COE Car - Which Brand

TimsTom

i see JHK car can drive for more than 10yrs and working well......if i want to buy a COE car, which brand/model can i consider? my friend told me Merc is the best option as very reliable even after 10 yrs.

anyone can share your thoughts on this? thank you
My friend told me that continental cars not as reliable as Jap cars tho…
*i dont own any car, so no advice from me, just hearsay from friend.

Cowbellc

Merce cars are really good and comfortable car no doubt BUT when u need to change parts it is costly and their yearly servicing also not cheap.

for me i rather buy new japanese or korean cars and change them every 3 to 4 years.
of course not in sg lah

No benz for me dude.
My previous gf breakup wif me cos she got a merz guy.
So i won't get a benz

brushless

misconception is that mercedes is always expensive

of course korean jap car cheaper

but for conti merc by far is the brand with cheaper parts and servicing

silent-silence.gif

iosnewbie

If you intend to drive the COE car for more than 5-6 years, I consider if the make and model of the car has spare parts available. Recently I found that taobao is a good source of Jap model cars spare parts. Their parts may not be made directly in Japan but Jap cars share a lot common parts across several generations so there’s a very good chance a part which your workshop say isn’t available anywhere, can be easily purchased from taobao or even AliExpress.

I just DIY changed my 2007 Honda’s air intake hose with part bought from taobao.

CyberTan

My friend told me that continental cars not as reliable as Jap cars tho…
*i dont own any car, so no advice from me, just hearsay from friend.
Old merc are definitely reliable. They are built to last.

I was fortunate to sit in pre/facelifted w124 models. Rock Solid body. 1 drove to malacca, another drove to Selangor and Genting in early 20’s. The pre facelifted 200E model easier to overheat. Drove to Genting halfway need to let the car cool down because it nearly hit the hot meter.

hachi

wow, seems like toyota and honda is the brand to go.....

i poor man, cannot buy less than 10yrs car....that y hit my face swollen to look fat.......
Suzuki as well... Parts cheap... Drive until 260k km...

hachi

i recommend cars with many electronics and air suspension. These are very good and comfortable. They work well too with sufficient upkeep.

btw I am a car workshop owner, so trust me
Hahhahaha can be frds with you....

hachi

Don’t listen to them drive jap car. Zeng or wrap the merc will look chio. In car also can change to android 11 inch big big. My colleague took c180 till now 6 year coe car also Bo tai chi as long as u got service regularly. Each month set aside 100 for any big repair. Don’t be a sheep and get wat Toyota unless you are 60 years old uncle then u better get a Camry. Else get what you desire else u will always regret it.
Agreed once you go conti... Cannot go back... My colleague said that... His coe audi s5 really fast... Towing also a bit ex cos 4wd...need a flatbed to tow...

kawarides

Just follow those popular Japanese makes car that Malaysian drive you'll be safe from parts issues

Passerbytoday

Many ppl say part is issue, so far I never Kena issue. But the cost is higher than jap ones. U get wat u paid for I guess.

I see some of the replies here I wanna laugh. Talk until got dragon or tiger to recommend simi conti simi audi mercs.

Most of the replies here really +1 purpose. Got licence or not also unknown yet act until damn pro.. If serious and constructive advise, please post

Car key and censored licence with edwm word and today date.

CyberTan

here it’s known everyone makes 20k a month Andy lau lookalikes. Later I will go high end restaurants pick up receipts and show u.
I’m sure only a handful are doing well. Most maybe earn 3/4K type.

here can talk tiger and dragon.

Passerbytoday

I’m sure only a handful are doing well. Most maybe earn 3/4K type.

here can talk tiger and dragon.
Must understand people come here blow off steam, take things with a pinch of salt. Dyodd. Last time got member Kena exposed he not that rich but keep posting atas place for makan. Go see on the road how many coe car and brands will get the answer anyway

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.