COE Predictions

cscs3

But still some suckers will get back from them hahaha

Not talking about the product but the dealer hor

It depend on current booking status. Honda Civic for example, delivery is now Q to Jun. So clearly if you book now, they are not going in for your COE bidding. Toyota for example, new Altis should be in around Mar and currently old model is clearing stock and the price was 91k to 92k previously. So even increase by 1k, selling price is still attractive anyway.
For other brand eg KIA, they actually drop price (at least during car show).

Also, not to forget financial year start in FEB. There may be new announcement too. So is up to anyone guess. Best mistake is to follow what salesman say.

HondaJG

It depend on current booking status. Honda Civic for example, delivery is now Q to Jun. So clearly if you book now, they are not going in for your COE bidding

now KM change pattern liao :s11::s22::s22:
previously, once you book, KM go in the next available bidding slot and you will then wait for your car for another 3 to 4 mths :s12::s12:

Solidus_GZ

It depend on current booking status. Honda Civic for example, delivery is now Q to Jun. So clearly if you book now, they are not going in for your COE bidding. Toyota for example, new Altis should be in around Mar and currently old model is clearing stock and the price was 91k to 92k previously. So even increase by 1k, selling price is still attractive anyway.
For other brand eg KIA, they actually drop price (at least during car show).

Also, not to forget financial year start in FEB. There may be new announcement too. So is up to anyone guess. Best mistake is to follow what salesman say.

Someone might say the if they book coe now it might be too early unless they book the coe later which is 4 to 5 mths away and also a big risk for ad is that nobody know how much the coe will cost anything can happen.

Bor, have you seen the new Macan? Damn shiok leh! Do you guys know the average COE for SUV but like a normal car?

gohsj89

now KM change pattern liao :s11::s22::s22:
previously, once you book, KM go in the next available bidding slot and you will then wait for your car for another 3 to 4 mths :s12::s12:

my car arrived in SG, but they still take their own sweet time and bid lowly >.<

ketua

online-190124-coequota.jpg

Dafug! I remember reading somewhere that this years more quota because more deregistered or something like that?

Orphan

Dafug! I remember reading somewhere that this years more quota because more deregistered or something like that?

Maybe this EDMW thread?
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...2009-coe-quota-high-115-946-a-5911815-12.html

Got many factors lah. My humble layman analysis:
We can look at https://coe.sgcharts.com/ for the quotas in 2009 (3rd graph).

Until March 2009 2nd bidding, quota is 1.8k.
April 2009 will have a sharp drop to 1.4k.
This is without any other factors further reducing the quota.

What factors can affect the prices -
- Ppl see december 2018 CoE price drop, will have an influx of folks who want to buy. Takes maybe 2 months to clear
- Ppl get year end bonus, will also look at buying cars
- Year end clearance sales, ppl buy car
- 2019 come, ok, still got job, ppl buy car
- Singapore Motor Show come, ppl buy car
- CNY, buy car and change new car like change clothes (ok, this one partially joking)

Everytime got influx of ppl buy car, backlog will take 2 months to clear.
So for the influx of buyers I mentioned to clear, will be March. Maybe got a small 1 or 2 bid window to get reasonable CoE before April.

After that, quota from de-registered 2009 cars will drop by quite a large number. Supply drop, price goes up. And still got backlogs from Feb and March to clear. Dealers who promised guaranteed 4 bids will LL have to bid higher to fulfil contract to customers. CoE price shoots up.

2 months after April, CoE may go down a bit coz ppl see so expensive will hold off, but it will be the post April 2019 price.

There's a chance that you buy now, dealer promised you 6-8 bids and LL pay gao gao for April CoE price.
But dealers also not stupid, they do this for a living, so they will have their means to ensure they won't lose money and have to bid high high. So car prices will rise again.

As to why I mentioned 2 months repeatedly - coz I agar-ation the number of guaranteed bids by all the different dealers, which is abt 4 bids, meaning 2 months. This is just a OMA number (number I anyhow pulled out of my ass). Depending on different factors, the cooldown lag can be up to 6 months also. Or if full fledged trade war erupts, no deal Brexit cause knock-on effects to EU and the rest of the world, China economy burst, then ppl will hold off buying and CoE drop. But by then, even CoE drop to below 10k, ppl may not want to buy either.

trento

the last bottom was 25k or so. now will be all the way with the usual fluctuations. bull market returning too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.