COE Car - Which Brand

atan030

Pls buy coe merc, cheap cheap and within a year spend more than 3k replacing and fixing parts
I would take a 10 yr E250 and gladly spent $3k to replace wear and tear over a brand new Toyota Altis anytime.

The 10 yr E250 (Facelift W212 LED headlight model) looks expensive and modern even today. The car interior just needs to upgrade with a 12" Android player. The ride and comfort beats even a newer Toyota Harrier.

CyberTan

Must understand people come here blow off steam, take things with a pinch of salt. Dyodd. Last time got member Kena exposed he not that rich but keep posting atas place for makan. Go see on the road how many coe car and brands will get the answer anyway
Is it golem?

actually coe cars on the road gives a good gauge which cars are reliable. Every now and then you still see old w124 on the road.

edmwing

Toyota Vios. I redlined and whacked it for 10 years then renewed COE let my wife drive. Other than wear/tear.. only the a/c compressor spoil once. My conti drive 6 years every year got some random thing spoil.

Mr Totoro 38

how much u can afford and how much troubles on the maintenance you willing to handle....

Jap car - Toyota

EU car - Marsarti / Audi

Mr Totoro 38

Toyota Vios. I redlined and whacked it for 10 years then renewed COE let my wife drive. Other than wear/tear.. only the a/c compressor spoil once. My conti drive 6 years every year got some random thing spoil.

ya

conti car always give problem on gear box after 4yrs of driving no matter how careful u drive

Mr Totoro 38

My friend told me that continental cars not as reliable as Jap cars tho…
*i dont own any car, so no advice from me, just hearsay from friend.

ya...your friend is right...

but if ppl still think Merc is very reliable haha that was in the old time only.
Or perhaps is hao lian thread...lol

Shutterbox

I would take a 10 yr E250 and gladly spent $3k to replace wear and tear over a brand new Toyota Altis anytime.

The 10 yr E250 (Facelift W212 LED headlight model) looks expensive and modern even today. The car interior just needs to upgrade with a 12" Android player. The ride and comfort beats even a newer Toyota Harrier.
Only 3k?

Sure bo? :s13:

TimsTom

Old merc are definitely reliable. They are built to last.

I was fortunate to sit in pre/facelifted w124 models. Rock Solid body. 1 drove to malacca, another drove to Selangor and Genting in early 20’s. The pre facelifted 200E model easier to overheat. Drove to Genting halfway need to let the car cool down because it nearly hit the hot meter.
I never sat in conti car bef. That im not so sure.

CyberTan

I never sat in conti car bef. That im not so sure.
Try sitting in one. Old merc has the solid clunk sound. Cars these days doesn’t give you this feeling.

need to put some force then it will close properly

Passerbytoday

Is it golem?

actually coe cars on the road gives a good gauge which cars are reliable. Every now and then you still see old w124 on the road.
Not sure the name. But no matter lah.

the right coe car can Tahan one. But u need to know what to check for

boxer33

Agreed once you go conti... Cannot go back... My colleague said that... His coe audi s5 really fast... Towing also a bit ex cos 4wd...need a flatbed to tow...
not true. my colleague A5 not even 3 years consume engine oil & need overhaul.
luckily under warranty & when warranty ended faster sell & go back to japanese car.

Ethan_

toyota
honda
Think usually people will go for these common brands for availability of parts and ease of maintenance and repair.

Cause not all brands can so easy get parts the older the model. Especially those that have limit sales one, once model discontinue, the spare part market may also quickly mati, can get one is existing stock.

Toyota think alot of the parts are common across many models. Thus more easy to get and use. Its one of the reason why people get Toyota.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.