PERT

BlackWing1977

That time. Jp jav also Good..but seem usa prawn take over too.
I think their legislation killed off their own industry until the companies dare not make... scare lose money... and actresses got no lobang since all the companies scare to make new film then kena opposed by the actress then had to take down the sale of the film and effectively wasting all their time and money spend on production.

national ai strategy falling apart, beekok abandon us and cock block cutting edge technology, tiongkok poaching their ai talents in sg back to shanghai leaving empty shells in sg. but is ok, i believe in lawrence wong’s clear strategy to fix psp and wp

BlackWing1977

they know chao sinkies will flip the chips to tiongkok in a heartbeat :o
What makes you think the chinese companies cannot come here setup their own shell companies and do it?? Singapore not exactly a very difficult place for foreigners to come here and do business... as long as you have money. :sick:

Roadster01

Oh no…what will SG head of MDDI, aka minister, has to say to US included SG to the list?

probably just need show her salary slip and every US head will shiver in their pants?

need buy more F35s?

vbhelper

nice it's time for tech pullback. digital transformation over last 10 years really make things move so fast paced

tokong

Dun belong to us, doubt they can sell to us against USA's will

Um...I am answering your question. You asked if we can ownself fabricate.
No, we cannot fab, but private fabs can help us fab.
My friend is working in an IC design firm. He designs NAND gates flash memory (SD/SDXC card, CF card) and also some other chips. Design is sent to fab plant locally or overseas. As long as the chips you design are worth something, the chip fabs can't wait to sign a deal with you.

Those doing PhD in chip design (research) also send their design to local fab plants to fabricate because private plants also work with universities to get future talents and future products.

administrator88

I think their legislation killed off their own industry until the companies dare not make... scare lose money... and actresses got no lobang since all the companies scare to make new film then kena opposed by the actress then had to take down the sale of the film and effectively wasting all their time and money spend on production.
Angmo don’t understand them also

Go cycling then put stick in front wheel then fall down

forests_gump

Maybe what we need is MSGA (Make Singapore Great Again) lead by unified opposition parties. We need MSG , and more MSG.
While I agree MSGA, but 70% daft are also having translator genes, they rather ride skyhigh property prices & don't give a damn whether their next gen can afford a roof ~ so what are the chances they care abt MSGA?!?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.