COE going downhill.

TopGun

Don't be surprised it is... hdb, pri sch slot, etc. It seems to be sort of the default system to fall back on all along. The question then is, why not for coe, not why coe.

Housing and education is quite different from private transport.

Ethan_

I am talking about private land. Not a lease.

Even HDB, then why AMK Bishan more expensive than sengkang BTO?

Just ballot everything loh! So fair ma...

Having a car is not a basic need. Unless you live in somewhere like USA, canada.
Cause coe claim to solve 'the' problem, when its just a tool for distribution, thus don't get why people saying it is to solve 'the' problem, when 'the' problem is already built into the long term plan and the inability of system to meet the plan. For distribution, the ballot system if tweak, should work very well as well, albeit with much lesser cost to the people.

Think that hdb question is not valid, cause hdb price is never up for people to choose. They say people pay only. But people do ballot for the right to buy the flat. Notice the similarity?... Limited supply, ballot to solve who get it.

So is saying coe is not to solve 'the' problem lah?

thorsten139

Cause coe claim to solve 'the' problem, when its just a tool for distribution, which ballot system if tweak can work very well as well, albeit with much lesser cost to the people. That question is not valid, cause hdb price is never up for people to choose. They say people pay only. But people do ballot for the right to buy the flat. Notice the similarity?

So is saying coe is not to solve 'the' problem lah?

A place to live is a need. Driving a car is a need?

You don't even have to ballot if you are willing to stay in some sucky area

COE is prolly not the best way. But certainly more feasible than balloting

jinmuddy

Why are PRs and FTs competing for resources which the locals have more need for?

jinmuddy

Driving a car may not be a need but of great convenience for families with kids/elderly.

thorsten139

Driving a car may not be a need but of great convenience for families with kids/elderly.

you just said it, its a convenience....not a need.

SO many people got kids and elderly, like that everyone drive? Then those who damn suay but need the car more than you cannot ballot tio. How you gonna justify that?

Just tell them sorry you suay loh?

Ethan_

COE is prolly not the best way. But certainly more feasible than balloting
If system see it that way, then everyone would have a place to live in already. Don't be mistaken, coe is not just for cars only. Coe apply to almost every vehicles on the road. Which include core transport services which serve the public. They not a need? If so, why not take all these vehicles off the road leaving just private cars only? See how the whole country come to a stop with no one delivering goods, services and people around.

thorsten139

If system see it that way, then everyone would have a place to live in already. Don't be mistaken, coe is not just for cars only. Coe apply to almost every vehicles on the road. Which include core transport services which serve the public. They not a need? If so, why not take all these vehicles off the road leaving just private cars only? See how the whole country come to a stop with no one delivering goods, services and people around.

Please la...HDB you got see the CCK ulu area under subscribed? Nobody want to go there live la because its ulu. How many family cannot find flat is because they want a better location? If you dun mind location sure can get one

Transport services assets given by the government, left pocket right pocket COE doesn't apply to them at all.

The impact of COE for business and heavy duty vehicles are small compared to the private car market impact. Whole country coming to a stop? Is it because you no car?

You unhappy that you not willing to pay more for a car don't say until like COE causing super high impact on other things leh. You just complaining because you want to drive but no car

If you talking about mitigating COE impact on business and such. You should be talking about how to redistribute the COE money collected to help mitigite these from EDB side. Business grants etc,

Ethan_

Please la...HDB you got see the CCK ulu area under subscribed? Nobody want to go there live la because its ulu. How many family cannot find flat is because they want a better location? If you dun mind location sure can get one

Transport services assets given by the government, left pocket right pocket COE doesn't apply to them at all.

The impact of COE for business and heavy duty vehicles are small compared to the private car market impact. Whole country coming to a stop? Is it because you no car?

You unhappy that you not willing to pay more for a car don't say until like COE causing super high impact on other things leh. You just complaining because you want to drive but no car

If you talking about mitigating COE impact on business and such. You should be talking about how to redistribute the COE money collected to help mitigite these from EDB side. Business grants etc,
Just curious, how far this charade is going to go on? Is more and more not making any sense. Can just stick to the point? Seems like thyself is dragging it all over the world, away from original, to hdb, to land, to needs, to business, etc. Then when say transport is not a need (blanket cover all), pointed out that many core transport services need it, in turn try belittle them saying they insignificant. Paiseh, rest the case, didn't know thyself is an authority on transport.

Think was just saying that its just a tool for distribution, not really to solve 'the' problem, when many seems to see that it is. And if its a tool for distribution, ballot could work just as well if tweaked.

thorsten139

Just curious, how far this charade is going to go on? Is more and more not making any sense. Can just stick to the point? Seems like thyself is dragging it all over the world, away from original, to hdb, to land, to needs, to business, etc. Then when say transport is not a need (blanket cover all), pointed out that many core transport services need it, in turn try belittle them saying they insignificant. Paiseh, rest the case, didn't know thyself is an authority on transport.

