Coffee beans in sinkieland (not 3-in-1)

yukirin92

Oil form the crema.
There's nothing essentially bad about the oil.
No oil, no crema, no body, no espresso.

Try telling the barista to do an espresso with light roast from a coffee that had degassed fully. They can't do it with standard 7g-8g for a single because it's too thin, some hipster cafes even put 22g to pull a single to compensate for the lack of oil. So consumption of whatever substance in it is 3x.

Italians had been drinking oily dark roast coffee, almost the same as what's consumed in SEA. Also loaded with caffeine with robusta, and Italians are currently among the longest lived amdk.

For filter I don't use the sock or paper though, I think it absorbs the oil which gives me a weak coffee with alot of flavours removed. For coffee socks, even worse, the rancid oil retained on it will pass on to the next cup, giving it a dirty taste.

It's more to do with the beans they use. Kopitiam coffee beans are usually roasted with butter/margarine, those are the oils that will get you.

bullfrog

I'm surprised nobody mentioned lavazza coffee beans. I've tried so many of the locally sold ones. All the so called freshly roasted coffee beans.
None of them can stand up to lavazza beans.

Cannot find them in stores here but i found them on amazon.sg in 1kg bags.

Just be sure you get a good vacuum sealed container so you can keep the beans fresh.

Posted from PCWX using VOG-L29

hardwaregone

It's more to do with the beans they use. Kopitiam coffee beans are usually roasted with butter/margarine, those are the oils that will get you.
Nowadays very hard to find roasted with margarine and sugar liao leh, i can find them at Giant though and it's from Bolehland. This type of coffee put in the grinder sure mess it up bad.

In the old times, people were using pure robusta/liberica coffee that was totally sh/t by itself. So mix with margarine, maize, sugar to make it abit more palatable.

Nowadays, coffee roasters just go straight for pure coffee, Arabica and Robusta mix. Arabica beans are now more accessible and plentiful. Arabica will give a lot more aroma but itself is normally weaker in body unless roasted damn dark, so many still mix robusta to bring the punch and texture.
Tiong Hoe, Lam Yeo and many all start from supplying coffee shops one hor.
Yakun, Toastbox also roast by themselves.
IIRC Toastbox use beautiful Lorin coffee roasters. Others also mostly use branded expensive roasters like Diedrich, Probat, etc. I don't think they will wanna put all the weird recipes into their atas roasters. :o

kifo

I'm surprised nobody mentioned lavazza coffee beans. I've tried so many of the locally sold ones. All the so called freshly roasted coffee beans.

Just be sure you get a good vacuum sealed container so you can keep the beans fresh.

1 kg for me takes too long to finish liao.... drink the same taste until sian... I prefer keep changing beans... :s13:

hardwaregone

True to that, after going through so many hipster coffee, in the end i realised that my family still prefer slightly darker roasts.

Lavazza and Illy's in SG are a ripoff though, they were selling $70/kg at cold storage. Now I swap to other Italians brands that cost less than half the price.

kifo

UCC. Before Suzuki, I was using UCC for my cold brew

UCC I already sian in jippun... like everyday ucc for 1 plus year... cos it was cheap there

gold-special-rich-blend-pack.jpg

meister-special-blend-pack.jpg

bullfrog

True to that, after going through so many hipster coffee, in the end i realised that my family still prefer slightly darker roasts.

Lavazza and Illy's in SG are a ripoff though, they were selling $70/kg at cold storage. Now I swap to other Italians brands that cost less than half the price.

Agreed on the ripoff prices. And i was plenty pissed until discovering Amazon.sg is selling lavazza for sgd 30 bucks. ;)

bullfrog

1 kg for me takes too long to finish liao.... drink the same taste until sian... I prefer keep changing beans...
I thought that too but the hipster beans, some of the flavors didn't suit me. I tried taking the subscription model where every 2 weeks i get a fresh 250 or 200g packet with a different flavor.
Doesn't work for me as friends come over and may want coffee. Sometimes i drink more cups than usual. The bag can run out before i get a fresh supply. Then i go through a few days with no coffee. I gave up.

Now I buy in 1kg bags. When i'm down to 500 grams, i order another 1kg bag. I don't ever wanna run out of coffee anymore.

tc4237

can try this

allpress

i like the art blend made into a double shot latte

also see some cafe use this brand

kifo

can try this

allpress

i like the art blend made into a double shot latte

also see some cafe use this brand

wow just found out that this was the cafe I so wanted to go while I was in Tokyo but I was too late that time and they already closed their last orders.... Thanks for sharing!!! :s12:

tortoise18

In sg coffee beans from tiong hoe is good. But the service is bad. Sales assistants rude af.

Coffee academy also nt bad very friendly also

tortoise18

on top got butties recommend the Haru Suke and the Gachala! :s12:

Just bought the gachala. Usually I try out the different blends, but all must have cocoa notes. I don't like fruity or Ethiopian. The best is Kenyan.

Sai Baba

Why-You-Should-Grind-Your-Coffee-Beans-at-Home.jpg

Kopi addicts!! Can share where you buy your coffee beans??? Do they do online order? Or are you buying them from Starbucks only???

Can share share where to get the best beans??? Kamsia! :s12:

>>>>> UPDATE
Summary of all responses on post 73 here
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/127594904-post73.html

This type of bean needs a separate grinder.
May I know you use what coffee machine to brew it?

fade_white

Back when I stil had time to grind and brew coffee, I got them from Nylon Coffee roasters.
Nowadays just use Nespresso.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.