Think was just saying that its just a way for distribution, not really to solve 'the' problem, when many seems to see that it is. And if its a tool for distribution, ballot could work just as well if tweaked.

tok kok...I say people like you driving a car is not a need you can twist to me saying transportation on a whole is not a need. You cannot take public transport? Bring your family out cannot take cab?

And I am saying that balloting is totally not feasible. You have 200 people with the same family background with 2 kids and 3 elderlies. How you gonna allocate 5 cars? How you justify to the 195 who fail to get the car and then the 5 family got a car?

Say they ***** suay try again next time???

Ethan_

tok kok...I say people like you driving a car is not a need you can twist to me saying transportation on a whole is not a need. You cannot take public transport? Bring your family out cannot take cab?

And I am saying that balloting is totally not feasible. You have 200 people with the same family background with 2 kids and 3 elderlies. How you gonna allocate 5 cars? How you justify to the 195 who fail to get the car and then the 5 family got a car?

Say they ***** suay try again next time???
And the current system solve the problem? All families with 2 kids and 3 elderlies got a car? If not, what thy saying?

Already said ballot system with a tweaked. If it can do for hdb where certain people deem to need it more can have more than one chance at balloting... go figure.

thorsten139

And the current system solve the problem? All families with 2 kids and 3 elderlies got a car? If not, what thy saying?

Already said ballot system with a tweaked. If it can do for hdb where certain people deem to need it more can have more than one chance at balloting... go figures.

The problem? I already say having a car is not a basic need. The family with 2 kids and 3 elderlies can jolly well survive without a car.

If you want a car, then pay for it. There aren't enough to allocate to every family who say they need to drive their elderly around. The rich no papa mama to send to hospital for checkup? You cannot call a cab or ambulance?

I am saying how the fug you quantify who needs a car? And how many cars do you have in the first place? Balloting for a car is simply stupid and not feasible. AND its not FAIR as well.

What they should be doing now is to improve on the Train and public transportation network and reliability.

If you have a better suggestion I am listening here.

And HDB. I ALREADY established that if you don't mind location, sure can ballot tio the HDB. There is no severe shortage of HDB for now, the ones who can't get a HDB are only those who hiam location. There isn't even a comparison here.

asparagus

Some people would rather spend on property, others on cars yet others on luxury items and holidays.

The coe bidding system addresses the priorities of different people.

If you value a car highly, you can buy (or bid) at high prices.
If you don't need it so urgently, then you can save up more/earn more or wait for prices to come down.

Alot of people can afford a car if they wish to. It's just a matter of priorities.

parkingandride

Already said ballot system with a tweaked. If it can do for hdb where certain people deem to need it more can have more than one chance at balloting... go figure.

Balloting for a coe ? If tio, must have mop of 5 yrs ? In 5yrs cannot sell car or pay levy ?? Go figure how it will mess up the 2nd hand market... worse is if u manage to be rich 1 day and wan enjoy life, still cannot use money buy coe ?? Or ballot applies only to cat a ?

jinmuddy

you just said it, its a convenience....not a need.

SO many people got kids and elderly, like that everyone drive? Then those who damn suay but need the car more than you cannot ballot tio. How you gonna justify that?

Just tell them sorry you suay loh?

Bro, u kumgong or wad? I said convenience right? Why do i need to justify??

Chill lah.

straweffigy

People still trying so hard to argue driving or having a private means of transport as a need.. Lol.

Driving is a luxury. If you cannot afford it, then try harder. No matter how lousy our public transport it, it is meant to serve the masses. You need to make do. If not, cough out the dough and buy a car.

As a saying goes, a beggar cannot be a chooser.

In a country with limited land area and roads with increasing population, there will be people who feel short-changed. In most circumstances like this, there will be no fairness and priority is given to those who most can afford it, not those who most WANT it.

Zeroplus1

People still trying so hard to argue driving or having a private means of transport as a need.. Lol.

Driving is a luxury. If you cannot afford it, then try harder. No matter how lousy our public transport it, it is meant to serve the masses. You need to make do. If not, cough out the dough and buy a car.

As a saying goes, a beggar cannot be a chooser.

In a country with limited land area and roads with increasing population, there will be people who feel short-changed. In most circumstances like this, there will be no fairness and priority is given to those who most can afford it, not those who most WANT it.

QFT:s12::s12:

Nitez86

Cars ownership have to be this way in singapore frankly speaking. Be it COE is a distribution or what, so long you don't buy a car it won't affect you in anyway. Only when you insist you must own a car then it will affect you, yes all of us wish to improve our lives by owning a private car. Who doesn't wants to improve their lives, like i said you want a car to fetch your gf or wife, he also want, i also want, everyone also want. Then how, so you trying to say your wife must sit car my wife don't need huh. So the best way is to let those rich people to drive. Some may say it's unfair but you can't please everyone seriously, we are not living in the states or Australia or china, we go supermarket need 1 hour or what. SG is considered very convenient already to be frank, so just let those rich people drive. As for the ordinary citizen take public transport lor, and don't be too full of yourselves like taking bus very no face. Even in london not everyone own a car too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.